Holland & Barrett Retail Employee Reviews about "25 discount"

Updated 15 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 46 of over 1K reviews

3.1
47%
Recommend to a Friend
55%
Approve of CEO
Holland & Barrett Retail CEO Tony Buffin (no image)
Tony Buffin
101 Ratings
Pros
  • "25% staff discount 50% at Christmas(in 102 reviews)

  • "25% discount (50% at Christmas)(in 93 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Lone working long hours distribution(in 89 reviews)

  • "Lone trading an issue some times(in 63 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "25 discount"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great support great staff

      31 Aug 2019 - Retail Store Manager in Leicester, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great benefits 25% discount Perkbox Great supportive business manager and regional manager Great atmosphere Great career progression Company starting to move in great direction

      Cons

      A lot of high workload last few months, late promos. Big store moves. Promises of hours and all have been taken away with the freeze,living off minimum hours at the moment.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Overworked, underpaid

      15 Sep 2019 - Deputy Manager in Middlesbrough, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      25% discount, double discount at Christmas. Staff

      Cons

      Overworked and underpaid. Too much tasking that gets in the way of doing your job giving advice and selling. Want to know why your not performing when your given unrealistic tasks and time frames. Promotions are a joke, constantly wrong, things not scanning, items removed, promotion kits sent in late. Turn over of staff is massive, surrounding stores always wanting cover. The newest one is not replacing any holiday hours or sickness so they look good financially to the detriment of staff who are now to lone work . Training has lost its way, too complicated and frightening off new starters, as the deadlines are unrealistic to complete in. Pay scales are stupid I work full time and do the same as manager but don't get paid deputy wage, I get paid the same as a part time supervisor, who doesn't have the responsibility I have. I run the store when my manager is off and get no extra. Bonuses are unobtainable as promotions are rubbish, constant out of stocks of items on offer. Unhappy customers who think it's a gimmick to get people in. Also you only get paid till 5:30 when you shut your doors, this doesn't take into account taking tills off, cashing them up, closing the system, clocking out staff and tidying hours. Half the time your leaving going on 6pm that's if you manage to get the shop actually shut on time...so that's 30mins unpaid every shift!!

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Good Atmosphere and Very Educational

      16 Jan 2019 - Sales Associate in Plymouth, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I've worked there for 8 months part time and it's the best job I've ever had. Lots of training opportunities which can increase your pay- all of the staff I've met are really lovely. I get plenty of overtime and expenses paid to travel and work in other local stores that need cover, so I've got to visit other places and meet people I wouldn't have otherwise! 25% discount which increases to 50% for a week near Christmas, on top of existing promotions. Commission if your customer engagement is high enough. Helping customers is very rewarding too.

      Cons

      It can get stressful and your product knowledge does have to be extensive.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      I loved it...90% of the time

      15 Oct 2019 - Assistant Manager in Seaham, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      No two days are the same, on the job learning and the opportunity to prove yourself to the company. 50% discount for staff at Christmas. 25% discount normally. Funky item names!

      Cons

      There’s a LOT of learning involved. Target pressure, KPIs unrealistically high. Staff higher than store level are very ‘clicky’.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Fantastic learning and development opportunities

      5 Aug 2019 - Store Manager in Newcastle upon Tyne, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      25% discount (50% at Christmas) Perkbox discount Company Invectives Bonus scheme Qualified to advise in supplements with a nationally recognised qualification Great place to learn and progress Meet some diverse and friendly regular customers Competitive pay

      Cons

      None. If you want a career in retail, equipped with fantastic knowledge that enables you to help customers improve their ailments then H&B is the place,

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Poor Culture - definately just a number

      5 Mar 2019 - Manager in Nuneaton, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The team 25% discount Onsite Gym at Head Office Opportunity to progress within the business

      Cons

      Poor Culture - definately an old school mentality, almost aggressive. Lack of systems makes the day to day job difficult and time consuming Blame Culture is alive and kicking in this business High turnover of staff both in the retail estate and within some head office departments that can have a detrimental effect on cross functional departments Very rarely do you get to leave on time... lots of people work ridiculous excessive hours

      Continue reading
      10 people found this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Not worth it

      27 Mar 2019 - Head Office in Nuneaton, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      25% discount and knowledge from training

      Cons

      management, hours, false attitude of health and well being when the staff are not looked after for their mental health from stress caused due to long hours and no management support.

