Heron Foods Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Heron Foods Reviews

Updated 22 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
44%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Heron Foods Managing Director Tony Dobbs
Tony Dobbs
10 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "(in 4 reviews)

  • "(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Exciting and Supportive Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Hull, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Heron Foods full-time

    Pros

    Heron foods is a supportive, thriving company which is going places. Managers are all very friendly and encourage good ideas.

    Cons

    I spend all my wages in the shop as the deals are so good!

    Heron Foods2020-01-22
  2. "Management and stores support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Walker, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Heron Foods full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fantastic support with everyone wanting to help with issues I have. One team through out the company. Always at the end of the phone if I need help. I was told from the start everyone is hear to help. I’ve experienced that face to face today.

    Cons

    Nothing never felt like I’m alone.

    Continue reading
    Heron Foods2020-01-21
  3. "Great company, great team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager Designate in Barton, Lancashire, Lancashire, North West England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Heron Foods full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fast paced retail environment. Fast turnover of best buy lines bringing excellent choice and value to your neighbourhood. Great selection of brands and products at low prices. Great staff.

    Cons

    Not for the faint hearted, fast paced environment with lots of stock to manage on tight time scales.

    Continue reading
    Heron Foods2020-01-22
  4. "Horrible experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Sales Assistant in Birmingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Heron Foods part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    10% staff discount Nothing else at all

    Cons

    Poor management and condescending managers Minimum wage Terrible hours Harassment for availability

    Continue reading
    Heron Foods2020-01-20
  5. "Good job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Assistant Sales Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Heron Foods part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice colleagues, Can be busy and also quiet but managable and straightforward

    Cons

    None to note, great job

    Heron Foods2019-12-15
  6. "Good Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative in Melton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Heron Foods full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Quick paced business that allows you to put your thoughts and ideas in to practice. Very welcoming team. Fair Salaries. Flexibility can buy extra holiday days!

    Cons

    Could do to implement more employee benefits such as salary sacrifice for cycle to work etc There is an element of favoritism that is noticeable in the offices but this isnt any different to any other business.

    Continue reading
    Heron Foods2019-12-09
  7. "Nasty"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Heron Foods

    Pros

    There are no good reasons

    Cons

    Everything about this company is bad. They don’t look after their employees at all , you are expected to work over hours without pay

    Continue reading
    Heron Foods2019-08-03

    Heron Foods Response

    August 9, 2019HR Business Partner

    We are sorry to hear your experience working at Heron did not meet your expectations. We take pride in providing a safe working environment for our colleagues and our exceptional business growth is a result of the fantastic work carried out by our team on a daily basis. Some of the benefits of working at Heron include the many progression opportunities, flexible shifts and the great team environment.

    Continue reading
  8. "The job was harder than it should be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier 
    Recommends

    I worked at Heron Foods part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Easy money Colleagues are nice 10% discount

    Cons

    Manager did what ever they liked. If you’re under 21 pay is horrible for the amount of pressure put on you and the work you have to complete by yourself in the shortest amount of time Was not many diverse workers.

    Continue reading
    Heron Foods2019-08-02

    Heron Foods Response

    August 9, 2019HR Business Partner

    We are sorry to hear your experience working at Heron did not meet your expectations. We take pride in providing a safe working environment for our colleagues and our exceptional business growth is a result of the fantastic work carried out by our team on a daily basis. Some of the benefits of working at Heron include the many progression opportunities, flexible shifts and the great team environment.

    Continue reading
  9. "Worked there as a student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Customer Assistant 
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Heron Foods part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Not too bad pay for my age at the time.

    Cons

    Could overwork you (depending on the manager).

    Heron Foods2019-06-29

    Heron Foods Response

    August 9, 2019HR Business Partner

    Thank you for your feedback. Some of the benefits of working at Heron include the many progression opportunities, flexible shifts and the great team environment.

    Continue reading
  10. "Typical no frills company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cleaner in Hull, England
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Heron Foods full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    None really ..weekly pay only positive

    Cons

    Everything if you can think for yourself. if not you will do fine .company expects robots

    Continue reading
    Heron Foods2019-07-29

    Heron Foods Response

    August 9, 2019HR Business Partner

    We are sorry to hear your experience working at Heron did not meet your expectations. We do take feedback on board so i will ensure this is given to the relevant department.

    Continue reading
Found 66 reviews