Holiday Extras "holiday extras" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Holiday Extras Employee Reviews about "holiday extras"

Updated 15 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
81%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Holiday Extras CEO Matthew Pack
Matthew Pack
113 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flexible hours, can work from home, time banking all help with childcare needs plus a great working environment and really lovely people(in 25 reviews)

  • "Holiday Extras make considerable effort to try and create a work environment that helps their employees thrive(in 25 reviews)

Cons
  • "Call centre very separate to the rest of the company(in 9 reviews)

  • "However holiday extras rely on thier middle management too much to rely important information when this doesn’t in reality happen(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "holiday extras"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Top Company Who Make a Real Effort"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SEO Lead in Hythe, Kent, South East England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Holiday Extras full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Holiday Extras make considerable effort to try and create a work environment that helps their employees thrive. They dedicate considerable resource into the welfare of their staff, trying to keep them as happy and engaged as possible with multiple initiatives focused around communication, development, reward and progression. A profit share scheme, Birthday's as holiday, company parties, flexible working hours, personal Macbooks, the ability to work from home, BBQ's and various fun little event's throughout the year, company benefits, long-service paid sabbaticals - these things all make for quite a generous package. There is an onus on encouraging employees to 'buy in' to the company and wanting to contribute as best as possible - wanting to drive success. There is plenty of give from Holiday Extras and they hope their employees want to give back. It's an approach that puts a responsibility on you. If you're the sort of person who embraces this, there is a freedom in many roles at Holiday Extras which really encourages initiative, creativity and productivity. The genuine pride in this company held by many of the senior staff is evident here. This is the quality control that runs through it and it is likewise adopted by a great many of it's employees .

    Cons

    I honestly think it would be unreasonable to post any cons here. In a company this size, it's impossible to make everything run absolutely perfectly and to keep everybody happy, but the steer from the top - the policies, the ethos and the effort in executing as much of this as possible, is spot on.

    Continue reading
    Holiday Extras2019-11-15
  2. "The best company I've ever worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Email Marketing Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Holiday Extras full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Holiday Extras really care about welfare of their staff and everyone looks out for each other. They treat you like an adult and as a result it's easy to want to work hard and give back.

    Cons

    Thinking that I can think of

    Continue reading
    Holiday Extras2019-11-15
  3. "Fantastic Benefits & Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruitment Executive 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Holiday Extras full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Holiday Extras benefits are fantastic and amongst them is our new Holiday Extras “Wanderlust Collection” which gives HX’ers paid and unpaid sabbaticals to reward long service, as well as the option to work from anywhere in the world for two weeks. I recently spent one week working remotely from the beautiful Italian city of Turin! My partner travels for work and often spends long stretches away from home, meaning we don’t get to see as much of each other as we’d like. This benefit allowed me to spend some important time with my partner as well as giving me some all important space to get creative and really push ahead with some project work. One of the side effects of my “work and travel” experience was that through booking our products I got to experience them as a customer would. I booked my travel extras using our new app and was amazed to see the updates made since my last booking; no longer having to print passes for security fast track is an organisational win! I booked an airport hotel, hire car and travelled to the airport by train…. And felt I was able to give some really useful developmental feedback whilst I was away and when I returned on the products and reported some technical gremlins that were immediately resolved! Although it was a great experience, one of the biggest challenges for me was my concern around not being in the office. As someone who thrives off interaction with others I thought working in a hotel room was going to really affect my energy levels; boy was I wrong! Holiday Extras is a fantastic place to work as a remote worker, my colleagues made sure that every meeting was remote friendly opting for shared docs to input into rather than whiteboards; it felt like I was in the office…. Just with more sunshine and a stunning view of the alps from my room. I also conducted several interviews over video conference alongside my colleagues based in the wave, which was great as it reinforced to the candidates that we really do take advantage of the benefits we offer. I was in constant contact with the team and it was great to experience all of our usual events like team stand ups and our company all hands (shout out) which are all accessible by video conference or streamed live on workplace (our intranet). During the weekend, my partner and I took a trip to the Italian Riviera (using our Holiday Extras hire car) where we rented an airbnb in a beautiful fishing village right on the beach. This was a perfect way to kick off the trip, after arriving at 9.am on Friday and doing a full days work we loaded the car and headed to the coast! When we returned on the Sunday evening it felt like we’d been on a week mini break, and I was ready to work the rest of the week from the hotel. The week flew by with lots of tasks being ticked off the to-do list at lightning speed. I felt rejuvenated by the break and energised by the new surroundings, developing creative solutions to tasks and blockers whilst taking a wander around the city during my evenings exploring the tourist spots. HX “work and travel” is a fantastic benefit and I’d encourage everyone to use it if they can, it gives HX’ers a real insight into our products and our customers. And most importantly it enables you to make the most of your time, manage your energy and boost creativity!

