Hill+Knowlton Strategies Employee Reviews about "h k"

Updated Jan 9, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 56 of over 536 reviews

3.6
69%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Hill+Knowlton Strategies CEO AnnaMaria DeSalva
AnnaMaria DeSalva
63 Ratings
Pros
  • "H&K hosts some of the smartest, most brilliant minds I have ever met(in 39 reviews)

  • "Great people and the company takes care of you(in 20 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Work-life balance almost non-existent(in 43 reviews)

  • "Long hours (8 -7am/8pm) is the norm(in 40 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "h k"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Brilliant professional and personal experience

      Dec 13, 2015 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      A truly integrated, global communications company with lots of fantastic, highly experienced people to learn from across the network. I met my mentor in my line manager and Account Director at H+K and working with her and others like her with a forward looking attitude and plenty of valuable experience instilled a whole new kind of confidence in me. At H+K, you will definitely get the opportunity to work with several high-profile, international clients - however, you need to make your career goals known and reinforce that you would like to work on certain kinds of accounts as much as you can. The best thing about H+K is the quality of staff. The people you work with can be an extremely important part of your work experience and daily life, and therefore I felt lucky to be surrounded by good, knowledgeable people not just in my office but across the network.

      Cons

      Long hours on big campaigns and events - but that is a given in any agency and a successful event makes it all worth it!

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Abusive and toxic

      Jan 9, 2021 - Account Executive in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There were no pros when I worked there.

      Cons

      My time at H+K was sadly rife with racism and discrimination. In an almost only white team I was left off of meeting invites, locked out of meeting rooms, bullied out of projects and discriminated against for my health conditions. I look back on my time there and wish I had taken criminal action against them. The team I worked in were toxic and abusive and I hope they have changed.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Hill+Knowlton Strategies Response

      People + Culture

      Thank you for your feedback. At H+K we strive to foster an environment free of discrimination, where all colleagues feel included. We are sorry that you did not experience this during your time with us and are taking steps to better understand the situation. If you would like to connect, please contact us at feedback@hkstrategies.com.

    3. The latest conversations about Advertising

      Join the conversation on

      Advertising

      3y

      a 

      Consultant

      What career advice would you give your 30-year-old self? 😇

      2,914

      248 Comments

      Join the conversation on
    4. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Join from the start of your career or not at all

      Jan 19, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great client portfolio, so good place to get some experience on your CV. Pay well if you start of on a good salary from the start, harder if you've worked up the ranks since being a JAE.

      Cons

      Those who've been in the business forever tend to get promoted whether or not they've delivered of not. In fact, those old timers used to be the least welcoming, the most prone to have random days ill, those who do the smallest amount of work. I suspect H+K has great talent come in from other agencies, before losing it due to the behaviour of those individuals. Whilst they can deliver events, influencer work - when it comes to basic publicist skills and picking up a phone to a journalist - not convinced some teams have this down.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Lacks a collaborative or professional feel

      Nov 28, 2016 - Senior Account Manager in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Lovely office, free proper coffee, free bar one evening a week

      Cons

      Each industry of the business is responsible for their own P&L - hence there is a hesitancy to work 'together' on joint ventures as each fights for the larger split of the revenues from and services to the Clients. There is not a strong collaborative culture, rather, a whispering behind-the-back ethos which is not very professional. Many of the employees have been there a long time and there is this 'H +K Way' of doing things without being open-minded to the views of new hires who may have a different perspective. There is no internal communications within the organisation (e.g. messages from CEO or leadership teams) which makes you feel very disconnected and not part of an 'organisation' but your 'team' with little updates of what may be going on in another industry and absolutely no opportunity to move across to other roles.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      You need to be made of steel to make it here

      Nov 20, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You will learn a lot in a very short space of time working at H+K - like a Masters without the fees. The intense learning curve and pressure at this company helped prepare me for a very fast transition to management in my next role. If you can hack a year or two of chaos, it may help boost your career. There's fairly good additional benefits such as gym discounts, season ticket loans etc.

