Hitachi Capital (UK) Reviews

Updated 6 May 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.4
88%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Hitachi Capital (UK) Chief Executive Officer Robert Gordon
Robert Gordon
86 Ratings
Pros
  • "The environment is fast paced and offers plenty of opportunities for you to develop and help the company to also develop(in 6 reviews)

  • "Great People delivering great customer service(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "Senior management lack direction which is both stressful and confusing for staff(in 4 reviews)

  • "A long way to go with digitisation as still heavily reliant on paper(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. Featured Review
    COVID-19
    Helpful (1)

    "Looks after its staff during difficult times"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hitachi Capital (UK) full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I've been with the company about 4 years now, and they've always worked hard to support colleagues, but I've really seen the best of HCUK the last 12 months as we've been impacted by the national lockdown. There's been an incredible level of support from the business for all its staff. When the lockdown occurred in March the company went to extraordinary lengths to ensure that everyone was set up to work from home. No one was furloughed, even during an initial dip in business. The whole company pulled together to support each other and customers. The CEO, Robert, was very visible - leading with regular communications to update everyone on what was happening, from regular emails to large-scale video conferences with everyone in the company, to make sure that we were up to date with the ever shifting situation. During some of the sad news we've faced this year he's been empathetic and very human, displaying his own honest emotions in step with everyone else. People from across the company have come together to support each other too - from organising video yoga at desks to workshops on topics from the menopause to dealing with stress. Even though we've lost some of the local community of local offices, it feels like the company-wide community at Hitachi Capital UK has bloomed. The company has also been very practical, making sure staff are financially looked after, aware of what's happening and always have access to the latest information. I've always enjoyed working at HCUK. But the last year has shown me what a special place it really is. There's honestly nowhere else I'd want to be working at a time of crisis.

    Cons

    Before the pandemic culture could be slow to move forward and modernise. But the action that they've taken to tackle the situation has showed how agile we can be as a company.

    Continue reading
  2. "Fantastic place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Credit Analyst in Newbury, England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hitachi Capital (UK) full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Employee benefits Friendly staff Supportive management Flexible working

    Cons

    You may never leave Hitachi


  3. COVID-19

    "Overall a fantastic place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Financial Crime Assurance Manager in Leeds, England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hitachi Capital (UK) full-time

    Pros

    Fantastic reward package Autonomy is encouraged Development and investment in people is fantastic Culture is the best I have encountered in my career, everyone wants to make a difference and you feel like a person not a number Organisational goals are very clear and objectives are realistic and reflect the current climate, for example during the Covid 19 pandemic to recognise the different challenges and changing priorities Commitment to improving environmental issues for example through Gridserve partnership and electric vehicle scheme for employees Commitment to volunteering, providing everyone with 1 full day of volunteering that can be taken annually and can also be gifted to others Commitment to equality and diversity - i.e. gender, LGBTQ, disability Commitment to health and wellbeing through a robust programme in place

    Cons

    Longer working week than average industry peers - 37 hours (so extra 104 per year), not necessarily a factor in salary offerings Less annual days holidays than peers

    Continue reading

    Hitachi Capital (UK) Response

    April 29, 2021Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for your review, we really appreciate it! We're delighted to read your comments about our culture, especially how everyone wants to make a difference. Interesting to note your comment about working hours. Feel free to share any insights you may have on this internally so it can be taken into consideration when we benchmark these things. Thanks again for taking the time to comment. Your HR Team

  4. COVID-19

    "A great place to work which values your contribution"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Leeds, England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hitachi Capital (UK) full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Encouragement from the Leadership team to succeed - Heavily focused on Employee wellbeing - Listens to employees & gives them a voice - Visibility from all the Leadership Team - Good reward & recognition schemes - An inclusive culture - Bonus Scheme - Values are embed & instilled throughout everything they do - Overall, considering the corporate background / nature of the business they have created a friendly, down to earth, open & honest culture whereby you & your opinion is valued.

    Cons

    - I think they need to move with the times & technology is a little behind / slow - this can cause detriment when tendering & also for advisors using the systems. - Small tweaks to processes / communications & ideas need to change as they can sometimes be perceived as old fashioned & dated. For example; Homeworking. We would have never done this previously or implemented a blended homeworking structure but Covid has proved we are more than efficient when working at 100% from home. Hopefully mind shifts will change. Other than that - brilliant company, lovely people, good bonus package & employee focus / wellbeing is paramount.

    Continue reading

    Hitachi Capital (UK) Response

    March 8, 2021Talent Acquisition Specialist

    Thank you for your review, particularly providing a nice overview of our culture and some of the benefits. We appreciate the constructive feedback too. We'd encourage you to speak to one of your local Hands Up ambassadors as they can help you put forward suggestions for improvement. You can find their details on the HUB. Your HR Team

  5. "Great experience working for a corporate company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Insight Analyst in Trowbridge, England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hitachi Capital (UK) full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Hitachi are very compassionate about the wellbeing of their staff. As an employee we have many tools we can access to encourage great health and well being as well as regular check ins with senior members of staff. Alongside this they offer many employee benefits, a good annual leave allowance as well as an extra day called a 'Me day'. This shows the employer really does invest in their staff and looks after them.

