Hertfordshire County Council Reviews

Updated Jan 25, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 154 of over 163 reviews

4.1
84%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Hertfordshire County Council Chief Executive Owen Mapley (no image)
Owen Mapley
31 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great employee benefits with Smart and Flexible Working(in 18 reviews)

  • "Work life balance is guaranteed(in 16 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "low pay in comparison to other employers(in 8 reviews)

  • "Slow system, low salary, too much workload(in 6 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great for progression

      Jan 25, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Lots of opportunities at such a large organisation

      Cons

      As a local authority, salaries are strict and can be low.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Hertfordshire County Council Response

      Digital Media Officer

      Thank you for leaving us a review, we are glad to hear you feel that at Hertfordshire County Council there is ‘lots of opportunities at such a large organisation’. We are sorry to hear that you feel that the ‘salaries are strict and can be low’. If you wish to discuss this further, we encourage you to contact us by emailing: hr.recruitmentorders@hertfordshire.gov.uk. Any communication will be treated in strictest confidence. We look forward to hearing from you.

    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Great employee support

      Jan 11, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      As is often the case with public sector, the salaries may not match private sector, but great package of support and benefits - range of salary sacrifice/savings/ good pension/ great learning and development offer and CPD.

      Cons

      Some heads of service are not quite on board with flexible working/family friendly work practices and obstruct requests for this

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Hertfordshire County Council Response

      Digital Media Officer

      Thank you for leaving us a review, we are glad to hear you feel at Hertfordshire County Council that there is a ‘great package of support and benefits - range of salary sacrifice/savings/ good pension/ great learning and development offer and CPD’. We are sorry to hear that you feel that ‘some heads of service are not quite on board with flexible working/family friendly work practices and obstruct requests for this’. If you wish to discuss this further, we encourage you to contact us by emailing: hr.recruitmentorders@hertfordshire.gov.uk. Any communication will be treated in strictest confidence. We look forward to hearing from you.

    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      A job for life

      Jan 21, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      If you show a commitment to the organisation, work hard and flexibly, you’ll be noticed and they will invest in you.

      Cons

      Resource struggles and usual government bureaucracy madness.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Hertfordshire County Council Response

      Digital Media Officer

      Thank you for leaving us a review, we are glad to hear you feel that at Hertfordshire County Council ‘if you show a commitment to the organisation, work hard and flexibly, you’ll be noticed and they will invest in you'. We are sorry to hear that you feel that there are ‘resource struggles and usual government bureaucracy madness’. If you wish to discuss this further, we encourage you to contact us by emailing: hr.recruitmentorders@hertfordshire.gov.uk. Any communication will be treated in strictest confidence. We look forward to hearing from you.

    4. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great employer

      Dec 15, 2021 - Support Workers in Watford, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexibility in working hours and good personal development opportunities

      Cons

      Sleep ins a few times every month, it's hard to unwind and recharge when you slept at work.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Hertfordshire County Council Response

      Digital Media Officer

      Thank you for leaving us a review, we are glad to hear you feel at Hertfordshire County Council that there is ‘flexibility in working hours and good personal development opportunities’. We are sorry to hear that you feel that ‘it's hard to unwind and recharge when you slept at work’.

    5. 4.0
      Current Employee

      An interesting place to work

      Dec 22, 2021 - Senior Property Manager in Hertford, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Everyone is very welcoming and friendly.

      Cons

      The organisation is very large so it can feel like a game of Chinese whispers. There are very long and slow approval processes.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Hertfordshire County Council Response

      Digital Media Officer

      Thank you for leaving us a review, we are glad to hear you feel at Hertfordshire County Council that ‘everyone is very welcoming and friendly’. We are sorry to hear that you feel that ‘the organisation is very large so it can feel like a game of Chinese whispers. There are very long and slow approval processes’. If you wish to discuss this further, we encourage you to contact us by emailing: hr.recruitmentorders@hertfordshire.gov.uk. Any communication will be treated in strictest confidence. We look forward to hearing from you.

    6. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      fab

      Dec 7, 2021 - Administrative Assistant in Ware, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      fab place to work.cheer and

      Cons

      none that I can think of

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Hertfordshire County Council Response

      Digital Media Officer

      Thank you for leaving us a review, we are glad to hear you feel that Hertfordshire County Council is a ‘fab place to work’.

    7. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Badly run school

      Nov 17, 2021 - Teacher in Elstree, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Easy to get a higher salary

      Cons

      Revolving door of teachers Lack of safeguarding for students and staff No junior staff development

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Hertfordshire County Council Response

      Digital Media Officer

      We are sorry to hear about your experience with Hertfordshire County Council. As such, we would very much wish to discuss the matter further, and would encourage you to contact us by emailing: hr.recruitmentorders@hertfordshire.gov.uk. Any communication will be treated in strict confidence. We look forward to hearing from you.

    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Public Health

      Nov 5, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great department to work for in HCC. They help you progress your career and give you support to continue developing professionally. Most poeple are very friendly an helpful.

      Cons

      Some big egos to contend with.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Hertfordshire County Council Response

      Digital Media Officer

      Thank you for leaving us a review, we are glad to hear you feel at Hertfordshire County Council that Public Health is a ‘great department to work for in HCC. They help you progress your career and give you support to continue developing professionally. Most people are very friendly an helpful.’. We are sorry to hear that you feel that there is ‘some big egos to contend with.’. If you wish to discuss this further, we encourage you to contact us by emailing: hr.recruitmentorders@hertfordshire.gov.uk. Any communication will be treated in strictest confidence. We look forward to hearing from you.

    9. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Good

      Nov 1, 2021 - Complimentary Therapist in Norwich, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great experience working with this company

      Cons

      None. Great flexibility with family commitments

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Hertfordshire County Council Response

      Digital Media Officer

      Thank you for leaving us a review, we are glad to hear you feel at Hertfordshire County Council that you have had ‘Great experience working with this company’ and there is 'great flexibility with family commitments'.

    10. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Decent employer - improving terms and conditions

      Oct 27, 2021 - Project Manager in Hertford, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good structure, support and pay very good.

      Cons

      Limited job opportunities within my field

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Hertfordshire County Council Response

      Digital Media Officer

      Thank you for leaving us a review, we are glad to hear you feel at Hertfordshire County Council that there is ‘Good structure, support and pay very good’. We are sorry to hear that you feel that there is ‘Limited job opportunities within my field’. If you wish to discuss this further, we encourage you to contact us by emailing: hr.recruitmentorders@hertfordshire.gov.uk. Any communication will be treated in strictest confidence. We look forward to hearing from you.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 154 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Hertfordshire County Council Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Hertfordshire County Council? Share Your Experiences

    Hertfordshire County Council logo
    or