Holland & Barrett Retail Employee Reviews about "25 discount"

Updated Oct 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 46 of over 1,035 reviews

3.1
45%
Recommend to a Friend
56%
Approve of CEO
Holland & Barrett Retail CEO Tony Buffin (no image)
Tony Buffin
108 Ratings

Reviews about "25 discount"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    A positive environment

    Dec 6, 2017 - Supervisor in Diss, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Some of the smaller stores mean the team is more tight knit, excellent opportunities for education, you really have to know your products to be able to excel at this job as people rely on you for their health. Learning about most of the products is fascinating. Bonus packages for completing qualifications. The 25% discount is among the most generous out there (50% for a week around Christmas time) and that's on top of the offers. Commission is also offered once you pass your basic induction.

    Cons

    There is a lot of learning involved, perhaps more than there should be for some of the lower hours contracts, which can be as low as 9 hours per week. The smaller stores sometimes do have neglected staff back areas, but this is to be expected with space at a premium. Our store is also fairly dark and customers often remark that they couldn't tell if we were open or not.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Don't work for this company!

    Jan 2, 2016 - Advanced Product Advisor (Supervisor) in London, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    My team- and possibly the 25% discount, though it should be more considering the amount of work we do- and we shouldn't just get 5 days at Christmas for 50% discount- or actually before Christmas- we should get it for longer.

    Cons

    The senior management is a shambles- no communication, no understanding of what needs to be done. No-one listens to concerns, and everyone is treated like crap. There is no respect for the amount of work we do- we're the ones who bring the money to the company so treat us better by paying us better and actually understanding we're people and need a break once in a while. Also please for the love of god get rid of the Penny sale- customers still don't get the concept no matter how many times we explain- maybe get someone to change the POS for promotion changes- they don't stand out, customers don't see what's on offer and of course we get blamed for how crap it looks.

    Continue reading
    12 people found this review helpful
  3. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Some of the best years of my life

    Sep 11, 2017 - Sales Associate in Stoke-on-Trent, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Excellent products on which we get 25% discount, 50% at Christmas. We get good training on the things we sell so we can talk confidently about them to customers. Guaranteed contracted hours with plenty of opportunity for extra hours. With the agreement of your line manager and area manager you are able to take unpaid personal time off for things such as family illness. I needed to do this and felt supported throughout. A happy place to work.

    Cons

    Much of the learning has to be done in your own time. Sometimes the expectations are too high, we cannot achieve targets set for us when we are lone working. Not enough time is given for us to complete promotion changes.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Great part time position, friendly team up north!

    Apr 24, 2018 - Advanced Product Advisor in Huddersfield, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great team, pleasant customers, work is enjoyable, good training. Surprised by the bad reviews but everybody I have met through H&b over four years have been nothing but kind to me. I worked in the West Yorkshire region. My particular manager was really fair with holidays and as I only worked Saturdays alongside study she allowed me to have some periods of travel 4 week and 6 week. I worked in two smaller stores. 25% discount and 50% off at Xmas on top of deals/sales meant bargains!

    Cons

    Training is quite lengthy so if you are not wanting this kind of job then look elsewhere. I imagine the position is more stressful as a manager. In some stores you may have to work alone for periods eg while manager cashes up (I did not mind this)

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Depends

    Nov 20, 2017 - Part-time Sales Advisor in Luton, East of England, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    25% discount Good staff Friendly manager

    Cons

    I’ve been working as a part timer for an year now.... tbh before joining the company I read few comments and they were so bad I got scared but I still decided to accept the challenge.... to tell you the truth this is one of the best place I ve ever worked in and I am not saying the people who are complaining are wrong but it depend on which area you work in. I am in the luton store. We have the best manager and friendly staff.. it can be hectic and pressured but nothings easy....I have learnt a lot From the people I’ve working with.... the sad part for me will be leaving this job one day because I have different goals in life.....

