Hill+Knowlton Strategies "long hours" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Hill+Knowlton Strategies Employee Reviews about "long hours"

Updated 18 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
63%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Hill+Knowlton Strategies CEO AnnaMaria DeSalva
AnnaMaria DeSalva
21 Ratings
Pros
  • "H&K hosts some of the smartest, most brilliant minds I have ever met(in 38 reviews)

  • "Great people and the company takes care of you(in 19 reviews)

Cons
  • "No work life balance - expected to work well beyond regular hours and be available by phone/email at all times(in 37 reviews)

  • "Long hours (8 -7am/8pm) is the norm(in 34 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "long hours"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Brilliant professional and personal experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Hill+Knowlton Strategies

    Pros

    A truly integrated, global communications company with lots of fantastic, highly experienced people to learn from across the network. I met my mentor in my line manager and Account Director at H+K and working with her and others like her with a forward looking attitude and plenty of valuable experience instilled a whole new kind of confidence in me. At H+K, you will definitely get the opportunity to work with several high-profile, international clients - however, you need to make your career goals known and reinforce that you would like to work on certain kinds of accounts as much as you can. The best thing about H+K is the quality of staff. The people you work with can be an extremely important part of your work experience and daily life, and therefore I felt lucky to be surrounded by good, knowledgeable people not just in my office but across the network.

    Cons

    Long hours on big campaigns and events - but that is a given in any agency and a successful event makes it all worth it!

    Hill+Knowlton Strategies2015-12-13
  2. "Worst place I've ever worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Intern in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Hill+Knowlton Strategies for less than a year

    Pros

    - Intelligent colleagues - good clients

    Cons

    - overworked to the extreme - long hours - extremely low pay - culture that allowed bullying to go unchallenged - little support, sink or swim culture - muddled progression route. I didn't stay particularly long, but some colleagues spent up to 2 years as a Junior Account Executive

    Continue reading
    Hill+Knowlton Strategies2019-12-14
  3. "Big clients,"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SAM in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hill+Knowlton Strategies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Get to work on some larger international clients, multiple offices throughout the global network

    Cons

    Long hours at times. Rushed creative ideas into implementation

    Hill+Knowlton Strategies2019-10-21

    Hill+Knowlton Strategies Response

    October 28, 2019People + Culture

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback, it is very much valued. We love going above and beyond for our clients, but never want to rush our creative thinking or execution, nor do we want to encourage a culture of unbalanced workloads. Our people are our greatest asset and we value the work our employees put in to driving success for our clients. We would love to hear more about your experience and how we can improve. Please feel free to send additional feedback to feedback@hkstrategies.com.

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Hard work isn't rewarded"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Hill+Knowlton Strategies full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people and good culture

    Cons

    Career progression is a struggle, low pay and long hours

    Hill+Knowlton Strategies2016-10-17
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Cliché London Agency"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Account Supervisor in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hill+Knowlton Strategies full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, health care, gym allowance, impressive salary, prestige, training, location, novelty free bar with free coffee and friendly staff. Microwaves. Nice views of London. Opportunities to work on large global brands.

    Cons

    Long hours, 12 hour day the norm, heavy work load per person, competitive culture, high expectations, unsupportive, stressful, isolating, hierarchical, the London agency cliché. Messy desks. Hot desking. Average age 27 most employees in their first role, therefore exploitative. No canteen, free crisps chocolate alcohol and coffee don't exactly promote a healthy environment it's an 80s cliché to keep over worked people who are very young... keen and working.

    Continue reading
    Hill+Knowlton Strategies2015-09-03
  6. "A place to work if you like nice views but don't mind bullies (CEO is the worst)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hill+Knowlton Strategies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Nice views of Sydney Harbour Bridge - Nice offices - Stocked fridge

    Cons

    - CEO is a power hungry bully - often heard shouting at people and showing a general lack of empathy or consideration for anyone - Long hours (8 -7am/8pm) is the norm - Low pay - High staff turnover - Lack of training

    Continue reading
    Hill+Knowlton Strategies2020-02-19
  7. "Very long working hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Hill+Knowlton Strategies full-time

    Pros

    Wide exposure to large cap listcos

    Cons

    Heavy workload with very long working hours

    Hill+Knowlton Strategies2019-12-12

    Hill+Knowlton Strategies Response

    January 16, 2020People + Culture

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We love going above and beyond for our clients, but never want to encourage a culture of unbalanced workloads. Our people are our greatest asset and we value the work our employees put in to driving success for our clients. We would love to hear more about your experience and how we can improve. Please feel free to send additional feedback to feedback@hkstrategies.com.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (9)

    "Miami Office: Great and Professional"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Miami, FL
    Recommends

    I worked at Hill+Knowlton Strategies full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    World class clients, great environment, collaborative. Love the boss.

    Cons

    PR requires long hours. It’s 24/7 client service. Not for the lazy.

    Continue reading
    Hill+Knowlton Strategies2019-06-28
  9. "Senior Account Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Account Executive in Hong Kong
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hill+Knowlton Strategies full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    good learning platform + the working hierarchy is relatively flat , senior willing to teach

    Cons

    very very long working hours , heavy workload many mainlander colleague

    Hill+Knowlton Strategies2019-07-08

    Hill+Knowlton Strategies Response

    July 24, 2019Global Communications + Culture Director

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We love hearing from our current employees, and are thrilled to hear you’re taking advantage of all the learning + development opportunities we offer. We hear your feedback on the working hours. PR is one of the fastest-paced professions, and it can certainly be a challenge to keep up! If you’d like to share additional feedback, please send it to feedback@hkstrategies.com. Thanks again for your input, and most of all for all your contributions to H+K!

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 
    Recommends

    I worked at Hill+Knowlton Strategies

    Pros

    Harmonious working environment and flexible hours

    Cons

    Long working hours and hectic days during peak.

    Hill+Knowlton Strategies2019-05-26

    Hill+Knowlton Strategies Response

    June 24, 2019Global Communications + Culture Director

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We’re thrilled you had a positive experience with us! And we hear you on the hectic days – as one of the fastest-paced professions in the world, our work can make for hectic days! Thanks again for weighing in. We wish you much success in your future! If you would like to share additional feedback, please send it to feedback@hkstrategies.com.

    Continue reading
Found 34 reviews