Hermes Employee Reviews about "parcels"

Updated 23 Jan 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 79 of over 639 reviews

3.0
50%
Recommend to a Friend
55%
Approve of CEO
Hermes CEO Martijn De Lange
Martijn De Lange
163 Ratings
Pros
  • "Once you've delivered all the parcels you have on the day you are free to have the rest of the day off(in 19 reviews)

  • "But other couriers I've spoken to are quite helpful(in 18 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Can sometimes wait long times for parcels to arrive as vans can be later(in 65 reviews)

  • "Salary not competitive with other courier services(in 22 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "parcels"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Hermes courier

      19 Jan 2021 - Courier in Southend-on-Sea, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Easy job and doesn’t require complex qualifications

      Cons

      Can sometimes wait long times for parcels to arrive as vans can be later

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Hermes Response

      PR and social Executive

      Hi there, thanks for taking the time to share your experience working as a Courier in Southend-on-Sea. We're glad to read that you enjoyed your role with us and we wish you all the best for your future career. Thanks, GL

    2. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Constant cheating with numbers of parcels delivered, impossible to contact hr there

      11 Jan 2021 - FT Courier in Glasgow, Scotland, Scotland
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Not bad money after some time. Job is easy when you are not bothered with weather and can help with fitness.

      Cons

      Annoying if you know they rip you off when it comes to numbers of parcels you delivered, but there is not much you can do. Even when they constantly remind that for any payment issue you can contact courier admin, but they will do everything to put you off doing this like asking for details which are impossible to remember. Also they say that will reply within 5 working days- good luck with that. Basically this company is another corpo which model is to show you that you are so small so be happy that they hire you and if there are mistakes with payroll(they make lots of money on it- every single courier is missing money for parcels they delivered, but after a while they just fed up with chasing it) you should just take it as it is.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Hermes Response

      PR and social Executive

      Thank-you for taking the time to share your experience working as a courier in Glasgow. We're extremely sorry to read that you've been experiencing issues with your pay and would recommend that you contact HR as soon as possible to resolve this. Thanks, GL

    3. 2.0
      Former Contractor, less than 1 year

      lies and promises

      7 Sep 2020 - Customer Service Operative in Morley, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      free car parking if you can find a space

      Cons

      Go in as a seasonal contractor on the promise of a full time job. 5 jobs 200-300 contractors. Constant churn of people. Dump 60 a week train 60 a week so few progress on to equal earnings. Offices are hot desking so always filthy. Team leaders are not really interested and spend most of the time logged of chat support. Directors have special parking privileges. They have first dibs on disabled spots by the door. Tough luck if your disabled. Training is rubbish with not enough It to train and most of it faulty. Massive clique culture. Seem not to understand religious culture or needs. Eg pork salami next to the roast chicken. Asians seldom use the canteen. Canteen is a 7 minute walk from the service building. Break is 30 mins. Queue for good 5 mins. No time to eat it. Canteen opens at 8.00 so half the device team who start at eight can't get breakfast. Toilets are slums. Floor managers shout across the rooms like cattle herders. Plenty of overtime if you are in those cliques. Massive divide between full time staff and contractors. You are considered second class citizens if you are a contractor, I just could go on. The whole customer service operation is justva big scam to make out that Hermes cares. Millions of lost and damaged parcels every year. Always pass the blaim back to the shipper. Insurance is a farce. Just about everything isn't covered and if it is they still find ways to delay payment.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Hermes Response

      PR and social Executive

      Hi there, thank-you for taking the time to share your experience working as a customer service operative in Morley. We're disappointed to read that you haven't enjoyed your time with us. We'll pass all of your feedback onto our HR team to investigate. We wish you all the best for your future career!

    4. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Not worth the money

      16 Jan 2021 - Part Time Courier in Plymouth, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      1. Once you've delivered all the parcels you have on the day you are free to have the rest of the day off 2. Can deliver parcels at anytime in the day

      Cons

      1. Poor pay 2. Unpredictability of amount of parcels you get on each day 3. Out in all weather conditions

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Hermes Response

      PR and social Executive

      Thanks for taking the time to share your experience working as a courier in Plymouth. We're sorry to read that you we're unhappy with the training provided and the pay. We'll pass your feedback over to our HR team to be investigated. Thanks, GL

    5. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Do not pay you anywhere near minimum wage. Still waiting to be paid. AVOID!!

      2 Dec 2020 - Courier in Royal Leamington Spa, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Absolutely none - Lots of driving using your own vehicle & petrol, going up and down flats, delivering fast as you can for less than £3 an hour minus you own petrol costs.

