Holland Employee Reviews about "yrc"

Updated Oct 14, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 13 of over 279 reviews

3.3
58%
Recommend to a Friend
33%
Approve of CEO
Holland President Scott D. Ware (no image)
Scott D. Ware
105 Ratings
Pros
  • "city delivery experience 100% company paid health insurance good pay(in 21 reviews)

  • "Really good benefits and decent pay(in 16 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Long hours and lack of communication for company(in 17 reviews)

  • "yrc under new owners since 2007 or so(in 13 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "yrc"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Good

      Oct 14, 2020 - Line Haul Driver 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      good benefits Union benefits pension

      Cons

      yrc under new owners since 2007 or so

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Value your employees

      Jan 1, 2020 - Recruiter 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They are trying to improve and promote internal growth when available.

      Cons

      Few growth opportunities, lack of communication with YRC and Holland.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Pretty decent company until YRC came into the picture

      Sep 24, 2019 - Operations Supervisor in Dayton, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Solid, experienced, level headed management at most levels. Decent or better than average pay & similar benefits. Professional atmosphere working with adults that know their jobs. ALL of this was true in 2005 when I started.

      Cons

      Atmosphere went downhill long before I left, very bitter & negative. Everyone knew they'd been lied to & felt shorted due to substantial "givebacks" to YRC: 15% of our pay and Teamsters took a massive hit on pensions.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Holland used to be a great company but YRC is running it into the ground.

      Jul 23, 2019 - Driver/Dock Worker in Joliet, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great insurance, okay pay, unknown future.

      Cons

      Major decline, YRC has destroyed a great company. They are doing their best to destroy the Teamster Union.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Holland Response

      Account Manager

      Thank you for taking the time to provide Holland with a review. We always appreciate hearing from our employees (both current and former). We are certainly happy to receive such high praise of our benefits package, especially our company-paid healthcare. That said, please know that we are committed to providing our employees with a positive work environment and culture. We do, of course, appreciate your concern and feedback. If there is anything else you would like to discuss, please feel free to contact us at 616.395.5115. Thanks again for reaching out and for your contributions to the Holland team.

    5. 2.0
      Current Employee

      driver

      Dec 31, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      just a job, disillusioned for now.

      Cons

      Lower pay than other 1st class Trucking companies, Employees Free insurance is cancelled if you happen to miss a couple days. Recruiters tell you 30 days for bennies then it takes almost 4 months. Currently company deducts 15% of your pay you will never get back while the CEO of YRC got an 8.5 million$ Bonus. Upper echelon getting Bonuses while you do the actual work. Retirement now is only 1/4 of what it used to be........... Google it!

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Current Employee

      Horrible

      Oct 3, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good health insurance-- You should be able to retire by 70

      Cons

      Upper management is horrible. They hate the rank and file employees. If you get hurt on the job, they think you are faking. You spend the biggest part of your live there (10 to 16 Hours a day) but if you're 1 minute late they give you a letter. They took 15% of our pay and 75% of our retirement back in 09. Gas, groceries, utilities ect. have all gone up, but they refuse to give us a pay raise. The CEO of YRC went from 2.5 Million a year to 10.6 Million once we gave up 15% pay and 75% retirement. We make the fat cats fatter, all we get in return is total disrespect. They treat us like crap . We have a saying at Holland, everyone is LOL. This stands for Leaving Or Looking. They will keep the doors open as long as the top is making millions and the rank and file suffer in pay and retirement.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Holland Response

      Account Manager

      Thank you for taking the time to submit this review. We take employee feedback very seriously. We are happy to hear that you enjoy the company-paid health insurance Holland employees receive. Our employee benefits package is a point of pride for us. Due to the anonymity of your post, I can’t address many of your concerns with much specificity; however, if you would like to contact me at 616.395.5115, I would like to hear more about your experience at Holland over the last 10 years. I would also like to see what we could do to make your experience with Holland a more positive one. Thanks again for providing your feedback and for being a part of the Holland team.

    7. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Make Holland Great Again!

      Jan 4, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Assigned equipment Teamsters Union contract for pay and benefits diverse assignments great equipment good management all around five stars!

      Cons

      Owned by a parasite Corporation "YRC". Was that too strong? Well if it weren't for the good people wotking at Holland the corp would've devoured all Holland's assets.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Holland Response

      PR Manager

      Thank you for submitting the five-star review and for your feedback. Our core values are extremely important to us, and we do our best to incorporate them into everything we do. I agree with you about all the good people working here. The people, our excellence in customer service and the relationships we build with our customers sets us apart from other LTL carriers across the country. Thanks again for the review. We do value all the feedback we receive and use it to make improvements. And, of course, thank you for your service at Holland!

    8. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Destroyed by YRC

      Nov 18, 2016 - Account Executive 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Used to be a good company

      Cons

      Financially unstable parent company, YRC, who is $1 billion in debt, union drivers and dock workers with a contract coming up in 2019. Excessive damages and transit times are now no better than competitors. No time for family

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Holland Response

      PR Manager

      I apologize for my late response, but I want to thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I am sorry your experience as an Account Executive did not match what we stand for. While I cannot speak for YRC, I do know that Holland records one of the lowest claim ratios, provides 99.8% damage-free delivery and have been awarded the Quest for Quality Award every year since its inception. Also, our transit times are consistently improving, especially since our recent partnership with Honeywell, who provided us with the Pickup and Delivery Solution to further improve the accuracy of our shipments. I'm very sorry things did not work out for you here, but I do wish you the best in your future endeavors. I appreciate you giving us feedback to help Holland grow. We are dedicated to making this the best place to work and we take each review very seriously.

    9. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Operations Supervisor

      Jan 31, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in Grand Rapids, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Cant really think of too many. Holland use to have a lot going for them as a company, but that changed in early 2000's.

      Cons

      Absolutely unprofessional Executive Team that would never be executives in a respected, well run company that wasn't fighting for survival. The company is making some money but being bled for YRC (Yellow-Roadway).

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      driver

      Dec 28, 2015 - Tractor Trailer Driver in Bradley, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      steady work with plenty of overtime

      Cons

      since yrc acquiring company,future uncertain everyone is jumping ship!

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 13 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Holland Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Holland? Share Your Experiences

    Holland logo
    or