Highmark Health Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Jul 13, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 26 of over 832 reviews

4.0
78%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Highmark Health President and CEO David L. Holmberg
David L. Holmberg
353 Ratings
Pros
  • "Pay, life/work balance, work from home options(in 44 reviews)

  • "Decent salary and good benefits(in 42 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Sometimes work life balance is hard(in 47 reviews)

  • "Inflexible upper management, unrealistic expectations, workload can be extreme(in 26 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    Talk anonymously with Healthcare professionals

    Reviews about "upper management"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Job review

      Jul 13, 2020 - RN Case Manager in Wilmington, DE
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great flexibility, excellent team work among small teams, adequate time off.

      Cons

      Inflexible upper management, unrealistic expectations, workload can be extreme

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful

      Highmark Health Response

      Content Marketing Specialist

      Thank you for taking the time to submit your feedback. We encourage you to discuss your workload with your manager and/or your Human Resource representative.

    2. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      I Beg You To Turn And Walk Away

      Mar 7, 2020 - Customer Service Representative in Parkersburg, WV
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You'll have some great coworkers that are looking for the door as fast as you. So, you'll have an abundance of things to talk about with them.

      Cons

      I want to be clear when I write that, with only 400 people in the building, the Parkersburg office has training classes of 15-20 for this position every couple of months. Why is that you ask? Because, most people quit with 3-6 months. Why? Because this isn't a position in which the company retains employees. If you don't quit, with a few more months, you'll most likely be fired. As a larger employer in the Parkersburg area, it would be assumed that this would be a stable job. That couldn't be further from the truth. The sheer level of loathing and disdain from longer term employees (of which there are very few) should help you to understand just how incredibly bad it can be. Why are they still there, then you ask? Because, in Parkersburg, there aren't a lot of options and the people that have managed to make Highmark their entire lives are still barely hanging on by a thread and know they're completely replaceable. Highmark preys on this community, instilling an idea of the hope of steady and stable jobs. They don't provide these and their business isn't set up to. The businesses itself lacks communication i.e. the way that customer service reps are rated changed in April of 2019, however no one, not even supervisors knew of this until September of 2019. Departments within the company don't work together and who loses? You and Highmark's unfortunate policy holders. Many people go into the details of their positions and write what was bad about it. I won't waste your time with that. I promise you that 5% of people find stability within Highmark in the Parkersburg Office and it won't be you. Please don't waste your precious time with this organization. From day one in training, they begin to tell you that you could be terminated over and over ad infinitum. And, if you don't quit first, somewhere down the road, you will be terminated. The company and position are nothing sort of absolute chaos. If, however you do like your work environment loaded with vagaries, instability, miserable management and total hostility, I'd still say that, rest assured, you will be blantanly undermined by the terrible structure of this insufferable company, it's openly hostile management style and it's precariously unattainable and malevolently micromanaged goals. Two more things of utmost importance: The HR portion of the Parkersburg building is full of offices and desks, but all of them are empty. Not one single person works in that part of the building. Any HR is computer based only and won't reach back out to employees. Read all the reviews about Highmark in order of most recent first. You'll find a few 5 stars. These are mostly consultants, interns and upper management that were asked by the company to write reviews. To the administrator who thanks people for their reviews. Please don't write about what HR or the company will do or keep in mind. We all know it won't.

      Continue reading
      12 people found this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Stay far away...

      Jan 19, 2020 - Technical Business in Camp Hill, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Hard to give a pro any more as there are none, but will offer a small pro - 401K

      Cons

      Hires management who doesn't care Extremely poor management; cannot trust Constant change in management who never learns an employees worth Outrageous Cost for Health Ins Moves most jobs out of USA Doesn't respect it's workers Constant lay offs (November-Budget, February-Reviews) Exempt - figure on 60-80 hours a week without gratitude Annual review... forget about you... it's all company based. No real reason to work hard. Advancement - be buds with upper management and a YES person

      Continue reading
      14 people found this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Culture issues

      Oct 11, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      If you're lucky enough to land on a good team, the people are great. Benefits are not bad, though i got better benefits from Highmark AFTER i left vs as an employee for less. There is a bonus structure.

      Cons

      Upper management is a joke with maybe 1 exception. Communication between teams and from said upper management is even worse. Political correctness from the top is rampant. We don't need a message from the CEO on current events and how Holmberg feels about it. We get enough emails and if i wanted commentary on the news, i have access to TV and the web for that. There is a STRONG culture of fear. They have a 1 strike and you're out policy. Meaning, it doesn't matter if you follow all the rules, dot all your I's and cross all your T's. If you make an honest mistake, they show you the door. I've seen it happen with too many of my coworkers. Work-life balance is non-existent. Incident management is a joke.

      Continue reading
      17 people found this review helpful

      Highmark Health Response

      Account Director

      We really appreciate you taking the time to submit such a detailed and thoughtful review. We will be sure to share your feedback internally about communication, work/life balance and management.

    5. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Incompetence rises to the top

      Oct 16, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in Pittsburgh, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good benefits and vacation. Ability to work from home occasionally.

      Cons

      I walk into work every day dreading the hours ahead of me. My coworkers and I are I valued and constantly reminded at how little regard middle and upper management has for us. Avoid the marketing department.

      Continue reading
      15 people found this review helpful

      Highmark Health Response

      Account Director

      We appreciate your review and take it seriously. We value all employees and are constantly looking for ways to improve their experience with us. Please contact your manager or HR representative about any concerns you have.