      Cons

      Still waiting for payment for shifts I worked, no response from manager or hermes head office. They lie or avoid telling you how much they pay you until you have done the work and receive your invoice to see how much. You don't get paid for the hour/s you spend training. 46p per parcel, averaging 6 parcels per hour. Less than £30 for 14 hours work and still waiting.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Hermes Response

      PR and social Executive

      Thanks for sharing your review working as a Courier in Leamington Spa. We're extremely sorry to read that you didn't enjoy your time with us and recommend speaking directly with HR around your wage so they can investigate. All the best, GL

    6. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Great company

      7 Dec 2020 - Courier in Ashington, South East England, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Its good as when you can get your own route you can get to know the customers and where they like you to leave parcels and it makes your day alot easier

      Cons

      In peak times Christmas etc its so hard to hit eta's sometimes when you havent got your own route early dark nights and customers becoming impatient

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Hermes Response

      PR and social Executive

      Hi there, thanks for taking the time to share your experience working as a courier in Ashington. We're glad to read that you have enjoyed your time with us so far and we understand that Christmas is the busiest time of the year and deliveries may take longer. If you have any immediate concerns, please contact your manager directly to discuss this so they can help. All the best, GL

    7. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Legalised Slavery

      3 Dec 2020 - Warehouse Operative in Warrington, North West England, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      If you don't mind extremely tough labour and working under a non-meritocratic environment then go ahead. You have been warned.

      Cons

      I was only looking for unskilled short term work due to the pandemic, but didn't even last a full week in this sweatshop. You will predominantly work alongside eastern europeans, asians and personnel from less priviledged backgrounds. Opportunities to get promoted on to a supervisor role, but with a miniscule hike in wages of approximately 50pence ph. Some of the current supervisors havn't the slightest clue of Health and Safety standards and compliance, you are made to lift parcels which could weigh upto 34kg at any given time and straight off a moving conveyor belt. No form of training ever offered before you start. Outbound work should atleast be a 2 man job; they make you work alone on the receiving end of a congested conveyor belt.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Hermes Response

      PR and social Executive

      Hi there, thank-you so much for taking the time to share your experience working as a warehouse operative in Warrington. We're sorry to read that you didn't enjoy your time with us but we'll pass your feedback on to the relevant team. All the best, GL

    8. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Bad company to work for. Liars

      23 Jan 2021 - Courier in Paisley, Scotland, Scotland
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Money (if they won’t cheat you) it’s alright but on sundays only.

      Cons

      Drivers are good but to work there... I don’t recommend. I was forced to find second job for a while and Hermes is one of the worst company’s I ever worked. Thiefs and liars. Poor management. They Promise you one thing and then trying to make a fool from you that they never promised anything. Treating parcels with no respect the same as they treat drivers.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Hermes Response

      PR and social Executive

      Thanks for taking the time to share your experience working as a courier in Scotland. We're sorry to read that you aren't enjoying your time with us so far. If you have any immediate concerns, we recommend speaking to higher management or contacting courier admin team here: Courier.admin@hermes-europe.co.uk. Thanks, GL

    9. 3.0
      KEY NOT FOUND: jobLine.self_employ-current

      Very rushed but assume that's the life

      16 Nov 2020 - Courier in Neath, Wales, Wales
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Haven't been there long enough yet But other couriers I've spoken to are quite helpful. area managers good to get on with.

      Cons

      hard to get parcels delivered at specified times (but I've only just started) advise organising parcels fully before starting. Haven't been given an actual route or constant work yet, but expected as I'm just starting.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Hermes Response

      PR and social Executive

      Hi there, thanks for taking the time to share your experience working for Hermes in Wales. We're sorry to read that you're having trouble delivering your parcels on time. We recommend speaking with your manager about this so they can look at providing you with a specific route to follow. All the best, GL

    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Team work is strong

      18 Oct 2020 - Customer Resolutions Advisor 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      We had excellent training online due to COVID-19, we were encouraged to push ourselves and think outside the box to resolve customer issues. Management appreciate the hard work and determination we put in to find the customers parcels.

      Cons

      No cons at the moment, only been in the role for a short period

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Hermes Response

      PR and social Executive

      Hi there, thank-you so much for taking the time to share this lovely review of what it's like to work as a Customer Resolutions Advisor. We're so glad to read that you have enjoyed your time with us so far. We'll pass your feedback on to the relevant team and we wish you all the best for your future within Hermes! GL

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 79 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Hermes Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Hermes? Share Your Experiences

    Hermes logo
    or