Heron Foods Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Heron Foods Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 48 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
55%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Michael Heuck
20 Ratings
  1. "Great Company to Work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Heron Foods full-time

    Pros

    With the right Store Manager & Area Manager it can really pay off when you work hard & show willing. Very easy to get up the ladder with effort & determination. You need a keen eye for standards and availability to do well

    Cons

    Contracted hours are low compared to other retailers often 8-12hrs for a Sales Assistant

    Advice to Management

    Look at the contracted hours & increase these maybe to 18 or 15hrs for a Sales Assistant

    Heron Foods2018-09-03

    Heron Foods Response

    September 14, 2018HR Business Partner

    Thank you for posting your review. We are delighted to hear you are aware of the development opportunities at Heron and will share your feedback on our contracted hours.

  2. "Great starter job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Liverpool, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Heron Foods full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Full time hours Great colleagues Good location

    Cons

    Power trip management Often working after shift is finished or through breaks

    Advice to Management

    Chill out, you don't need to treat your staff so badly just because you're a manager

    Heron Foods2019-01-22

    Heron Foods Response

    February 1, 2019HR Business Partner

    Thank you for posting your review and your feedback will be shared with the relevant department.

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Store manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Birmingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Heron Foods full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Team that you work with.

    Cons

    Glorified shelf stacker. Senior management that think they know it all. So out of touch in all aspects of retail. Do not care about the people they employee. Current saying is that we are replacable if we don't like it. Not really a good message to be sending out to the managers that work hard and that do the best with what they have.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to the management teams! We are the ones that are in store on a daily basis, so we know best. Let us do what we do best.

    Heron Foods2018-10-04

    Heron Foods Response

    December 11, 2018HR Business Partner

    Thank you for posting your review. We will share your feedback with the relevant colleagues.

  4. Helpful (1)

    "Mind numbingly boring"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Former Store Manager in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Heron Foods full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Family ran business, good people, approachable managers

    Cons

    Mind numbing work, repetitive/ long days, bad pay, no concern for staff safety, bad business model.

    Advice to Management

    Dont try to run a business with no investment and minimum hours after a massive takeover. Investment is needed to make a business grow.

    Heron Foods2018-08-12

    Heron Foods Response

    August 13, 2018HR Business Partner

    We are sorry to hear your experience working at Heron did not meet your expectations. We take pride in providing a safe working environment for our colleagues and our exceptional business growth is a result of the fantastic work carried out by our team on a daily basis. Some of ...

    Show More
  5. "Picker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Order Picker in Melton, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Heron Foods part-time

    Pros

    Different shifts you can choose

    Cons

    Difficult to change shifts and days you work

    Advice to Management

    Can be more open minded to changes in shifts and hours

    Heron Foods2018-07-28

    Heron Foods Response

    August 3, 2018HR Business Partner

    Thank you for posting your review. Your feedback is valued and we will ensure it is forwarded to the relevant colleagues.

  6. "Working at Herons part time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Duty Manager in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Heron Foods part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Weekly pay, chance to progress , great work colleagues

    Cons

    Not much overtime , can drop you to contracted hours anytime

    Advice to Management

    Listen to staff and don't ignore complaints about other colleagues

    Heron Foods2018-07-14

    Heron Foods Response

    July 24, 2018HR Business Partner

    Thank you for posting your review. It's good to see the progression opportunities we offer at Heron have been flagged as a positive by you. All our vacancies are advertised internally and we encourage existing colleagues to apply. Our Future Flyers Programme also supports progression ...

    Show More
  7. "Area Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Area Manager in Coventry, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Heron Foods full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Simple, effective and efficient. The business model is very adaptable and they have ambitious plans to grow in the coming years. A breath of fresh air, small business ethos but with experienced experts at the helm who are open to new ideas

    Cons

    As with any rapidly growing business it's about consistency and experience within the team

    Advice to Management

    Challenge what you think you can achieve, this business model has massive potential

    Heron Foods2018-06-18

    Heron Foods Response

    June 26, 2018HR Business Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Your feedback is appreciated and will be shared internally.

  8. "my time a herons review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Heron Foods full-time

    Pros

    Good people to work with on a daily bases

    Cons

    work is hard sometimes and pay is not the best

    Advice to Management

    more communication is needed

    Heron Foods2018-05-21

    Heron Foods Response

    June 26, 2018HR Business Partner

    Thank you for posting your review, your feedback is important to us.

  9. "basic job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Leeds, England

      I have been working at Heron Foods part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      flexible, good team , small discount

      Cons

      low pay managers have low support

      Heron Foods2018-05-24

      Heron Foods Response

      June 26, 2018HR Business Partner

      Thank you for posting your review. Your feedback is important to us and will be shared internally.

    • "Sales assistant"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - PTSA in Leeds, England
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Heron Foods part-time (Less than a year)

      Pros

      Excellent working hours to fit around school, as I have a child this is brilliant. Work day varies from till work to getting stock out. I work 3 X 4 hour shifts a week.. 10% discount also with B&M

      Cons

      Not come across any cons

      Advice to Management

      Keep doing what you are doing

      Heron Foods2018-04-27

      Heron Foods Response

      April 27, 2018HR Business Partner

      We are delighted to hear your working hours fit around your lifestyle! It's a great example of how our shift support working parents as well as students and people looking for work/life balance. Thank you for posting your review.

    Found 48 reviews