Hill+Knowlton Strategies Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Hill+Knowlton Strategies Reviews

Updated 8 Apr 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
59%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Hill+Knowlton Strategies CEO AnnaMaria DeSalva
AnnaMaria DeSalva
15 Ratings
Pros
  • "H&K hosts some of the smartest, most brilliant minds I have ever met(in 38 reviews)

  • "Great people and the company takes care of you(in 19 reviews)

Cons
  • "No work life balance - expected to work well beyond regular hours and be available by phone/email at all times(in 37 reviews)

  • "Long hours (8 -7am/8pm) is the norm(in 34 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (6)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Account Executive in London, England
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hill+Knowlton Strategies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people and the company takes care of you

    Cons

    The progression system should be reviewed to make it more dynamic

    Hill+Knowlton Strategies2019-01-08
  2. "Great place to work with loads of opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hill+Knowlton Strategies full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    “Write your own story” - you can build the career that aligns with your interests Opportunities to work on top tier clients Super smart colleagues

    Cons

    Wpp makes pay and promotion difficult Multiple P&Ls can cause unnecessary internal competition

    Hill+Knowlton Strategies2020-01-12

    Hill+Knowlton Strategies Response

    March 10, 2020People + Culture

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We’re glad to hear that you feel empowered to build a fulfilling career here at H+K. That is what part of our future vision is focused on – helping you build a successful career here today and beyond. While we wish we could pay all of our employees more, there are a number of individual and corporate variables. If you have any questions on compensation and promotions or have anything further you’d like to share about unnecessary internal competition, please don’t hesitate to reach out to feedback@hkstrategies.com.

    Continue reading
  3. "Great experience, great people but P&P is still not v transparent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Account Executive 

    I have been working at Hill+Knowlton Strategies full-time

    Pros

    Great network of great minds, awesome clients, supportive and working towards more progressive culture

    Cons

    Waiting for a promotion wears you down - and is probably accountable for high turnover

    Hill+Knowlton Strategies2019-10-15

    Hill+Knowlton Strategies Response

    October 28, 2019People + Culture

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback, it is very much valued. We%E2%80%99re pleased to hear that you have great peers and clients (we think so too!) and recognize that we as an agency are taking the steps toward achieving our ambition. To address your other comments, we are implementing a global performance appraisal system so we%E2%80%99re consistent across the company with regard to how we review + reward employees for their hard work. We value your input and would love to hear more about your experience and how we can improve. Please feel free to reach out to us at feedback@hkstrategies.com.

    Continue reading
  4. "Big clients,"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SAM in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hill+Knowlton Strategies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Get to work on some larger international clients, multiple offices throughout the global network

    Cons

    Long hours at times. Rushed creative ideas into implementation

    Hill+Knowlton Strategies2019-10-21

    Hill+Knowlton Strategies Response

    October 28, 2019People + Culture

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback, it is very much valued. We love going above and beyond for our clients, but never want to rush our creative thinking or execution, nor do we want to encourage a culture of unbalanced workloads. Our people are our greatest asset and we value the work our employees put in to driving success for our clients. We would love to hear more about your experience and how we can improve. Please feel free to send additional feedback to feedback@hkstrategies.com.

    Continue reading
  5. "H+K London"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hill+Knowlton Strategies full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Company culture, talent, worth ethic, people

    Cons

    Work/life balance, lack of structure to flexible working

    Continue reading
    Hill+Knowlton Strategies2019-09-20

    Hill+Knowlton Strategies Response

    November 25, 2019People + Culture

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback, it is very much valued. First, we want to thank you for your many years of service to this agency and we appreciate your commitment. We are glad to hear that you have great peers and have enjoyed the company culture, but we are sorry to hear that work/life balance has been lacking. Our people are our greatest asset and we're always looking for ways to enhance the employee experience. We would love to hear more about how we can improve. Please feel free to send additional feedback to feedback@hkstrategies.com.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Worst Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hill+Knowlton Strategies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free snacks on Thursday and lovely people at the bar.