    6. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Executive Administrative Assistant

      Aug 28, 2018 - Executive Administrative Assistant in Pittsburgh, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      None. This place is a sinking ship.

      Cons

      This place is dysfunctional, cliquey, untrustworthy, dishonest and unpredictable. They have a HUGE turnover due to constant backstabbing, lies, and favoritism. This employer is so shady, they had upper management to post the above 5 star reviews, to make people believe this is a great place to work. Quite the contrary....Don’t do it

      Continue reading
      15 people found this review helpful

      Highmark Health Response

      Account Director

      It concerns us to hear from an employee who has been with us for more than 10 years being so dissatisfied. We encourage you to reach out to your human resources representative so that we can partner with you to improve the situation.

    7. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      HMHS Review - Time for a leadership change

      Nov 20, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good pay and benefits. Nice onsite facilities including a fitness center. The HMHS application support areas are top notch (database admin, Websphere admin, Data Center, etc). As a bonus, if you aspire to upper management, you’ll get a first-hand look at how NOT to treat employees if you desire to one day run a company with a great culture that will attract top talent.

      Cons

      The biggest con is that you will have to work for a very poor leadership team. The leader of HMHS is someone who spent a large part of his career at a company called Accenture (for more on Accenture search on “exposing evil empire”). Since that hire many years ago, there has been a steady erosion in morale due to bad decisions, terrible execution of decisions, and just a general lack of appreciation for non-management employees. Sadly, this bad hire led to many more bad hires within upper management which has only compounded the problems. Here’s a few examples of some HMHS decisions: 1. Created a curved review process where if someone in an area was given a 5 then someone else in that area had to be given a 1. Wonder where something like that might have originated? (see aforementioned “exposing evil empire” site). This was eventually done away with but the fact it was ever adopted speaks volumes. 2. Terminated lots of good IT resources while hiring even more VPs and SVPs. Ended working remotely for many employees in other states, forcing them to either relocate back or get new jobs. 3. Opened an IT shop in India to offshore and cut costs. The problem is they usually do terrible work. Thankfully, they can’t be used in many cases because of offshore restrictions in many client contracts. As you might imagine, this plus onshore resource layoffs has done wonders for morale. 4. When areas that were stretched too thin complained about not having enough people to do the work, they told them they didn’t need more people but simply needed the people they had to work more hours. 5. In many areas, they mandated employees work extra hours in the evening several nights a week to reduce an ever-growing backlog of defects. 6. Instead of listening to the people in the trenches, they basically told them to leave if they don’t like it. If that’s not bad enough, they talk down to them like they’re idiots, stating the obvious as if it’s profound wisdom. Forces one to consider whether they are really that clueless or if they actually think their employees are that stupid. Either way, it’s troubling. I could go on and on but you get the picture. On top of these things, they have tried to transform into a vendor, selling Highmark’s applications to other BCBS plans. This has resulted in almost constant process change as they flail away trying to figure it all out.

      Continue reading
      34 people found this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Mentally Unhealthy

      Apr 18, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in Camp Hill, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Their biggest asset is their diversity consultant

      Cons

      No loyalty to its employees; Upper management is constantly pushing changes down without caring how it impacts the folks doing the work. Does not reward good work -- only asks for more from you. Only want employees who go along with the status quo -- eliminate employees who actually ask questions and make suggestions (Retaliation). Management plays favorites and only rewards those they like instead of rewarding good work.

      Continue reading
      26 people found this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Harmful to Mental Health

      Apr 22, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      on site gym and free parking

      Cons

      Managers act like they are part of cult. Zombies repeating goals set by the upper management, no matter what the issue is. They treat employees like they are trash. "You have to do it" "You have no choice" are everyday phrases repeated by them.

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      You do not want to work here

      Apr 6, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Jeans on occasion- gym- cafe- nice co-workers (minus some of the mangers/sups)-bluetique- free parking- elevators- kitchenettes on the floors- seating area

      Cons

      Where do I start? From the Supervisors on up to upper management are clueless! They have not a clue to the real world of what we the employees do on a daily basis. Perhaps they should try to do our jobs then MAYBE they would realize the torture we go through every single day to make money for their pockets! As an analyst, Production and quality is not something that cannot be accomplished when you are being rushed. Benefit coding is a difficult job all the way around and then you get sent to other 'teams' in which you do not have a clue how to do that kind of coding. They think coding is coding. NOT!!! Being set up for failure seems to be the way. There is no such thing as having etiquette or feelings or being considerate to us and asking for volunteers. Karma will come back to inconsiderate people. The moral in the entire company is awful because no one cares about the employees. People on the street know all about this place. Extra hours for exempt and non-exempt is expected after your core work hours. Weekends, holidays and evenings. As though one more day makes a difference. The work comes to you late, goes they multiple departments before you get it and after you complete it but yet your department is the one that pays the ultimate price by working extra and line a slave! Those days are over. Micromanaging is forever going on. Sups watch you if they hear your voice. Oh and cramped working conditions are not flattering. If someone is sick, you will get sick too. Remember management have their 'own' space and offices or cubical. And if you call off it counts against you. Too many call offs you get fired. Never used to be this way.

      Continue reading
      19 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 26 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Highmark Health Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Highmark Health? Share Your Experiences

    Highmark Health logo
    or