    Cons

    I cant think of any that aren't being addressed... Just some advice I guess that will follow below.

    Continue reading
    Holiday Extras2019-10-07

    Holiday Extras Response

    October 22, 2019Group People Director

    Thank you for your review. It was fantastic to read about your travels! Our belief is that time is precious and holidays are the most precious time we have. This is why we launched our Wanderlust benefits collection last year to help HXers live every experience to the full, whether it’s at work or in their personal lives. We’re hugely proud of these benefits and the difference they make to people. It’s great to hear how you embraced our Work and Travel benefit (especially in a beautiful country like Italy!). It’s wonderful to hear that it enabled you to spend more time with your partner and make new memories together - that’s what it’s all about! We know that travelling can help inspire and offer people new perspectives - in all sorts of ways as you experienced. We love how you used this time to step into the shoes of a customer; only by doing this can we truly understand their needs and transform the way that people travel. We’re privileged to have such a dedicated and passionate team to help make this happen. With our growing community of people working remotely and our approach to flexible working, it’s vital that we are set-up for success. We have invested in tech and communication tools as well as adopting different working practices so that people’s experiences are the same no matter where they are. It requires a different mindset and approach but we’re committed to this in order to create a new future for how we work. We are always learning, so get in touch if you’ve identified throughout your travels anything more we can do. Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback...and next time, send us a postcard! :)

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Good place to work if you like BBQs and not much else"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Travel Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Holiday Extras full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great community feel to the business people are very supportive, BBQ's, - it can be a fun place to work but HX rely heavily on the 'fun' bit to keep you in the business.

    Cons

    there is a divide between the Contact Centre and the rest of the business which is a shame as without the CC there would no HX - which leads to my next point, low salary (a good bonus scheme in place) but it always feels like they try to avoid paying bonus where possible. To progress in the business is the biggest challenge - Holiday Extras are growing and to push that further they look for talent externally when actually there is plenty of talent sitting the office bored because they aren't challenged.

    Continue reading
    Holiday Extras2019-05-22
  5. "Fun, challenging and friendly place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Agile Coach in Folkestone, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Holiday Extras full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I've worked here for three years now and have no intention of leaving. Holiday Extras is the best company I've worked for due to the great atmosphere and culture they work hard to create. It's a fun place to work with all the extras they give you (BBQs, birthdays off, constant treats and rewards) but that's a small part of why I love it here. Whilst it's fun, there's no shortage of hard work and challenging targets to meet which stretch and get the best out of you. They work hard to make sure you're on the right career path and will assist in any training or support you need to succeed. There are so many departments that you can easily try out another career path on a secondment if you're curious. They've just completed a fantastic new building and facilities including showers which shows they're dedicated to improving and supporting staff. They're incredibly family friendly. Having just come back from Maternity Leave, I was worried asking for reduced hours and more flexibility in terms of needing to work from home or leave if the kids were sick but their Anytime Anywhere policy means I can just catch up out of hours and leave immediately if necessary. I've never had a problem with any discrimination due to being a mother - if anything I'm actually given a lot more freedom to do what I need!

    Cons

    They're still working on the pay structure and clarity around that, but it's improved in the past few months. As with any company there are the usual problems with certain individuals and management styles but overall these get addressee quickly if they're really issues. As the company is growing, the culture is unfortunately getting diluted so that's something everyone needs to work hard at to keep.

