Heron Foods Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Heron Foods Reviews

Updated 2 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 60 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
40%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Heron Foods CEO Tony Dobbs (no image)
Tony Dobbs
5 Ratings
Pros
  • "I have worked in many Heron Foods stores and can always say that the atmosphere is always great and friendly(in 5 reviews)

  • "This is an area manager who knows(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "(in 4 reviews)

  • "(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Company going places"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Regional Manager in York, England
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Heron Foods full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Career Succession Great team ethic Values that actually mean something

    Cons

    Can’t think of any that concern me

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing.

    Heron Foods2019-06-19

    Heron Foods Response

    August 9, 2019HR Business Partner

    Thank you for posting your review. Your feedback is valued and we will ensure it is forwarded to the relevant colleagues.

  2. "Nasty"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Heron Foods

    Pros

    There are no good reasons

    Cons

    Everything about this company is bad. They don’t look after their employees at all , you are expected to work over hours without pay

    Advice to Management

    Take a good look a yourselves , in the time that I have worked at heron foods I have seen many many mangers resign , doesn’t this tell you something about the way they are treated

    Heron Foods2019-08-03

    Heron Foods Response

    August 9, 2019HR Business Partner

    We are sorry to hear your experience working at Heron did not meet your expectations. We take pride in providing a safe working environment for our colleagues and our exceptional business growth is a result of the fantastic work carried out by our team on a daily basis. Some of ...

    Show More
  3. "The job was harder than it should be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier 
    Recommends

    I worked at Heron Foods part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Easy money Colleagues are nice 10% discount

    Cons

    Manager did what ever they liked. If you’re under 21 pay is horrible for the amount of pressure put on you and the work you have to complete by yourself in the shortest amount of time Was not many diverse workers.

    Advice to Management

    To think I bout their workers more.

    Heron Foods2019-08-02

    Heron Foods Response

    August 9, 2019HR Business Partner

    We are sorry to hear your experience working at Heron did not meet your expectations. We take pride in providing a safe working environment for our colleagues and our exceptional business growth is a result of the fantastic work carried out by our team on a daily basis. Some of ...

    Show More
  4. "Worked there as a student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Customer Assistant 
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Heron Foods part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Not too bad pay for my age at the time.

    Cons

    Could overwork you (depending on the manager).

    Heron Foods2019-06-29

    Heron Foods Response

    August 9, 2019HR Business Partner

    Thank you for your feedback. Some of the benefits of working at Heron include the many progression opportunities, flexible shifts and the great team environment.

  5. "Typical no frills company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cleaner in Hull, England
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Heron Foods full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    None really ..weekly pay only positive

    Cons

    Everything if you can think for yourself. if not you will do fine .company expects robots

    Advice to Management

    Resign

    Heron Foods2019-07-29

    Heron Foods Response

    August 9, 2019HR Business Partner

    We are sorry to hear your experience working at Heron did not meet your expectations. We do take feedback on board so i will ensure this is given to the relevant department.

  6. "slave drivers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Skelmersdale, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Heron Foods part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    loose weight like being in a marathon

    Cons

    work you to the ground

    Advice to Management

    treat your employees with a bit of respect

    Heron Foods2019-07-17

    Heron Foods Response

    August 9, 2019HR Business Partner

    We are sorry to hear your experience working at Heron did not meet your expectations. We do take feedback on board so i will ensure this is given to the relevant department.

  7. "Stressful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Heron Foods full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Hard to think of any

    Cons

    Long hours, expect to much

    Advice to Management

    If you live to work then go for it

    Heron Foods2019-06-03
  8. "if you dont do hard work dont go there!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Heron Foods full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    great team good products great CEO

    Cons

    expected to do well over 45 hours salary - no overtime no extra pay - high workload with no time for the so called breaks you just dont have time - working one on one most of the time with a small wage budget and high expectation

    Heron Foods2019-06-06
  9. "Hard work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Heron Foods full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    CEO Most people supportive

    Cons

    Micro managed Some area managers unrealistic Hours

    Heron Foods2019-06-04
  10. "Avoid at all costs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in West Bromwich, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Heron Foods full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good buying team, quick progression possible, a lot of management autonomy... well this used to be the case. Can’t think of anything else good to say

    Cons

    Massive staff turnover, life ruining hours, ridiculously poor senior management, bonus targets which move if you achieve them, no job security. If you are a store manager like I was, you are a glorified stock worker. No sick pay even for extreme circumstances (I never had a day off sick but i have seen people transferred and managed out after bereavement and illnesses such as cancer). Bullying is rife and HR are on... the side of management so expect no help. Imagine 8 store managers in one area walking out during a 2 moth period? Yeah, that happened. Please do not make the mistake of working for this company.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You manage to get good people working for you but then you lose them by mistreating them. I mean what is the cost of recruitment each time you have to replace someone? Recruit good people, look after them and retain them. Seems simple but you you just don’t understand that concept.

    Heron Foods2019-06-13
Found 60 reviews