Hill+Knowlton Strategies Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Hill+Knowlton Strategies Reviews

Updated 18 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
57%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Hill+Knowlton Strategies CEO AnnaMaria DeSalva
AnnaMaria DeSalva
13 Ratings
Pros
  • "H&K hosts some of the smartest, most brilliant minds I have ever met(in 38 reviews)

  • "Great people and the company takes care of you(in 19 reviews)

Cons
  • "Work/life balance, lack of structure to flexible working(in 36 reviews)

  • "It seemed like people were stretched thin and frequently worked long hours(in 33 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (6)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Account Executive in London, England
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hill+Knowlton Strategies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people and the company takes care of you

    Cons

    The progression system should be reviewed to make it more dynamic

    Hill+Knowlton Strategies2019-01-08
  2. "Great place to work with loads of opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hill+Knowlton Strategies full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    “Write your own story” - you can build the career that aligns with your interests Opportunities to work on top tier clients Super smart colleagues

    Cons

    Wpp makes pay and promotion difficult Multiple P&Ls can cause unnecessary internal competition

    Hill+Knowlton Strategies2020-01-12
  3. "Great experience, great people but P&P is still not v transparent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Account Executive 

    I have been working at Hill+Knowlton Strategies full-time

    Pros

    Great network of great minds, awesome clients, supportive and working towards more progressive culture

    Cons

    Waiting for a promotion wears you down - and is probably accountable for high turnover

    Hill+Knowlton Strategies2019-10-15
  4. "Big clients,"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SAM in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hill+Knowlton Strategies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Get to work on some larger international clients, multiple offices throughout the global network

    Cons

    Long hours at times. Rushed creative ideas into implementation

    Hill+Knowlton Strategies2019-10-21
  5. "H+K London"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hill+Knowlton Strategies full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Company culture, talent, worth ethic, people

    Cons

    Work/life balance, lack of structure to flexible working

    Advice to Management

    Improve structure of flexible working

    Hill+Knowlton Strategies2019-09-20
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Worst Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hill+Knowlton Strategies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free snacks on Thursday and lovely people at the bar.

    Cons

    Working at Hill and Knowlton London wasn’t probably one of the most stressful roles I’ve had in my life. The office culture is so political and everyone is so full of themselves. The line mangers pretend to be above everyone else. The deadlines are tight and they over work you till you can’t bare it anymore. Everyone is very two faced and there’s a culture that you need to be sat at your desk from the beginning to the end of the day. On top of this, the work load is unrealistic so you have to constantly work on things at home. Don’t do it to yourself, work somewhere else where they value you and appreciate you! Life is short!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Take care of your employees and treat them as humans rather than slaves. Invest into them!

    Hill+Knowlton Strategies2019-09-05
  7. Helpful (6)

    "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Senior Account Executive 

    I worked at Hill+Knowlton Strategies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some great people Interesting/big clients Sociable office + perks, e.g. weekly drinks

    Cons

    It can be hard to progress/get a pay rise.

    Hill+Knowlton Strategies2019-07-14
  8. "Poor salary, terrible work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hill+Knowlton Strategies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Big clients Prestigious reputation You quickly learn how to be incredibly disciplined due to the intense pressure

    Cons

    Terrible work life balance - I routinely did 12 hour days and management knew how stressed I was but did little to help me. Only after I handed in my notice did they offer me a payrise and said they would change my portfolio. After almost a year of crying at my desk it was too little too late. Poor career progression - teams are only allowed an allocation of a few promotions each year, meaning some staff are stuck at the same level for years too long.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Look after your staff's welfare. Staff crying at desks and working 12 hour days is not normal, especially on the very small salaries you offer in comparison to rival agencies. Progression is incredibly slow.

    Hill+Knowlton Strategies2019-07-08
  9. "Senior Account Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Content + Publishing Strategist in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hill+Knowlton Strategies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Well respected global agency with great client list

    Cons

    Once you're in there's poor line management and a lack of pay rises or promotions

    Hill+Knowlton Strategies2019-03-30
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Join from the start of your career or not at all"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Hill+Knowlton Strategies full-time

    Pros

    Great client portfolio, so good place to get some experience on your CV. Pay well if you start of on a good salary from the start, harder if you've worked up the ranks since being a JAE.

    Cons

    Those who've been in the business forever tend to get promoted whether or not they've delivered of not. In fact, those old timers used to be the least welcoming, the most prone to have random days ill, those who do the smallest amount of work. I suspect H+K has great talent come in from other agencies, before losing it due to the behaviour of those individuals. Whilst they can deliver events, influencer work - when it comes to basic publicist skills and picking up a phone to a journalist - not convinced some teams have this down.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Iron out some of that bad behaviour!

    Hill+Knowlton Strategies2019-01-19
Found 320 reviews