Hill+Knowlton Strategies "great people" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Hill+Knowlton Strategies Employee Reviews about "great people"

Updated 14 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
63%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Hill+Knowlton Strategies CEO AnnaMaria DeSalva
AnnaMaria DeSalva
21 Ratings
Pros
  • "H&K hosts some of the smartest, most brilliant minds I have ever met(in 38 reviews)

  • "Great people and the company takes care of you(in 19 reviews)

Cons
  • "No work life balance - expected to work well beyond regular hours and be available by phone/email at all times(in 37 reviews)

  • "Long hours (8 -7am/8pm) is the norm(in 34 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "great people"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (6)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Account Executive in London, England
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hill+Knowlton Strategies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people and the company takes care of you

    Cons

    The progression system should be reviewed to make it more dynamic

    Hill+Knowlton Strategies2019-01-08
  2. Helpful (6)

    "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Senior Account Executive 

    I worked at Hill+Knowlton Strategies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some great people Interesting/big clients Sociable office + perks, e.g. weekly drinks

    Cons

    It can be hard to progress/get a pay rise.

    Hill+Knowlton Strategies2019-07-14

    Hill+Knowlton Strategies Response

    July 24, 2019Global Communications + Culture Director

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We’re pleased to hear you enjoyed your colleagues, clients and the H+K culture! Regarding salaries, our HR team conducts regular audits in an effort to keep pace with our competitors, and compensation is based on both individual and corporate variables. We’re grateful for your input, and should you have more, please send it to feedback@hkstrategies.com. We wish you the best of luck in your career!

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Hard work isn't rewarded"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Hill+Knowlton Strategies full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people and good culture

    Cons

    Career progression is a struggle, low pay and long hours

    Hill+Knowlton Strategies2016-10-17
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Probably the best and most international agency in the world"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Vice President in London, England
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hill+Knowlton Strategies

    Pros

    A wonderful place to build a career. Great people, clients and culture. Incredible opportunities to grow and develop. Not seen an agency I like better. Strength in Europe, Middle East and Asia the jewel in the crown

    Cons

    As with an international agency the network can be patchy. The US isn't as strong as it used to be or needs to be

    Continue reading
    Hill+Knowlton Strategies2011-03-08
  5. "Run away...fast"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hill+Knowlton Strategies full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Not much to add except the great people and interesting work

    Cons

    Lack of senior management; they will work you till you drop dead! No concept of work life balance; impossible to take a vacation; don’t even think of receiving a raise…it wont happen! The people are excellent but are treated with zero respect. If you get offered a job here…run for your life! They have offices in Canada but have no idea how to run a business in the Canadian Market

    Continue reading
    Hill+Knowlton Strategies2019-05-21

    Hill+Knowlton Strategies Response

    May 22, 2019Global Communications + Culture Director

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. What you describe isn’t at all consistent with the culture we strive for, and we’re sorry to hear you didn’t have a wonderful experience with us. PR is among the fastest-paced professions in the world, and it sounds like your experience was no exception. Sometimes our best efforts to balance the workload miss the mark. Regarding performance and rewards, we’re excited to be rolling out a new system in the coming months to ensure consistency across the globe in our appraisal process. We value your input and would love to hear more about your experience and how we can improve. Please email us additional feedback at feedback@hkstrategies.com.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (5)

    "HK Brussels"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Founder in Brussels
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hill+Knowlton Strategies full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great people and team spirit

    Cons

    WPP has too many rules

    Continue reading
    Hill+Knowlton Strategies2019-03-18

    Hill+Knowlton Strategies Response

    April 22, 2019Global Communications + Culture Director

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We happen to agree we have great people, and they make even greater teams! Thank you for all your contributions to that team spirit. H+K is always in beta because our industry is constantly evolving, and WPP is no exception. We’re excited about what the future will bring, and hope it brings you wonderful experiences as well. If there’s anything more you’d like to share, please email us at feedback@hkstrategies.com.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (1)

    "I've enjoyed my time at H+K"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Hill+Knowlton Strategies full-time

    Pros

    Great people, open concept office with lots of light and interesting projects.

    Cons

    WPP has very strict compensation rules that govern whether people get raises based on the financial performance.

    Hill+Knowlton Strategies2018-08-10
  8. Helpful (1)

    "People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Hill+Knowlton Strategies full-time

    Pros

    The people were always the best part of this job. Really great people

    Cons

    Top mgmt making decisions that just continue to wear away at morale.

    Hill+Knowlton Strategies2018-02-28
  9. "A bit of a mess"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hill+Knowlton Strategies full-time

    Pros

    -great experience -some great people -big network

    Cons

    -company identity is all over the place, not cohesive -very limited vertical movement -underpaid -overworked

    Continue reading
    Hill+Knowlton Strategies2017-09-14
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Great People & Benefits; Lack of upward mobility"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hill+Knowlton Strategies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great people and camaraderie; extra benefits like work from home days and fitness reimbursements help to make up for lack of compensation

    Cons

    the next step is never clear; little incentive to go the extra mile; no bonuses or clear promotion/raise structure

    Continue reading
    Hill+Knowlton Strategies2017-06-20
Found 19 reviews