Hill+Knowlton Strategies Employee Reviews about "long hours"

Updated Nov 15, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 50 of over 568 reviews

3.7
70%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Hill+Knowlton Strategies CEO AnnaMaria DeSalva
AnnaMaria DeSalva
76 Ratings
Pros
  • "H&K hosts some of the smartest, most brilliant minds I have ever met(in 41 reviews)

  • "Great culture, great people, great clients(in 24 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Long hours , too tasking to achieve(in 50 reviews)

  • "Work life balance could be better(in 49 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    The latest conversations about Advertising

    Join the conversation on

    Advertising

    1y

    a 

    Consultant

    What career advice would you give your 30-year-old self? 😇

    3,034

    254 Comments

    Advertising

    100.7K Members 

    Ask candid career questions

    -1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/advertising/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.co.uk&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=Hill+Knowlton Strategies~13555
    Join the conversation on

    Reviews about "long hours"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Brilliant professional and personal experience

      Dec 13, 2015 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      A truly integrated, global communications company with lots of fantastic, highly experienced people to learn from across the network. I met my mentor in my line manager and Account Director at H+K and working with her and others like her with a forward looking attitude and plenty of valuable experience instilled a whole new kind of confidence in me. At H+K, you will definitely get the opportunity to work with several high-profile, international clients - however, you need to make your career goals known and reinforce that you would like to work on certain kinds of accounts as much as you can. The best thing about H+K is the quality of staff. The people you work with can be an extremely important part of your work experience and daily life, and therefore I felt lucky to be surrounded by good, knowledgeable people not just in my office but across the network.

      Cons

      Long hours on big campaigns and events - but that is a given in any agency and a successful event makes it all worth it!

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Greaubjkjk

      Nov 5, 2021 - Department Head in Greenock, Scotland
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great place to work at

      Cons

      Long hours , too tasking to achieve

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Great experience

      May 24, 2021 - Account Executive in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great experience with some top clients Rewarding if you put the work in

      Cons

      Long hours not for the feint hearted

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Met some lovely people, but long working hours

      Mar 5, 2021 - Account Executive in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Met loads of lovely people

      Cons

      Frequent long working hours - difficult to manage workload with only so many hours in a day

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Work for them, but don't stay long if you value salary

      Dec 23, 2020 - Senior Consultant in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Large brands, some inspiring individuals, great place to start your career

      Cons

      Tough, often non-empathetic culture. Transparency shortage around pay and progression, long-hours, regularly received poorly worded (even inconsiderate) communication from AD level team members.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Hill+Knowlton Strategies Response

      People + Culture

      Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are sorry to hear about the challenges you faced and lack of work/life balance. That is not the culture we strive to cultivate here. We also have recently implemented changes to our performance process and have ensured greater transparency on this. If you have any additional input to share, please feel free to reach out to feedback@hkstrategies.com.

    6. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Great people, learned alot

      Dec 2, 2020 - Business Development in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great team and opportunities to work with people from all over the world

      Cons

      Long hours...and 'always on' ethos

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Good work, long hours

      Oct 25, 2020 - Senior Account Manager in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Lots of training programmes available Big global brands Several specialist experts so you can learn a lot from your peers

      Cons

      Long hours, high stress Traditional agency stuck in its ways Weak management

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Hill+Knowlton Strategies Response

      People + Culture

      Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We’re glad to hear about the positive aspects of the agency and what you like about working with us. We’re sorry to hear about the lack of work/life balance and other challenges that exist. Our people are our greatest asset, and we’re always looking for ways to enhance the employee experience at H+K. We understand that there’s also areas for improvement. As you are a current H+K employee, we value your input and encourage you to share your feedback and concerns with your local HR representatives or reach out to feedback@hkstrategies.com.

    8. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Good experience but demanding culture

      Jul 1, 2020 - Senior Account Executive in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great list of clients and opportunities to learn and develop

      Cons

      Poor work/life balance, long hours, intense culture, low pay

      2 people found this review helpful

      Hill+Knowlton Strategies Response

      People + Culture

      Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us and it’s great to hear that you were able to grow in your career during your time with us. We’re sorry to hear that the work/life balance was lacking and that the culture felt intense. That is not the culture we strive to cultivate here. If you're willing, please feel free to send additional input to feedback@hkstrategies.com.

    9. 1.0
      Former Intern, less than 1 year

      Worst place I've ever worked

      Dec 14, 2019 - Intern in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Intelligent colleagues - good clients

      Cons

      - overworked to the extreme - long hours - extremely low pay - culture that allowed bullying to go unchallenged - little support, sink or swim culture - muddled progression route. I didn't stay particularly long, but some colleagues spent up to 2 years as a Junior Account Executive

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    10. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Big clients,

      Oct 21, 2019 - SAM in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Get to work on some larger international clients, multiple offices throughout the global network

      Cons

      Long hours at times. Rushed creative ideas into implementation

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Hill+Knowlton Strategies Response

      People + Culture

      Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback, it is very much valued. We love going above and beyond for our clients, but never want to rush our creative thinking or execution, nor do we want to encourage a culture of unbalanced workloads. Our people are our greatest asset and we value the work our employees put in to driving success for our clients. We would love to hear more about your experience and how we can improve. Please feel free to send additional feedback to feedback@hkstrategies.com.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 50 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Hill+Knowlton Strategies Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Hill+Knowlton Strategies? Share Your Experiences

    or