    Continue reading
    Holiday Extras2018-12-28
  6. "Great, but always room for improvement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Holiday Extras full-time

    Pros

    Holiday Extras has a great attitude to accommodating staff welfare – most particularly flexible working hours when it comes to making appointments, last-minute family priorities and general life admin that doesn't warrant taking holiday. The people are generally great and the company has a good overall culture when it comes to balancing work and personal commitments.

    Cons

    For all the benefits, flexibility, training and fun activities available to staff, sometimes you just want a salary and/or job title that reflects and rewards your contribution to the business fairly, because as wonderful as summer BBQs may be, they certainly don't pay the mortgage. Pay and progression seem to be a very taboo subject despite the forward and progressive attitudes in other areas of the business.

    Continue reading
    Holiday Extras2018-10-10

    Holiday Extras Response

    October 23, 2018Deputy CEO Holiday Extras

    Thanks for taking time to leave this review. We really pride ourselves on supporting our team in balancing their working and personal lives so pleased to hear your comments about our culture. While we were sad to hear some of your other feedback, we thank you for your honesty and hope you felt that you had the opportunity to voice this while you were working with us. In response to some of your points: We’ve taken onboard the team’s feedback about pay and progression and are making active steps in these areas. Through the various engagement forums held over the past few months, we have been very happy to discuss these topics openly as part of our commitment to responding to the team’s feedback. For progression and pay, much work has been taking place across the business, including the continued review of market data against current salaries. We’ve also recently launched our new apprenticeship scheme, giving HXers further opportunities to learn different skills and progress in more technical areas of the business. Behind the scenes, we’ve been working on other projects that should provide more transparency on our approach to pay and progression - we’re excited to launch these in the next few months. Regarding your point about using external resources - it goes without saying that we completely value and trust the expertise of our team. We can’t grow and do amazing things without them. As with any business however, from time to time we need external support - often temporary to fulfil an immediate need. Where we can however, we will always look to our team first and support them in growing the skills that we need for the future. Finally, we very much agree, diversity at all levels is welcomed at HX and only recently we were proud to announce that a female director had joined our Group Board. While we have always considered ourselves an inclusive business, lots of work continues to take place to give everyone the tools and support to reach their full potential. As a result, we feel we are heading in the right direction. Thank you again for your feedback. Although you are no longer working at Holiday Extras, it’s great to hear that you would consider working for us again. Do stay in touch and we wish you all the best for the future.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Heading in a very unsettling direction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Holiday Extras full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Good learning and development. - Opportunity to work with talented people (although the really talented ones don't stay for long). - Flexible working. - An okay place to work if you want to settle down. This company is not for the ambitious.

    Cons

    - Some choices for people management are questionable. - A considerably large gender pay gap. - The board is largely made up of men. Female talent and other diversity verticals are almost none existent. - The "people team" (HR) don't do a great job of looking after their people. Conflict is solved by putting two people in a room together to "have it out" which often causes more problems than it solves. - Pay is not transparent. There are various cases of people being paid much less despite having the same job title and level of responsibility. - Various complaints have been made about one employee in a senior position who uses derogatory language in meetings, creates sexist imagery and generally has a lack of respect for people in "lower" positions. Unfortunately, these complaints do not get taken seriously. - There have been many rebrands of Holiday Extras over the years which is inconsistent and frustrating to employees. It's hard to raise brand awareness on a brand that is forever changing. - The latest rebrand is heading in an unsettling direction. They're trying to be "shocking" but unfortunately, this often comes out as offensive, vulgar and desperate.