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 10 years

    Hard work but can have rewards

    Jan 9, 2017 - Store Manager in Glasgow, Scotland, Scotland
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    25% discount and 50% at Christmas along with promotion discount. Great training though you need to put the effort in but then why wouldn't you. Yes its tough at times like any other retail business but I would bet all the talk of asm bullies are from stores not hitting kpi's consistently if your not happy why do you stay. Yes some people have left if you can't stand the heat get out of the kitchen

    Cons

    Loan working for some store can be challenging as can some promotion changes with the amount of changes made to the promotion lack of time off at Christmas but then it is retail

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  7. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    The good, the bad and the ugly!

    Jul 26, 2018 - Supervisor in Nuneaton, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    25% Discount on a range of products and services in store and online Company tends to promote from within Fast career progression if you are willing to take on the extra responsibility Overall great company with a lot of potential, if the right management approach and systems are put into practice!

    Cons

    Lack of structure and delivery in regards to the training programs and career growth opportunities. Retail team overworked, especially managers. This is due to constant lone train, even in high risk areas. Supervisors as well as Sales associates are practically forced to take on extra responsibilities and tasks which are not within their job description. This leads to a rise in toxic culture and tension between management and general staff. Gross misconduct is overlooked at times, as favouritism takes play in a lot of these cases.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Great company for Great people

    Oct 23, 2016 - Store Manager in London, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Holland And Barrett is a place for people who cares about others. The company cares for your development and give you great training both on products knowledge as well as managing the store. You have 25% discount on all products for Christmas you get 50%. On Halloween you get money for your lunch and for Christmas every employee gets £28 for the work Christmas dinner.

    Cons

    The downside is loan trading hours as well as shops are often short staffed. It's not easy to find cover if someone calls sick or goes on holiday .

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  9. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Holland and Barrett Review

    Aug 11, 2018 - Sales Associate in London, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Level 2 qualification after passing a test - Commission - Acquire knowledge about different vitamins and minerals and help customers with their ailments - Opportunity to progress onto a management role - 25% discount for all staff, 50% during the Christmas period

    Cons

    - Only receive commission if you receive good surveys and you need to get 75% and over in customer engagement just to get full commission and 65% to get half commission which isn't always possible. If you don't hit the target you get no commission and you have to greet, approach and recommend an item to every customer just to get a good survey in order to get commission. - Company is always short staffed - Very strenuous work - Managers put pressure on you to sign up customer to the Holland and Barrett Loyalty card system.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  10. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    So far enjoyable and rewarding

    Feb 26, 2017 - Store Manager in Haverhill, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    25% discount, even on multi buys and other offers. 1st rate training, yes it's hard work to learn it all but if you like learning then it's brilliant. Good area team of managers, although seemingly somewhat distant from each other (apart from a select few who are apparent 'besties'). Lone trading can be a pain but I actually enjoy the peace sometimes... I've only been with the company a few months so far so don't really have an opinion of higher management but it seems that things are changing in the company and hopefully for the better. When I took this job my former boss warned me that H & B were awful to work for... glad to say that he can stick his opinion and that I have enjoyed my time so far, which is more than I can say for my former job! I have a great area manager who is lovely, store team is a bit dodgy in places but nothing I can't sort with a bit of training. Being equipped with the knowledge that I've learnt means I can chat to and advise customers and be proud of what I know. In this role I can get plenty of work satisfaction which is a plus for me! My advice to anyone reading this wondering what H & B are like, if you have the stomach for intense learning and constant testing of your knowledge then give it a go. If you want an easy life walk away...

    Cons

    Lone working can make specific tasking difficult but if you have the sense to build a working routine it's manageable. Customer satisfaction survey is a bit unfair, I don't think that customers really understand some of the questions, especially about the approach. The fact that you could serve and give 100% service to hundreds of people but a few customers say they didn't want to be approached and all of a sudden you've lost your commission for the month.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
Viewing 11 - 20 of 46 Reviews

Popular Careers with Holland & Barrett Retail Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Holland & Barrett Retail? Share Your Experiences

Holland & Barrett Retail logo
or