Hermes Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Hermes Reviews

Updated 20 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
52%
Recommend to a Friend
59%
Approve of CEO
Hermes CEO Martijn De Lange
Martijn De Lange
21 Ratings
Pros
  • "I decided to join Hermes after reviewing and comparing against similar Logistics and Parcels company(in 13 reviews)

  • "The couriers themselves are mainly hard working and try to deliver a good service to their customers(in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • "parcels a week in order to make a wage(in 40 reviews)

  • "Also no one seems to vet the size of so called courier parcels sending some that need two people(in 15 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Professional & Helpful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Hermes Field Manager in Canterbury, England

    I have been working at Hermes full-time

    Pros

    If you want a self employed position as a courier it’s a good place to work, with sub depots all over the UK it is possible to find work close to home...

    Cons

    A big company that is sometimes hard to communicate with on a personal level...

    Hermes2020-02-17
  2. "Fantastic Company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Manager in Glasgow, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hermes full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Job Role, Benefits Offered, Company Car.

    Cons

    Bonus System not adhered too, consistently changing Rotas, No Training, Support or Feeling Valued with in a Team Environment. No work life balance, thus attrition high, placing Stress on Team left in the Field, adding to more attrition.

    Continue reading
    Hermes2020-02-04

    Hermes Response

    February 10, 2020PR & Social Media Executive

    Thanks for sharing a lovely review of Hermes, thank you for sharing specific details, we've noted your comments which will be passed on to the right team. We wish you all the best for your future career.

    Continue reading
  3. "Only money orientated"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hermes full-time

    Pros

    Company car, flexible working location

    Cons

    Not able to look after couriers, forced to be the bad guy.

    Continue reading
    Hermes2020-02-06

    Hermes Response

    February 10, 2020PR & Social Media Executive

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review, if you'd like to share any more details so we can help and discuss any issues, please email glassdoor@hermes-europe.co.uk.

    Continue reading
  4. "A Fantastic Recruitment & Onboarding Experience At Hermes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lean Implementation Specialist in Wakefield, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hermes full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    My experience of the recruitment and onboarding process at Hermes has been fantastic. Very professional and smooth throughout the whole process from initial contact, interviews, contract and onboarding. I have been really impressed and have felt welcomed by the team. Communication has been excellent and I have received great onboarding information in a timely manner. I am really looking forward to working with the Hermes Team.

    Cons

    I have not experienced any cons

    Continue reading
    Hermes2020-01-20

    Hermes Response

    January 24, 2020PR & Social Media Executive

    Thank you for sharing a review of Hermes, we're really pleased that you had a great on-boarding experience. We hope you continue to enjoy your career with us, if you have any more feedback to share, you can email us on glassdoor@hermes-europe.co.uk.

    Continue reading
  5. "Xx"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Hermes part-time

    Pros

    There are no pros to this job

    Cons

    Low paying, and unachievable bonus

    Hermes2020-02-21
  6. "difficult job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Delivery 

    I have been working at Hermes part-time

    Pros

    flexible working hours and last minute shifts

    Cons

    really hard to make more than 5 pounds an hour if you include problems at warehouse, car costs and etc

    Hermes2020-01-29

    Hermes Response

    January 30, 2020PR & Social Media Executive

    Thanks for sharing a review of Hermes, it's great to read that you enjoy the flexible hours. We always want to pay a fair wage so, you might already know that Hermes has launched SE+, a new employment model which allows couriers to enjoy a guaranteed rate of pay, holiday pay and other benefits. Alternatively, couriers can choose to keep the flexibility of their current status. If you'd like to share more details so we can discuss this with you, you can email us on glassdoor@hermes-europe.co.uk, thank you.

    Continue reading
  7. "Disappointed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Courier Driver in Walsall, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hermes part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexibility to work around your time, not so stressful workplace

    Cons

    I worked in December a few days and still haven't been paid . Poor management and unhelpful attitude as he didn't sent the proper rounds I done.

    Continue reading
    Hermes2020-02-17
  8. "Excellent onboarding and induction plans - very positive introduction to the company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Team Member in Rugby, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hermes full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    New team member - the onboarding process from interview to offer, and communication regarding induction plans etc have been swift, efficient and inviting. The talent team really know how to communicate with potential or newly recruited employees and the comms and information received from my direct line Manager has been fantastic. Really looking forward to starting my career here.

    Cons

    Cons - nothing to detail here

    Continue reading
    Hermes2020-01-05

    Hermes Response

    January 8, 2020PR & Social Media Executive

    Thank you for sharing a review of Hermes, we're really pleased that you had a great on-boarding experience. We hope you continue to enjoy your career with us, if you have any more feedback to share, you can email us on glassdoor@hermes-europe.co.uk.

    Continue reading
  9. "Not a mature agile function yet"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Owner in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hermes full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good people, colleagues and benefits

    Cons

    Lack of support and direction from line management

    Continue reading
    Hermes2019-12-30

    Hermes Response

    January 2, 2020PR & Social Media Executive

    Thanks for reviewing what it is like to work at Hermes, it's great that you enjoyed working with the people in your team. We've noted your other comments, if you'd like to discuss them in more detail, you can email us on glassdoor@hermes-europe.co.uk, we wish you all the best for your future career.

    Continue reading
  10. "If you are desperate........."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Courier in Nottingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hermes part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    None still none there is none nothing nadda and none

    Cons

    Where to begin. Low pay, 8 hour day delivering 70 to 80 parcels for £30, using your own fuel, your own vehicle, your own phone data....... Really badly organised, expect delays on a daily basis, expect to have to work for free to sort deliveries just so you arent waiting around. No handsets so you always have to use your own, your giving your £800 iphone to strangers to hold, if they drop it its your problem, not to mention the germs etc etc etc - the data usage - Lies about pay rates, I was lied to about my sunday pay rates wo I worked 3 sundays and was £60 out of pocket. Rude head office staff, some cretin lied and said they hadnt received a parcel despite it being delivered and some moron from head office tried to blame me and said the signature they gave wasnt acceptable despite the fact we have zero control over someones signature..... the moron told me if a customers signature isnt a name you can read you dont give them the parcel...... seriously, his words, he then even implied i had falsified the signature. The problem with Hermes is they try to do everything on the cheap, you get maybe 10 percent of the parcels shipping rate for 30% of the process, you use your own device, your own vehicle, your own fuel, your own insurance and your own time to essentially be working for less than minimum wage. I actually asked a manager why they advertise £15 an hour when its impossible to earn this, and when I say impossible its impossible, you would need to be delivering 30 parcels an hour, thats a parcel every two minutes when in reality if you do 15 to 20 an hour you are working fast, and thats not taking into account the hour to 2 hours sat at the depot waiting or working for free.

    Continue reading
    Hermes2020-02-03

    Hermes Response

    February 10, 2020PR & Social Media Executive

    Thanks for sharing a review of working with Hermes, it's disappointing to read your about your experience. We would urge any employees or self-employed couriers to share concerns with us as soon as they can so we can help. You might also know that we recently launched SE+, a new employment model which allows couriers to enjoy a guaranteed rate of pay, holiday pay and other benefits - Hermes will also find cover for time booked off as holiday, so you don't need to. If you'd like to discuss anything in more detail, please email us on glassdoor@hermes-europe.co.uk - we wish you all the best for your future career.

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 233 reviews