Hermes Reviews

Updated Jul 19, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 470 of over 652 reviews

3.2
52%
Recommend to a Friend
58%
Approve of CEO
Hermes CEO Martijn De Lange
Martijn De Lange
131 Ratings
Pros
  • "Once you've delivered all the parcels you have on the day you are free to have the rest of the day off(in 19 reviews)

  • "But other couriers I've spoken to are quite helpful(in 18 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Can sometimes wait long times for parcels to arrive as vans can be later(in 65 reviews)

  • "Salary not competitive with other courier services(in 22 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      I don't know

      May 30, 2021 - Delivery Driver in Slough, Berkshire, South East England, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I like to do any kind of jobs with new people .

      Cons

      18000 per year. I don't know .

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Hermes Response

      PR and social Executive

      Hello, thanks for taking the time to share your experience working as a Delivery Driver in Slough, Berkshire. We’re delighted to read that you are enjoying your job role with us. We’ll pass this feedback on to the relevant team. Thanks, GD

    2. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Much worse than my experience with Amazon

      Jun 25, 2021 - Warehouse Operative in Weybridge, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They pay wages (NMW) Breaks can sometimes overrun beyond the allotted 30 minutes a little. Break room is near by. Free hot drinks.

      Cons

      Hugely understaffed. Workload burden is put on the employees and can be harassed despite it being a management problem. Lack of staff makes new agency workers often leave within a week or even same day they are hired. The cycle continues. Some managers and supervisors act like slave drivers. Problems are often blamed on employees. No real training. Then blamed when you are doing something wrong because someone else taught you. Supervisors often give directions that are in opposition to one another, then think your a idiot who is doing something wrong, rather than following the direction of another supervisor/manager. No water dispensers on warehouse floor. Amazon is tough. This is just a disgrace.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Hermes Response

      PR and social Executive

      Hi there, thanks for taking the time to share your experience working as a Warehouse Operative in Weybridge. We're sorry to read that you didn't enjoy your time with us and felt that you were overworked. We'll pass your feedback onto the relevant team. All the best, GL

    3. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Terrible

      May 27, 2021 - Warehouse Operative in West Thurrock, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      No pros at all. Bad place to work

      Cons

      The pay isn't very good at all. If you're English and they hear you speaking they will immediately start giving you the worst jobs and will pretend like you don't exist. Multiple people in the warehouse couldn't speak English so getting an answer for anything is almost impossible. The way Hermes treats people's mail is unbelievable. First the mail arrives in a lorry, it's crammed in without a thought for people's items inside. 2 people get into the lorry and throw the parcels on a conveyor belt, half of which take a 10 foot fall to the floor. going down the line they are flipped so they can be scanned then they are thrown around yet again to get them into the necessary slots. Then, yet again, thrown in a premade pallet which is about 5 foot tall, so every parcel (fragile or not) is usually destroyed. Parcels constantly sprawled over the ground with people treading on them. When I worked there, there was 3 English people, the rest were European and didn't want to help or speak to you. The management is poor and do pretty much nothing all day except stand around and talk and if they have to do work then they throw parcels around to break them on purpose like it's some sort of game.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Hermes Response

      Online Reputation Manager

      Hello, thanks for taking the time to share your experience working as a Warehouse Operative in Thurrock. We're very disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your job role with us, particularly as you were not satisfied with the pay, as well as the other several reasons that you have stated. We'll pass your feedback on to the relevant team. Take care, GD

    4. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Least agile company ever

      Mar 19, 2021 - Product Owner in Leeds, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people across the IT function, always look out for each other and get stuff done for the greater good and shared causes

      Cons

      Product owners should avoid like the plague. Since being bought by Advent the company can no longer call itself agile, all control of product development belongs to various C-suite level committees. Company will sell itself as an agile model, but this is without a doubt waterfall framework disguised with scrum ceremonies IT is constantly switching hands (3 times in 2020) with current leadership really underwhelming and underqualified Product owners, business analysts, and project managers are expected to deliver predefined pieces of work with no prioritisation done below C-suite level. Roadmaps are planned up to 24 months in advance The PO, BA and PM roles have no defined differences and are all really diluted, handcuffed versions of what the role would be at somewhere else. In particular the PO role is massively misunderstood POs aren’t expected to write Jira tickets. Instead they hand over pages of documentation to be translated by squads up front Development is being slowly offshored under the guise of having overseas “burst” squads available to get extra work done without missing deadlines, morale in the Leeds based teams is slowly decreasing knowing this. Perks/incentives are none existent besides a very basic matched 4% pension Serious initiatives with regards to staff wellbeing and mental health (beyond free yoga sessions every now and then) aren’t a priority across the business Very, very poor culture from the top down, no focus on anything but finances

