Hermes Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Hermes Reviews

Updated 13 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
55%
Recommend to a Friend
60%
Approve of CEO
Hermes CEO Martijn De Lange
Martijn De Lange
10 Ratings
Pros
  • "Other couriers gave me good advice(in 7 reviews)

  • "I decided to join Hermes after reviewing and comparing against similar Logistics and Parcels company(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "some parcels are rather big and hard to fit all in car(in 35 reviews)

  • "Also no one seems to vet the size of so called courier parcels sending some that need two people(in 13 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Investment in tech and innovation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Product Owner in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hermes full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great city centre location; leadership team; investment in IT; can-do attitude

    Cons

    Benefits package; parking at Tech Hub

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up ;-)

    Hermes2019-11-12
  2. "Good company full to the brim of good people working hard to achieve great things"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager Service Integration in Morley, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hermes full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lots of highly skilled and friendly people. Approachable management. Lots of innovation and growth with big new customers on-board and in the pipeline. Good rate of pay, working conditions and great if you're self motivated, good environment to show you're capable and gain respect. Great team working ethic, casual dress code for most teams, social scene for those who want it too. Best place I've worked on over... 30 years, young and old mix across teams works well and everyone is busy, focus on work/life balance is evident, they care and value their people as well as recognise that it's the people who are the business. It's a great place to work if you're enthusiastic, want to like coming to work and want to get on.

    Show More

    Cons

    High workload environment means everyone is busy and at peak times tensions run high but so far we've all remained friends!

    Advice to Management

    Review the many 'single point of failure' people to share those skills across more in the team. Accept that rapid change means less time to improve what we have and what we've newly built so some time for that next year would be good!

    Hermes2019-11-05
  3. "Go back 2 years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shift Supervisor in Birmingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hermes full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good and friendly co workers

    Cons

    High turn over of management

    Advice to Management

    Look after your employees

    Hermes2019-11-11
  4. "If you work fast you'll be rewarded"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer in Leeds, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hermes full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice office in Leeds city center (but it's small). My team was made up of friendly people. Everyone wants to do the right thing most of the time. No clock-watching and flexible hours.

    Cons

    Management value reaching deadlines at all costs. Sadly little effort is made to improve code-quality and learning because there are so many projects which need doing. Salary is on the low side.

    Advice to Management

    Try to keep IT teams in the loop when defining requirements for new projects. Agile should be a constant 2-way process between the technologists and the business.

    Hermes2019-11-07
  5. "Amazing company, great benefits, good opportunities to develop your carrier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior QA Tester in Morley, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hermes full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good benefit package, flexible hours, complex technologies and great place to improve your technical skills.

    Cons

    Not yet Less than 1 year but everything is ok

    Advice to Management

    Training for new starters

    Hermes2019-10-22
  6. "Strong work ethic and patience is a must"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mail Sorter in Plymouth, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hermes full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good friendly folk to work with.

    Cons

    Terrible hours. 11pm to 9 or even 9.30am.

    Advice to Management

    n/a

    Hermes2019-10-17
  7. "Hermes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Orpington, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Hermes full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexibility - you decide your delivery blocks

    Cons

    To make a decent wage you have to take on multiple rounds

    Hermes2019-10-26
  8. "Warehouse (Rugby)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Warehouse Associate in Rugby, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hermes full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay half decent for warehouse.

    Cons

    Where do I start. Many floor managers who can't speak English and unable to communicate, unsure how they got the job. Very isolated work and unable to wear watch which makes days feel very long. Female toilets absolutely filthy, used toilet roll everywhere, no toilet roll to use and no soap to wash your hands. Very unhygienic and Hermes should be embarrassed.

    Advice to Management

    Hire cleaners for the toilets, workers are not tramps, respect them. If workers can't wear watches put clocks around the warehouse, we shouldn't have to ask every time we want to know the time.

    Hermes2019-11-04
  9. "Courier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Leeds, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Hermes full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Guaranteed pay for what you do

    Cons

    Too many to list each day is like your first day at work no one knows what is going on they are all logistically challenged no common sense

    Advice to Management

    Get a grip on reality

    Hermes2019-10-28
  10. "stay away from this company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Courier in Cleator Moor, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hermes full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    meeting people everyday working outside

    Cons

    just about about everything else they dont know how much you are meant to be getting

    Advice to Management

    if you,re a manager be a manager do not pass it off to somebody else cos you dont know what you,re doing.

    Hermes2019-10-19
Found 213 reviews