    Cons

    Working at Hill and Knowlton London wasn’t probably one of the most stressful roles I’ve had in my life. The office culture is so political and everyone is so full of themselves. The line mangers pretend to be above everyone else. The deadlines are tight and they over work you till you can’t bare it anymore. Everyone is very two faced and there’s a culture that you need to be sat at your desk from the beginning to the end of the day. On top of this, the work load is unrealistic so you have to constantly work on things at home. Don’t do it to yourself, work somewhere else where they value you and appreciate you! Life is short!

    Continue reading
    Hill+Knowlton Strategies2019-09-05

    Hill+Knowlton Strategies Response

    September 10, 2019Global Communications + Culture Director

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We’re disappointed to hear about your experience, which doesn’t align with the culture we’re striving to achieve in all our offices. Our London office is large, with multiple teams, so we’d love to hear more from you to better understand your experience and where and how we can improve. Please email us at feedback@hkstrategies.com so we can continue the conversation. Thanks again for your valued input.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (6)

    "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Senior Account Executive 

    I worked at Hill+Knowlton Strategies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some great people Interesting/big clients Sociable office + perks, e.g. weekly drinks

    Cons

    It can be hard to progress/get a pay rise.

    Hill+Knowlton Strategies2019-07-14

    Hill+Knowlton Strategies Response

    July 24, 2019Global Communications + Culture Director

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We’re pleased to hear you enjoyed your colleagues, clients and the H+K culture! Regarding salaries, our HR team conducts regular audits in an effort to keep pace with our competitors, and compensation is based on both individual and corporate variables. We’re grateful for your input, and should you have more, please send it to feedback@hkstrategies.com. We wish you the best of luck in your career!

    Continue reading
  8. "Poor salary, terrible work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hill+Knowlton Strategies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Big clients Prestigious reputation You quickly learn how to be incredibly disciplined due to the intense pressure

    Cons

    Terrible work life balance - I routinely did 12 hour days and management knew how stressed I was but did little to help me. Only after I handed in my notice did they offer me a payrise and said they would change my portfolio. After almost a year of crying at my desk it was too little too late. Poor career progression - teams are only allowed an allocation of a few promotions each year, meaning some staff are stuck at the same level for years too long.

    Continue reading
    Hill+Knowlton Strategies2019-07-08

    Hill+Knowlton Strategies Response

    July 9, 2019Global Communications + Culture Director

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We’re sorry to hear you’re not happy with your experience. It’s true that PR – one of the fastest-paced professions in the world – can require long hours. It certainly keeps us on our toes! Regarding raises, our HR team conducts regular audits in an effort to keep pace with our competitors, and compensation is based on both individual and corporate variables. We value your input and would love to hear more on how we can improve the employee experience. Don’t hesitate to submit additional feedback to feedback@hkstrategies.com.

    Continue reading
  9. "Senior Account Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Content + Publishing Strategist in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hill+Knowlton Strategies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Well respected global agency with great client list

    Cons

    Once you're in there's poor line management and a lack of pay rises or promotions

    Hill+Knowlton Strategies2019-03-30

    Hill+Knowlton Strategies Response

    April 22, 2019Global Communications + Culture Director

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We love hearing about the things you like about working with us! Compensation is based on a number of individual and corporate variables. Our HR team conducts regular compensation audits in an effort to keep pace with our competitors. We’re glad you’re with us - thank you for all you do for H+K! If there are further details you’d like to share, we welcome your input at feedback@hkstrategies.com.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Join from the start of your career or not at all"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Hill+Knowlton Strategies full-time

    Pros

    Great client portfolio, so good place to get some experience on your CV. Pay well if you start of on a good salary from the start, harder if you've worked up the ranks since being a JAE.

    Cons

    Those who've been in the business forever tend to get promoted whether or not they've delivered of not. In fact, those old timers used to be the least welcoming, the most prone to have random days ill, those who do the smallest amount of work. I suspect H+K has great talent come in from other agencies, before losing it due to the behaviour of those individuals. Whilst they can deliver events, influencer work - when it comes to basic publicist skills and picking up a phone to a journalist - not convinced some teams have this down.

    Continue reading
    Hill+Knowlton Strategies2019-01-19
Found 322 reviews