    Cons

    Hitachi to offer room for progression but from reading policies on their internal database you are only able to move up a grade after a year of service.

    Hitachi Capital (UK) Response

    April 28, 2021Talent Acquisition

    Thank you so much for sharing your experience, we're so glad to see how you feel looked after and invested in as that's exactly what we want! We appreciate your comment on career progression. Whilst we're proud to say that a third of vacancies we fill internally, it is on our agenda to review our approach and policy on this. Your HR Team

  6. COVID-19

    "Great company, some frustrations"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Manager in Newbury, England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hitachi Capital (UK) for more than 8 years

    Pros

    They truly want to do the right thing Generous bonus scheme Great benefits During Covid they have adapted well Great colleagues

    Cons

    Politics are particularly bad Concerns are not heard and senior managers do what they want Lack of understanding from higher levels about what people do Over reliance on a few core people in each department, everything goes through those people and no decisions can be made without them being leaned on.

    Continue reading

    Hitachi Capital (UK) Response

    April 28, 2021Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback, we do appreciate it. It's always a pleasure to read comments about our great colleagues. We've taken note of your constructive comments too, and will be sharing them with the leadership team. We'd love an opportunity to better understand the source of your frustration, so if you feel able to please speak with your manager or if you'd prefer, reach out to your local HR team for a confidential conversation. Any suggestions you have to improve things, we'd encourage you to share them with the Hands-Up forum and don't forget there's MyVoice for giving feedback internally. Thanks again for taking the time to leave a review. Your HR Team

  7. "Great Company to have joined"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Head of Procurement in Trowbridge, England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Hitachi Capital (UK) full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I joined 3 months ago and very pleased to have done so, a great culture and a company who truly lives by it's beliefs, made to feel welcome, my expertise appreciated and listened to and great support from colleagues

    Cons

    Data access could be better

    Hitachi Capital (UK) Response

    April 28, 2021Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review, we're delighted to see how welcome and supported you've been made to feel. Data is a huge area of investment for our business, so we hope you'll find this improves over time. Thanks again for your comments! Your HR Team

  8. COVID-19

    "Proud to be part of such a supportive company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Staines, England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hitachi Capital (UK) full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    As an employer, Hitachi have been extremely supportive of staff during the past 12 months. Staff and customers have remained a primary focus and support has been consistent. Communication from the top has been open, honest and consistent and it's great to see staff pulling together to help each other during this difficult time.

    Cons

    There aren't any that impact me or my role. The only downside over the last year has obviously been the pandemic and the fact that we cannot see our colleagues, however team working has very much continued despite the majority working from home. This is down to the harmony, sincerity and pioneering spirit of the employees.

    Continue reading

    Hitachi Capital (UK) Response

    March 25, 2021Talent Acquisition Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to leave such a thoughtful review. It's terrific to see feedback about communication and support throughout the pandemic. We know that Robert, our CEO, and his leadership team are passionate about ensuring all colleagues feel safe and supported. Your HR Team

  9. "A good place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Risk Management in London, England, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hitachi Capital (UK) full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good pay / benefits and good sense of direction & feeling of importance

    Cons

    Coffee machines are not the best

    Hitachi Capital (UK) Response

    April 29, 2021Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review, we do appreciate it. It's good to see you feel there's a good sense of direction and that you feel valued. We recommend speaking to your local facilities team about the coffee machines - hopefully they'll be able to help. Your HR Team

  10. "The BEST place to work."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Continuous Improvement Analyst in Staines, England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hitachi Capital (UK) full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Valued employee. Professionally challenging environment. Open and honest culture, good company core values. Great benefits package. Option of hybrid working. Working from home up to 3 days per week. Supported by my reporting line. Trusted to get on and perform. Opportunities for personal growth and development. Work/ life balance. Regular business communications and updates.

    Cons

    There isn't any for me so far.

    Continue reading

    Hitachi Capital (UK) Response

    April 28, 2021Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for leaving a review, we're delighted to see so many positives in your experience! We're really glad to know you feel valued and trusted, as that's exactly how things should be! Your HR Team

Viewing 1 - 10 of 128 Reviews

Popular Careers with Hitachi Capital (UK) Job Seekers

Project Manager
Learn About the Job
JobsSalariesInterviews
Receptionist/Facilities Assistant
Learn About the Job
Financial Crime Investigator
Learn About the Job
Business Development Manager
Learn About the Job

Work at Hitachi Capital (UK)? Share Your Experiences

Hitachi Capital (UK) logo
or