Hermes Reviews

Updated 17 May 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
53%
Recommend to a Friend
59%
Approve of CEO
Hermes CEO Martijn De Lange
Martijn De Lange
119 Ratings
  1. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Fast paced work but worthwhile

    23 Jan 2021 - Night Loader 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The hourly rate for Nightshift is good. Also with an extra £1 or so an hour around Christmas. My supervisors and leads are all helpfull and nice.

    Cons

    Can be very fast paced, hard and unrewarding so the right mindset/will power is required. Work/life balance is quite low but should be accepted when working nightshifts with longer hours. Start times change and overtime sometimes required.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Hermes Response

    PR and social Executive

    Hi there, thanks for taking the time to share your experience working as a Night Loader at Hermes. We're glad that enjoy your role but it's disappointing to read that you have a poor work/life balance. If you have any concerns, we recommend raising this with your manager so they can help. All the best, GL

  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Tough but good

    12 Mar 2021 - Warehouse Night Loader in Crawley, West Sussex, South East England, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Pay, friendships, exercise, fun, fast paced

    Cons

    Laboursome, unexpected finishing times, slightly disrespected.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Hermes Response

    PR and social Executive

    Hi there, thanks for taking the time to share your experience as a Warehouse Night Loader in Crawley. We're glad to read that you have enjoyed your role so far and we wish you all the best for the future! Take care, GL

  3. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Great place to work

    19 Feb 2021 - Senior Software Developer in Morley, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great cooperation between team members; People really starve to build the best solutions; Friendly staff and very approachable management; Lovely offices; Lots of trainning

    Cons

    The location is not great for everybody (not near a bus or train stop)

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Hermes Response

    PR and social Executive

    Thanks for taking the time to share your experience working as a Senior Software Developer in Morley. We're glad to read that you enjoyed your time with us despite the travel issues. We wish you all the best for the future! Take care, GL

  4. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great Employer - But needs more progression routes

    29 Nov 2020 - Customer Resolutions Advisor in Coventry, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexible working hours Friendly environment Work from home 90% of the time - with 2 days max in depot seeing other colleagues You take ownership of your workload and arent micro-managed

    Cons

    There isnt a clear progression path for people who want to develop within the company - nothing bad against my line manager, more of a pointer for the company as a whole as CRA's usually have more qualifications that could be of use to other aspects of the company. But rarely get looked into.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful

    Hermes Response

    PR and social Executive

    Thanks for taking the time to share your experience working as a Customer Resolutions Advisor in Coventry. We're sorry to read that the progression opportunities aren't very clear within your department. We'll pass your feedback over to our HR team to be looked into. Take care, GL

  5. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Not bad, not great

    18 Mar 2021 - Software Developer in Leeds, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Nice new city centre office Some genuinely nice people

    Cons

    Salaries aren't great and the pension is the bare-minimum Company seems to be moving towards outsourcing software development

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Hermes Response

    PR and social Executive

    Hi there, thanks for taking the time to share your experience working as a Software Developer in Leeds. We're disappointed to read that you were unhappy with the pay and the pension plan. We'll pass your feedback over to the relevant team. All the best, GL

  6. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Good money but not worth the damage they will cause you elsewhere.

    23 Oct 2020 - Compliance Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Get to work with people and most roles enable you to work remotely. Good rate of pay, but is unfortunately off-set by all the cons that exist in working for this company.

    Cons

    Unrealistic expectations from senior management, and if you are unable to complete all tasks within your "working hours" the expectation appears to be that you will take it upon yourself to work extra hours or accept it is down to your poor time management. The company relies on its staff treating self-employed couriers as nothing but 'numbers', having to dispute or ignore mitigating circumstances that may be impacting their performance rather than finding ways of supporting them. Staff are trained on Standard Operating Procedures which forever seem to be changing whenever it suits them, but are also conveniently ignored if it means they can obtain results quicker by 'making examples' of poor-performing couriers by issuing improvement notices or withdrawing service rather than taking the appropriate steps to support them. Work-life balance is non-existent; contracted 39 hours per week but even some senior managers admit that you cannot fulfil all aspects of role within these hours. Staff turnaround in our region was ridiculous at times, meaning all team members were stretched beyond capacity.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Nice group of people to work with

    7 Apr 2021 - Delivery Driver in Southampton, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    It fitted around school runs

    Cons

    lack of support if sick

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Hermes Response

    PR and social Executive

    Hi there, thanks for taking the time to share your experience working as a Delivery Driver in Southampton. We're glad to read that you found the role flexible but it's disappointing that you felt unsupported when sick. We'll pass this feedback over to HR to investigate. Take care, GL

  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Never a dull moment!

    14 Sep 2020 - Principal Business Analyst in Leeds, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Hermes has a tremendous appetite for change, so there's abundant opportunity to get involved in anything that interests you from a change perspective. It has a flat hierarchy, so you get frequent access to directors, who are all very accessible and approachable, and this generates a palpable sense that whatever you're doing is central to the company's strategy. But it's also very keen on finding new ways of doing things and optimising ways of working, so again, there are a wealth of opportunities to introduce new ideas, stretch yourself and develop. The people are friendly and enthusiastic, and the culture is very entrepreneurial. If you enjoy building things, and seeing your efforts come to fruition quickly, it's a great place to work.

    Cons

    It's a rapidly growing company, so the pace might not be for everybody, but if you're proactive, enjoy a dynamic work environment, are motivated and willing to step outside your comfort zone , the world's your oyster at Hermes!

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    Hermes Response

    PR and social Executive

    Thanks for sharing your experience working as a Principal Business Analyst in Leeds,. We're glad to read that you're enjoying your time with us and we wish you all the best for the future with Hermes!

  9. 2.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Not worth it

    31 Mar 2021 - Courier in Hartlepool, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexible hours and fast paced

    Cons

    Not worth it after you total in fuel costs and stress of parcel delivery

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Hermes Response

    PR and social Executive

    Hi there, thanks for taking the time to share your experience working as a Courier in Hartlepool. We're glad to read that you found the role flexible but we're sorry that you feel stressed. Please speak to your manager or a member of HR to discuss your concerns. Thanks, GL

  10. 3.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Ok

    3 Apr 2021 - Courier Driver in Crewe, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexible ours, you are your own boss

    Cons

    Own car expenses, traffic stress

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Hermes Response

    PR and social Executive

    Thanks for sharing your experience working as a Courier Driver in Crewe. We appreciate your feedback and we'll be sure to pass this on. Take care, GL

Viewing 31 - 40 of 447 Reviews

Popular Careers with Hermes Job Seekers

Courier
Learn About the Job
JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Hermes? Share Your Experiences

Hermes logo
or