      Cons

      Twelve hour days the norm. In 18 months I left the office on time 6 times. The company are obsessed with 'billable' work. You will be constantly scrutinised to ensure you are making them enough money. Employees are also asked to learn, develop, grow (whatever) outwith their role itself, but not given the time to do so. Which is fine, but you are then penalised in performance reviews for not having done so. This contributes to it being notoriously difficult to get a raise or promotion. Reward and recognition is not a thing here. Unless you consider a free bar the pat on the back you've always wanted. Management are disinterested in the well-being of staff. It is not unusual to see people crying at their desk from the stress and lack of support. These people are considered to be unable to hack it, and encouraged to leave. They don't call them Hire + Kill for nothing.

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Curate's egg

      Sep 17, 2015 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good work life balance Exciting range of clients Good reputation means business comes to you Lovely offices Work bar with subsidized drinks

      Cons

      Strange politics at the top due to leadership vacuum (reverse takeover by Texans has not worked) Not clear what H+K is these days, seems to be turning into a marketing/ ad agency in London Poor pay and promotion prospects (appraisal process not clear/non existent)

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Good learning curve, awful HR

      Oct 4, 2014 - Account Executive in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I worked at H+K London for 2 years and it was great to have exposure to a great client in Procter & Gamble. A high level of work & attention to detail was naturally expected so I learnt an awful lot in my time there which is invaluable to me and I will always take with me

      Cons

      I was underpaid from day 1 and there is a process in place which means the company are unable to reward staff with pay rises or promotions without approval from New York and they can only do them all at once instead of when you deserve it. In my case people were being hired above me who were worse than me and completely incompetent - they can hire new people but not reward current staff! So many talented people left that I was left doing five jobs at once. Everybody is stressed and are zombies - no quality of life. I was told at all my review meetings that I was overdue promotions and promised a double promotion when the time came. I finally had enough and when I did hand in my notice I was treated with complete disrespect. I was treated to scare tactics, being told the company I was going to didn't sound very good, the role didn't sound right for me etc. when in fact it was the best decision I ever made. I was also offered anything I wanted to stay - I could name my price. It's a shame they can give you anything you want when you're leaving when I would have just been happy to be treated with respect with the pay rises and promotions I deserved to be given. After handing in my notice I was also kicked off an invitation list to an event with the CEO. I was also bullied into not taking any of my accrued holiday in my notice period and threatened with legal action. Left on very bad terms - such a shame. Everybody I worked with has now also left - the consumer team is now completely new in the space of a year and people are leaving having only been there a few months. Deep rooted problems here

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Mediocre

      Oct 7, 2020 - Senior Project Manager in Dubai
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Beautiful office, prestigious clients, weekly breakfast, good salary

      Cons

      There is no culture and no values. A soulless place to work at. Mediocre junior staff with no experience and no knowledge of the Arab market. H+K Middle East is what bad PR is all about. A lot of noise and no story to tell. The company is gaining from its name recognition but it does not deliver quality in the region. As a client it is best to go boutique. If you have to, keep the job for one year when looking for something else. Expect endless meetings with no directions.

      3 people found this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Avoid at all costs. It is not worth it.

      Aug 12, 2020 - Marketing/PR Consultant in Singapore
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      H+K is a global name however this office sadly does not live up to the reputation. The only benefit is if you were to look for another role in another market, H+K is a top player and would add weight to your CV.

      Cons

      Too many share. Very weak and inexperienced MD, lack of empathy, no direction as a company and sadly they just don't care about the staff. Global and regional teams at H+K don't seem to see the issues or simply don't care about it.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    11. 5.0
      Current Intern

      You get out what you put into it

      Sep 4, 2019 - Fellow 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I've learned more at H+K than anywhere else. The clients and people are top-notch. Upper management really supports the fellows and wants you to succeed as long as you do your work and are respectful. The Austin office is home to an incredibly talented and diverse workforce. I really couldn't have asked for a better experience.

      Cons

      None - as long as you do your work thoroughly and get along with others , you will succeed

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 56 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Hill+Knowlton Strategies Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Hill+Knowlton Strategies? Share Your Experiences

    or