Hitachi Capital (UK) Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Hitachi Capital (UK) Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 77 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
71%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Hitachi Capital (UK) CEO Robert Gordon
Robert Gordon
56 Ratings
Pros
  • "Consumer Finance division is an extremely fast-paced working environment, constantly looking for ways to be the best at what we do(in 9 reviews)

  • "As an employer they clearly look for excellent performance but also encourage achieving a good work / life balance(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "(in 4 reviews)

  • "Severe lack of any team culture with everyone out to get each other - An attitude fed down by senior management(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (2)

    "A company that is keen to keep improving"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Hitachi Capital (UK) full-time

    Pros

    Ability to define your own role Encourages personal and professional development Friendly workplace Work-life balance Recognises shortcomings and is trying to act upon them

    Cons

    Some growing pains as the company becomes larger Different parts of the business do not always communicate with eachother effectively

    Advice to Management

    Need for more diversity in senior positions

    Hitachi Capital (UK)2018-10-15
  2. "Great people, great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Collections Advisor in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hitachi Capital (UK) full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Amazing place to work

    Cons

    None to provide as it is a great place to work

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work

    Hitachi Capital (UK)2019-03-20
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Lack of direction and ability to make decisions from senior management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Leeds, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Hitachi Capital (UK) full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Free parking and coffee. People generally nice and supportive. HR department incredibly approachable. Quartly social events.

    Cons

    Company currently struggling through a time of change. Senior management lack direction which is both stressful and confusing for staff. This has lead to employees lacking support and being left in limbo for almost half a year. Salary and benefits are ok, but not comparable to industry average. The salary gap became shockingly evident after moving to another company in the finance sector. Behind the times with lack...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Accept that delaying decision is creating misery for staff. Accept that the business is no longer small and needs to transition into a more corporate set up before it’s too late.

    Hitachi Capital (UK)2019-03-30
  4. "Business Development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at Hitachi Capital (UK) full-time

      Pros

      Close-knit team Nice facilities

      Cons

      Lack of direction Frequent changes in direction

      Hitachi Capital (UK)2019-02-10
    • Helpful (4)

      "Great place... Until it isn't"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Product Engineer in Leeds, England
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Hitachi Capital (UK) full-time for more than 6 years

      Pros

      Hitachi seems great at first. Nice people. Nice office. It all seems nice.

      Cons

      Over time toy realise the nice is a shield. No one is being honest, and the caring is just a mask.

      Advice to Management

      Actually listen to the words you are saying, and try actually feeling the things you say you feel.

      Hitachi Capital (UK)2019-02-22
    • "Great company with great people!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Hitachi Capital (UK) full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Friendly organisation that gives great opportunities! The people are fantastic!

      Cons

      Can be overly bureaucratic, sometimes processes supersede logic.

      Advice to Management

      Keep things simple

      Hitachi Capital (UK)2019-01-08
    • "Great place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Collections Manager in Leeds, England
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Hitachi Capital (UK) part-time for more than 6 years

      Pros

      I have worked for Hitachi for nearly 7 years, I couldn't imagine working for another company. You’re not just a number, you are a valid member of the team. Senior managers are very friendly and approachable. I had breakfast with Vincent Reboul (MD) last week and he was a very nice, knew who I was which area I worked in and was very easy to talk to and his open honesty was refreshing. My Line Manager Rula Samara (Collections...

      Show More

      Cons

      can't think of any

      Hitachi Capital (UK)2018-12-05
    • Helpful (1)

      "First time back in private sector for 10 years and what a great place to start."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Trowbridge, England
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Hitachi Capital (UK) for more than a year

      Pros

      Feels like a nice place to work. They look after their staff. Benefits are nice. Management sound genuine.

      Cons

      Growing very quickly. Think some people can be left behind.

      Hitachi Capital (UK)2018-11-29
    • "A Great place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Hitachi Capital (UK) full-time

      Pros

      Great Culture Friendly Environment Approachable Management Team

      Cons

      Benefits package not quite inline with the competition

      Hitachi Capital (UK)2018-11-23
    • "Business Finance - great place to work!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Hitachi Capital (UK) full-time

      Pros

      * Encourage personal development * Committed Management population * Excellent company culture & great people * Work/life balance * SLT with integrity & passion

      Cons

      * Lack of diversity in senior positions throughout HICUK (not just Business Finance)

      Hitachi Capital (UK)2018-11-01
    Found 77 reviews