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      It's a job I guess

      9 May 2015 - Senior Sales Associate in Gloucester, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      25% discount, training, as long as you're not a manager you can usually get holiday you want.

      Cons

      Although you get commission the company seems intent on taking it away from you. 1% of all sales split fairly between colleagues. However it relies on customer surveys. It's very difficult to achieve and you often find yourself asking family and friends to fill in surveys to get the commission. You could have lots of 10/10 but a slightly lower result of 7 or 8 drags the percentage right down. Often have to stay late, unpaid, to finish jobs, always understaffed and expected to cover other stores, although the travel is paid for. I've worked at 6 different stores since working for the company just over a year. Personally I work with some great people but other stores I've worked at have had some nasty cliques and area managers don't do much to help the situation. Customers seem to expect a lot more from you than in other stores. They demand products be put at discounted offers even if they're not in the promotion. If you do this you get reprimanded for losing money, if you don't you get reprimanded for not keeping the customer happy!! I do a lot of management work but only get paid the associate rate for it.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      6 years service and minimal gratitude!

      3 Aug 2014 - Supervisor At Holland and Barrett in Glasgow, Scotland, Scotland
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      25% discount(goes to 50% for a week at Christmas) Good friends met at store level Generally nice customers Plenty information about products Qualifications

      Cons

      - lone working for half the time the shop is open meaning if need to go through back for stock,a drink or actually go to the toilet you have to close which management discourage. Lone working means customers don't get the best service as you are trying to give advice,approach everyone,serve at the till,fill shelves,clean,date check and prevent shoplifters. - unpaid extra hours. To open shop need to be in min 15mins early and close leave least 30mins after shop shuts. None of which is paid. If there's a visit,audit or promo. Change that 45mins becomes countless unpaid hours with no time back or thanks - if someone particularly manager is on holiday rest are expected to work the extra hours to cover open till close and in small store with only a one person who can open and close means they work least 6 days each of which is approx 10 hour shift with only 1 hour break for lunch. Attempt to save money means there's more times of lone working as don't want to pay extra staff

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Former Employee

      I left this Health-Food Company for the sake of my health!

      9 Jan 2017 - Advanced Product Advisor (Supervisor) in Bristol, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      25% discount Commission (when earned) Free magazine

      Cons

      Used to love being at work but the last 18-24 months have been hell. Bullying from managers and area managers. Unfair and unequal treatment towards staff members regardless of how hard-working you are. Too much focus on tasks and selling loyalty cards and less on helping and advising, sometimes distraught, customers. Dealing with customers shouting and sometimes swearing because either their product wasn't on offer, has increased in price, have kept waiting due to sufficient staff numbers or having numerous questions asked at the till, causing delays and irritation. Commission dependent on these customers giving a good feedback! Too few staff, always being asked to cover other stores due to holidays, sickness or under-staffing. Some stores have people working 11 days or more with no day off or lunch hour. I loved advising people and felt I could make a difference to their lives but latterly it was just a slog with no time to build a spend with customers. Training updates to be completed every two weeks were months behind and I was asked to finish them at home in my own time! Overtime was needed to complete tasks and finish the promotion change-over which was expected but not paid. I loved advising customers and felt I'd really made a difference to their health but latterly it was task, loyalty card and hard-sell based and customers made to feel an inconvenience!

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 46 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Holland & Barrett Retail Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Holland & Barrett Retail? Share Your Experiences

    Holland & Barrett Retail logo
    or