Hermes Employee Reviews about "parcels"

Updated 21 Dec 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.1
51%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
Hermes CEO Martijn De Lange
Martijn De Lange
117 Ratings
Pros
  • "But other couriers I've spoken to are quite helpful(in 18 reviews)

  • "I decided to join Hermes after reviewing and comparing against similar Logistics and Parcels company(in 18 reviews)

Cons
  • "hard to get parcels delivered at specified times (but I've only just started) advise organising(in 60 reviews)

  • "Salary not competitive with other courier services(in 21 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Reviews about "parcels"

Return to all Reviews
  1. COVID-19

    "Team work is strong"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Resolutions Advisor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hermes full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    We had excellent training online due to COVID-19, we were encouraged to push ourselves and think outside the box to resolve customer issues. Management appreciate the hard work and determination we put in to find the customers parcels.

    Cons

    No cons at the moment, only been in the role for a short period

    Continue reading

    Hermes Response

    October 23, 2020PR and social Executive

    Hi there, thank-you so much for taking the time to share this lovely review of what it's like to work as a Customer Resolutions Advisor. We're so glad to read that you have enjoyed your time with us so far. We'll pass your feedback on to the relevant team and we wish you all the best for your future within Hermes! GL

  2. "Great company"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Courier in Ashington, South East England, England

    I have been working at Hermes full-time

    Pros

    Its good as when you can get your own route you can get to know the customers and where they like you to leave parcels and it makes your day alot easier

    Cons

    In peak times Christmas etc its so hard to hit eta's sometimes when you havent got your own route early dark nights and customers becoming impatient

    Hermes Response

    December 8, 2020PR and social Executive

    Hi there, thanks for taking the time to share your experience working as a courier in Ashington. We're glad to read that you have enjoyed your time with us so far and we understand that Christmas is the busiest time of the year and deliveries may take longer. If you have any immediate concerns, please contact your manager directly to discuss this so they can help. All the best, GL


  3. Helpful (1)

    "Not Worth It ! Poor pay, long hours, bad management."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Freelancer - Self-employed Courier in Liverpool, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hermes for less than a year

    Pros

    Independent working, working outside, varied environment Years ago they never had the app. Although it does help in organising your parcels - it adds more time to the day (see below).

    Cons

    very poor pay, long hours, ban management. Average pay is around £0.41p per parcel. It can be as low as £0.33p per postable parcel. Standard parcels are around £0.55p per parcel and heavy parcels are £1.00 per parcel. These rates can be a little higher depending on your round - but not by much. Hermes are very cagey about giving out these figures. You are expected to do between 50 - 120 + parcels per round. You only earn about £30 - £40 per round at the most which can take around 4-6 hours. So even without expenses such as fuel and mobile data - you are already working below the minimum wage. You also have to set estimated arrival times for parcels. These are rarely possible to meet as it doesn't take into account traffic, time taken to leave parcels with neighbours, or the fact that the app is not the most efficient route organiser. Often it will take you down a road and require you to do a U-turn to head in the direction of your next parcel - something that is often impossible to do. There is also no option to allow you to mark a parcel as attempted or indicate tat you will try a re-delivery later than day. At the depot you rely on being given a daily manifest. If you aren't given one, this can affect your pay as the app doesn't always record the parcels properly and you can't easily view what you have done online. Also you are often given split rounds - this affects your bonuses as your round will never show as complete since another courier owns part of it. At the depot you have to scan your parcels in - often the scans don't work and you have to do this multiple times which is time consuming. You have to sort and load your parcels outside in all weathers as the depots are tiny, and you have to then head out to deliver. The app does give a recommended route but it doesn't trump local knowledge. As you deliver your parcel you have to re-scan it, photograph it - often you have to additionally scan a calling card and fill that in or obtain a signature. Again this all is very time consuming when time is literally money. You are reliant on that data being accurately recorded to get paid per parcel. But somehow it often isn't and is not processed properly or missed - so you end up not being paid for that parcel. You are heavily reliant on your depot managers. If they mess up the round organisation it can delay your day. As such the job just isn't worth the pay. The people who are on set rounds and have been doing it for years are on better contracts with guaranteed minimum pay due to a lawsuit Hermes was subject to - but the rest of the couriers saw no change in circumstances.

    Continue reading

    Hermes Response

    December 23, 2020PR and social Executive

    Thanks for taking the time to share your experience working as a courier in Liverpool. We're very sorry to read that you haven't enjoyed your time with us so far. We recommend raising your concerns with your manager or a member of HR as they will be able to look into this for you. All the best, GL

  4. "Bad pay hard work"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Courier in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Hermes full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There are no pros to working here

    Cons

    Not paid hourly and first 1 hour to 2 hours sorting parcels and route for the day is unpaid, worked out I was getting well under minimum wage and that was before removing cost of petrol

    Hermes Response

    December 21, 2020PR and social Executive

    Hi there, thanks for taking the time to share your experience working as a Courier in London. We're very sorry to read that you we're unhappy with the pay. We'll pass your feedback to the relevant team. Take care, GL

  5. "Very rushed but assume that's the life"

    3.0
    KEY NOT FOUND: reviews.self_employ-current - Courier in Neath, Wales

    I have been working at Hermes

    Pros

    Haven't been there long enough yet But other couriers I've spoken to are quite helpful. area managers good to get on with.