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Hermes Response

      PR and social Executive

      Hi there, thank-you so much for taking the time to share your detailed review of what it's like to work as a Product Owner in Leeds. We're really disappointed to read that you were unhappy with the role. We'll pass your feedback on to the relevant team. Take care, GL

    5. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Job

      Jul 7, 2021 - Courier 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The hours are good a

      Cons

      The pay isn’t the best for a part time job

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Hermes Response

      PR and social Executive

      Thanks for taking the time to share your experience working as a Courier at Hermes. It's great to read that you're happy with the hours you work but disappointed that you unhappy with the pay. We'll pass your feedback on to the relevant team. All the best, GL

    6. 3.0
      Former Employee

      If you can take enough parcels in your car and deliver fast enough then worth it

      Jul 15, 2021 - Hermes Delivery Driver in Newport, Newport, Wales, Wales
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Easy, flexible & left alone no management

      Cons

      Not enough money as I only have a small car and can only take so much

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Hermes Response

      PR and social Executive

      Hi, thanks for taking the time to share your experience working as a Delivery driver in Newport. We're glad to read that you find the role flexible but it's disappointing to read that you were unhappy with the pay. We'll pass your feedback onto the relevant team. Take care, GL

    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great culture!

      May 24, 2021 - Product Manager in Leeds, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great onboarding process with all my IT equipment and a weeks worth of inductions booked ready for me to join. The business is well structured and organised and with a great sense of community throughout its culture. Everyone is friendly and welcoming, which makes the remote onboarding far easier!

      Cons

      The remote working is understandably more challenging, but comes with the territory during Covid 19 times! This does slow down the onboarding process as you miss out on the organic learning and relationships built in person.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Hermes Response

      PR and social Executive

      Hi there, thanks for taking the time to share your experience working as a Product Manager in Leeds. We're so glad to read that you are enjoying your time with us so far. We'll pass your feedback on to the relevant team. Take care, GL

    8. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Good place to work

      Jun 28, 2021 - Customer Resolutions Advisor in Stoke-on-Trent, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Well respected, listen to your ideas, pay is okay

      Cons

      Not customer focused in my opinion

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Hermes Response

      PR and social Executive

      Thanks for sharing your review of what it's like to work as a Customer Resolutions Advisor in Stoke-on-Trent. It's great to read that you enjoy your role and feel that your ideas are listened to. We'll pass your feedback onto the relevant team. Take care, GL

    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      New Starter

      May 12, 2021 - Implementation Team Manager in Bristol, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      1. All my equipment arrived ahead of me joining 2. I was able to set everything up from home very easily 3. Visit to Hub was very good met with numerous key people

      Cons

      1. There was over 400 e-mails in my inbox when I first logged in - Account had been set up for a couple of weeks and I was already in a umber of general e-mails. 2. Due to COVID restrictions meeting people was more difficult and arranging things like passes was more difficult

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Hermes Response

      PR and social Executive

      Hi, thanks for taking the time to share your current experience working as an Implementation Team Manager. We’re glad to read that you have enjoyed the start of your career at Hermes and recognised for the hard work we put in to make sure things are as organised as possible. Although, we acknowledge that some tasks, such as arranging passes, may be hindered due to COVID-19 restrictions but we are working tirelessly to get things back running as smooth as possible! We’ll pass this feedback on to the relevant team. Thanks, GD

    10. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Packer

      Jul 19, 2021 - Packer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Weekly pay which is good

      Cons

      Long hours which is bad

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Hermes Response

      PR and social Executive

      Hi, thanks for taking the time to share your experience working as a Packer at Hermes. We're sorry to read that you were unhappy with the hours during your time with us. We'll pass your feedback onto the relevant team. Take care, GL

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 470 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Hermes Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Hermes? Share Your Experiences

    Hermes logo
    or