Hermes Reviews

Updated 17 May 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
53%
Recommend to a Friend
59%
Approve of CEO
Hermes CEO Martijn De Lange
Martijn De Lange
119 Ratings
  1. 2.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Customer service Full time

    7 May 2021 - Customer Service in Morley, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Friendly staff Decent wage Work from home

    Cons

    Pressure to work on departments you may not like Management are more bothered about meeting targets than their staff’s needs

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Hermes Response

    PR and social Executive

    Hi, thanks for taking the time to share your experience working as a Customer Service agent in Morley. We’re delighted to read that you felt happy with the pay you were receiving and enjoyed flexible working. Although, it’s disappointing that you were unhappy with management and didn’t feel like your needs were adhered to. We’ll pass this feedback on to the relevant team. Thanks, GD

  2. 5.0
    Current Employee

    5

    17 Apr 2021 - Service Delivery Manager in Newcastle upon Tyne, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Innovative and inspiring allows you to explore potential and apply your skills

    Cons

    Difficult to balance family life

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Hermes Response

    PR and social Executive

    Hi there, thanks for taking the time to share your experience working as a Service Delivery Manager in Newcastle upon Tyne. We're glad to read that you enjoy your role despite your work-life balance. If you have any concerns we recommend raising this with your manager so they can help. Thanks, GL

  3. 2.0
    Current Employee

    Poor Pay

    11 May 2021 - Manager in Leeds, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Easy work to keep you busy

    Cons

    Poor pay for what they expect

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Hermes Response

    PR and social Executive

    Hi, thanks for taking the time to share your current experience working as a Manager at Hermes. We’re glad to read that you are comfortable in your job role, although it is disappointing that you feel that the pay you are receiving is not adequate. We’ll pass this feedback on to the relevant team. Thanks, GD

  4. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Good

    15 Apr 2021 - Customer Service in Dundee, Scotland, Scotland
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Work from home on a regular basis

    Cons

    The work can be very repetitive

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Hermes Response

    PR and social Executive

    Thanks for taking the time to share your experience working in Customer Service in Dundee. We're glad to read that you enjoy working from home but its disappointing to read that you find the role repetitive. We'll pass your feedback on to the relevant team. Take care, GL

  5. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Very bad

    13 May 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Free parking, yep just the parking

    Cons

    The people, the culture, the backbiting

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Hermes Response

    PR and social Executive

    Hello, thanks for taking the time to share your experience working at Hermes. We’re disappointed to read that you didn't enjoy your job role and the work environment, we'll pass your feedback on to the relevant team. Thanks, GD

  6. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    A bully Mobile Tech Lead

    24 Apr 2021 - Mobile Software Engineer in Leeds, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You will earn quick cash if unemployed

    Cons

    Mobile Tech Lead (2020 - 2021) is a bully; threats other Mobile Software Engineers with disrespect. Very difficult & unfriendly environment to work for Mobile Software Engineer starting in the company. Lowly paid for Mobile Software Engineer Generally poor coding practices for their mobile apps, i.e. no dependency injection library, design patterns is not adhered to , memory leak issues, intensive CPU usage e.t.c.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Hermes Response

    PR and social Executive

    Hi there, thanks for taking the time to share your experience working as a Mobile Software Engineer in Leeds. We're sorry to read that you didn't enjoy your time with us and experienced bullying in your department. We'll pass your feedback over to our HR team to investigate. Take care, GL

  7. 5.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    good

    13 Apr 2021 - Customer Assistant in Leeds, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    nice place to work at hermes

    Cons

    not so good pay for the work

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Hermes Response

    PR and social Executive

    Hi there, thanks for taking the time to share your experience working as a Customer Assistant in Leeds. We're glad to read that you enjoyed your time with us despite the pay. We'll pass your feedback on to the relevant team. Thanks, GL

  8. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Good place to work

    8 Apr 2021 - Customer Service Representative in Leeds, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Nice management Good office Working from home

    Cons

    Very basic easy job Minimum wage work Hard to progress through the company

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Hermes Response

    PR and social Executive

    Thanks for taking the time to share your experience working as a Customer Service Representative in Leeds. We're glad to read that you enjoyed your role despite the pay and lack of development. We'll pass your feedback on to the relevant team. All the best, GL

  9. 1.0
    Current Employee

    Really bad faceless corporate company

    20 Mar 2021 - Courier in Liverpool, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The job itself is not bad, its just the greed of corporations

    Cons

    As volumes went up, they reduced pay They made more money, they decided to pay less to the workers? Very greedy faceless corporation that hires middle managers to keep tension between work and workers...carefully orchestrated to use and abuse the workers Then they will discard you at a drop of a hat like typical gig economy insecurity no sick, no holiday, can take your work off you in a moment, and also when you add petrol and car costs, which they do not mention anywhere, they keep hidden this cost to the world, that way they can say they pay minumin wage ITs a total scam to exploit some workers who cannot physically make a minumum wage at the very low parcel rates they pay...

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Hermes Response

    PR and social Executive

    Thanks for taking the time to share your experience working as a Courier in Liverpool. We're disappointed to read that you didn't enjoy your time with us. We'll pass your feedback over to our HR team to look into. Thanks, GL

  10. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Horrendous, back-breaking, physical labour, for almost minimum wage

    11 Apr 2021 - Warehouse Operative in Normanton, Yorkshire and the Humber, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Absolutely none. Completely and utterly dreadful working conditions.

    Cons

    Was told I would have an 'induction day'. Turned up and got sent onto the warehouse floor with precisely zero training. Literally just told by the supervisor to "work in this area" with no instructions, whilst he walked off in a hurry. Within minutes, after observing my surroundings, I was pulling 11 feet tall stacks of parcels, each which felt like pulling a large vehicle. Parcels being thrown off of a conveyor belt into ever-increasing, sizeable stacks, me being one of two people towing them away with a pallet truck into designated areas in the warehouse. Then came the kicker. Got told we were being "too slow" by the supervisor who then instructed a psychopathic, Eastern European employee to join me and the other new-starter. He was so angry, he was screaming expletives, whilst stomping around at break-neck speed. He then found a slightly damaged wooden pallet and began stomping on it until the wood broke in two. I asked to be moved to a different area for my own safety. Meanwhile, a fight nearly broke out with the other new starter and crazy dude mentioned above. I then finished the rest of my shift with what can only be described as the work for the 'slow', They had a clearly mentally disturbed and challenged individual, who spent half of the time talking to himself, sorting parcels into number designations. The supervisors called him by his second name, like he was a dog. Explained to the inbound supervisor who was the only nice person there pretty much, that I was leaving 2 hours early after I'd been there 9 hours with a 30 minutes break Got paid for 6 hours of work instead of 8.5, almost two weeks later. Had a member of management try to stop me from leaving the building, until the inbound supervisor motioned him to back off. Was like something out of a third world country, in the 19th century.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    Hermes Response

    PR and social Executive

    Hi there, thanks for taking the time to share your experience working as a Warehouse Operative in Normanton. We're disappointed to read that you didn't enjoy your time with us and was unhappy with the lack of training provided. We'll pass this over to our HR team to investigate. Take care, GL

Viewing 11 - 20 of 447 Reviews

Popular Careers with Hermes Job Seekers

Courier
Learn About the Job
JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Hermes? Share Your Experiences

Hermes logo
or