    Continue reading
    Holiday Extras2018-09-12

    Holiday Extras Response

    September 13, 2018Deputy CEO Holiday Extras

    Thank you for your review. We are very disappointed to hear that you feel this way about working at Holiday Extras. The experience you describe does not match our intentions for our team where we foster a culture of inclusion, support and respect. In response to some of the specific points you have raised: - We are a very ambitious company, in terms of how we want to change the future of travel, to grow our business, services, products and create new opportunities for all; we aspire for each person to reach their full potential. - We are proud to say that many members of our leadership team started and built their careers here. In Quarter 1 alone, we have promoted 17 people within the business and this year, have promoted several women at a senior level. - Opportunities for progression have always been open to everyone but as part of our culture of listening to our team, we created a ‘Women at HX’ network to identify further steps we can take to support women, no matter what stage they are at in their careers. It has seen fantastic momentum and has opened up positive dialogue across all areas of the business on diversity and inclusion, with many actions being driven off the back of this. We were pleased to be finalists in the Association of Women Travel Executives awards for the Company Award. One of our managers is also a finalist in the Professional Woman of the Year category in the upcoming Customer Experience Awards. - Holiday Extras has always offered equal pay for equal work, regardless of gender. We have a pay framework which ensures this and provides transparency on how pay decisions are made. - We are hugely proud of our brand and its direction. We are equally proud of our talented team which is why we have actively encouraged them to feedback on its evolution. In no way do we see our brand as offensive or vulgar and the positive response from our customers supports this. You have raised concerning remarks about the behaviour of our team which we take very seriously. We provide management and leadership training to our managers so they are equipped to support the different needs of their team. We want to make it very clear that we do not tolerate unreasonable behaviour in any form. For this reason, we’d like the opportunity to discuss this further with you, so please do get in touch at people.team@holidayextras.com so we can understand more. We thank you for your feedback and we wish you all the best.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (6)

    "Brilliant company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Insurance Sales Agent in Folkestone, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Holiday Extras full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Holiday Extras helps you to become the best you can be, with lots of opportunities to progress within the call centre. It is a very positive company to work for with lots of fun events to involve everyone and you always feel supported and guided within your job role.

    Cons

    Full timers still work at least 1 day most weekends however we can work mobile so can work from home so this doesn't make this as bad

    Holiday Extras2017-12-05
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Sales specialist shortbreaks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Specialist in Smeeth, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Holiday Extras full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You get free use an Apple MacBook although they’re usually really old model

    Cons

    The call centre is regarded as the bottom rung of the ladder. You get timed going to the toilet and if you take more than 4 minutes on of the female team leaders literally screams at you for taking to long and to get back to work in front of your entire colleagues You get excluded from any of the bbq or fun stuff during your shift. You will rarely & in some cases never get to go to the weekly team briefings which is bizarre as you’re the only direct customer role so should know the changes to the websites before the customers?!!! However holiday extras rely on thier middle management too much to rely important information when this doesn’t in reality happen If your face fits you will be fine but for most you just get bullied work long miserable shifts and lose your self belief Don’t work there unless you’re not in a call centre role

    Continue reading
    Holiday Extras2017-12-26
  10. Helpful (17)

    "The progressive image is largely an illusion"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Hythe, Kent, South East England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Holiday Extras full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people at Holiday Extras is what makes it awesome. During my time in the engineering team I met and worked with some great people. I got to attend conferences and learnt a lot. The work life balance is pretty decent too. Flexible hours and opportunities for remote working.

    Cons

    You'll have little say in the product you build which is why the website looks like it does. Despite having some really talented UXUI designers and developers, the output is pretty is poor. This is entirely due to the top-down nature from the CEO/CPO. He will override or cull almost all ideas, for example on one occasion after the team had spend weeks working on a design he sent a keynote with an extremely crude alternative and the instruction to "do that". Sadly, the only product/design people who do well in the company are those willing to say "yes sir" and not voice an opinion, despite having more expertise. The company claims to be agile but whilst they're bending to one person whim it never truly will be. From a career development perspective your options are also extremely limited. Effectively your only options are to suck it up and deal with the low wage and lack of progression or leave.

    Continue reading
    Holiday Extras2017-09-29

    Holiday Extras Response

    October 10, 2017Associate People Director

    Thank you for your feedback. We agree that our CEO is hands-on. We're a family run business and we work with a visionary and creative CEO who is willing to roll his sleeves up and work alongside the team to generate ideas and problem-solve. The open and collaborative environment means we encourage everyone to share their thinking regardless of role. This thinking comes from a good place and means there is a different lens on a piece of work. We also actively encourage teams to understand the rationale of their stakeholders by regularly meeting face to face, asking open questions, and understanding the why behind a request. By doing this we're all on the same page and can achieve the best outcome for our Customers. We don't always get it right (we're human) and we take feedback onboard. Thank you for sharing your experience and best of luck in your new role.

    Continue reading
Found 28 reviews