    Cons

    hard to get parcels delivered at specified times (but I've only just started) advise organising parcels fully before starting. Haven't been given an actual route or constant work yet, but expected as I'm just starting.

    Hermes Response

    November 25, 2020PR and social Executive

    Hi there, thanks for taking the time to share your experience working for Hermes in Wales. We're sorry to read that you're having trouble delivering your parcels on time. We recommend speaking with your manager about this so they can look at providing you with a specific route to follow. All the best, GL

  6. COVID-19

    "Legalised Slavery"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Warehouse Operative in Warrington, North West England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Hermes full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    If you don't mind extremely tough labour and working under a non-meritocratic environment then go ahead. You have been warned.

    Cons

    I was only looking for unskilled short term work due to the pandemic, but didn't even last a full week in this sweatshop. You will predominantly work alongside eastern europeans, asians and personnel from less priviledged backgrounds. Opportunities to get promoted on to a supervisor role, but with a miniscule hike in wages of approximately 50pence ph. Some of the current supervisors havn't the slightest clue of Health and Safety standards and compliance, you are made to lift parcels which could weigh upto 34kg at any given time and straight off a moving conveyor belt. No form of training ever offered before you start. Outbound work should atleast be a 2 man job; they make you work alone on the receiving end of a congested conveyor belt.

    Continue reading

    Hermes Response

    December 7, 2020PR and social Executive

    Hi there, thank-you so much for taking the time to share your experience working as a warehouse operative in Warrington. We're sorry to read that you didn't enjoy your time with us but we'll pass your feedback on to the relevant team. All the best, GL

  7. Helpful (1)

    "Do not pay you anywhere near minimum wage. Still waiting to be paid. AVOID!!"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Courier in Royal Leamington Spa, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Hermes part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Absolutely none - Lots of driving using your own vehicle & petrol, going up and down flats, delivering fast as you can for less than £3 an hour minus you own petrol costs.

    Cons

    Still waiting for payment for shifts I worked, no response from manager or hermes head office. They lie or avoid telling you how much they pay you until you have done the work and receive your invoice to see how much. You don't get paid for the hour/s you spend training. 46p per parcel, averaging 6 parcels per hour. Less than £30 for 14 hours work and still waiting.

    Continue reading

    Hermes Response

    December 7, 2020PR and social Executive

    Thanks for sharing your review working as a Courier in Leamington Spa. We're extremely sorry to read that you didn't enjoy your time with us and recommend speaking directly with HR around your wage so they can investigate. All the best, GL

  8. "Not as flexible as advertised"

    1.0
    • Culture & Values
    KEY NOT FOUND: reviews.self_employ-current - Courier in Colchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Hermes

    Pros

    You get to watch an online presentation about the company.

    Cons

    I turned up at 1145 on day one. Was handed straight over to another employee in the car park. Parcels sorted on floor of car park with not the greatest of care. Given over 70 parcels to deliver from 1pm. I only wanted to work 3-4 hours. Had to return all but about 20 parcels at 4.15.

    Continue reading

    Hermes Response

    December 1, 2020PR and social Executive

    Thanks for taking the time to share your experience working as a Courier at Hermes. We're sorry to read that you didn't have enough training before making deliveries and we're disappointed to read that you had to organise parcels on the floor in the car park. We'll pass this feedback on to our HR team to be investigated. Thanks, GL

  9. "Avoid"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Parcel Shop Driver in Boldon, England
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hermes for less than a year

    Pros

    There are none for this company

    Cons

    Advertised as driver role on 40 hour week with overtime when needed (this is compulsory not optional) you will work 60 hours in 5 days and the maximum limit of 15kg for parcels is rubbish they are heavier. To finish I've never know a company and its employers have such little regard for customers parcels it's disgusting, I left after a week

    Continue reading

    Hermes Response

    November 3, 2020PR and social Executive

    Thanks for taking the time to share your experience working as a ParcelShop Driver in Boldon. We're disappointed to read this and we don't feel this is a true reflection of Hermes. We'll be sure to pass on your feedback to the relevant team. All the best, GL

  10. "it should not be legal to work in these conditions"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Day Loader Operator in Weybridge, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Hermes full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    nothing good about working here, still regret it to this day due to the negative impacts on my life/ health

    Cons

    -the management and administration are really poor, causing all sorts of problems down the line, - no real training provided to new employees, they just throw you in there and expect you to learn what to do on the spot rather than instructing you properly, which is very hard especially with the lack of communication -there is nothing enjoyable about the work and you're not even allowed to listen to music to get through the shift -don't pay people on time -don't pay enough for how extortionate the work can be -value 'productivity' over the wellbeing and health of workers, leading to mentally and physically damaging work practice -they are misleading from the outset; I was told at interview that I would never have to lift heavy boxes but I found myself doing that every day in the warehouse, worsening my existing back problems -the management/admin make so many mistakes which they don't take responsibility for or offer compensation to the workers inconvenienced by their incompetencies - no employee satisfaction or staff benefits, even the vending machines in canteen were overpriced - you often have to provide your own PPE - work hours are really inconvenient and they can change it on the day - parcels are handled with very little care and many of them get severely damaged, I would never recommend you send anything remotely valuable via this service, especially things like house plant deliveries (they never stay intact) small items (get lost easily through the holes in palettes) or anything fragile - they don't really seem to care about workers, they just want to maximise their profits and do as little as possible for the happiness of employees

    Continue reading
Viewing 1 - 10 of 74 English Reviews