Home Depot Canada Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Home Depot Canada Reviews

Updated 7 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
69%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Home Depot Canada CEO Bill Lennie
Bill Lennie
329 Ratings
Pros
  • "dental/health benefits for part time workers(in 70 reviews)

  • "Great company good benefits fair management(in 51 reviews)

Cons
  • "Needs more opportunities for full time entry level positions(in 50 reviews)

  • "Forget about it if you are trying to get two part-time jobs to pay your bill(in 50 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cashier 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Home Depot Canada part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible with schedules. Has a great company culture. Great to work part-time, and during school

    Cons

    Sometimes they do not hire in time, so you end up with extended shifts or more hours especially as a part time; while this can be a good thing it is not as manageable as a student

    Home Depot Canada2019-11-08
  2. "Excellent growth and development opportunities and great company values."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Human Resources Manager in Winnipeg, MB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Home Depot Canada full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Growth and development opportunities Tuition reimbursement program Free health and dental benefits Values Flexible scheduling Rewards and recognition Empowerment

    Cons

    Shift work Dusty, noisy warehouse environment. Must be prepared to work in this type of environment

    Home Depot Canada2019-10-31
  3. "Department supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Langley, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Home Depot Canada full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good hours, benefits, management, employee program, stock

    Cons

    Work hard and you get rewarded

    Continue reading
    Home Depot Canada2019-10-26
  4. "Overworked, Understaffed, No pay for machine training"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Overnight Freight Supervisor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Home Depot Canada full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There are some great people here, a decent benefits package,

    Cons

    Bureaucracy, employees are underpaid, older more expensive employees are focused on and forced out, tighter and narrower budget hours result in fewer and fewer employees to work and yet get the same results as a fully staffed team. There is no compensation for machine training but you are expected to go for machine certification. Poor communication and low morale due to being overworked, and being chronically understaffed result in workplace injuries. The company at face seems to have strong values. However, the only value on their Circle that seems to matter most is "Share Holder value". Doing the "Right Thing" is secondary to profit margins.

    Home Depot Canada2019-11-05
  5. "Friendly staff and management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Kitchen Designer in Thunder Bay, ON
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Home Depot Canada full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly staff and management

    Cons

    Hard to find work/life balance

    Home Depot Canada2019-10-21
  6. "good place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Home Depot Cashier 

    I worked at Home Depot Canada part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    very good team and hours

    Cons

    the schedule and time off is bad

    Home Depot Canada2019-10-19
  7. "Good Student Work Balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Seasonal Sales Associate 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Home Depot Canada part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fairly flexible for Students that need to work. The managers I had was very understanding and always understood where Associates were coming from. Friendly atmosphere.

    Cons

    Tends to be extremely stressful on weekends due to the amount of customers and the minimal amount of staff during these rush hours. No employee discounts or commissions on big sales.

    Home Depot Canada2019-10-30
  8. "teamwork"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Freight Team Associate 

    I worked at Home Depot Canada full-time

    Pros

    benefits for FT and PT workers

    Cons

    intermittent cutting of work hours

    Home Depot Canada2019-10-15
  9. "Positive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Richmond Hill, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Home Depot Canada part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I enjoy my job at Home depot a lot. The associates are very friendly and we work well together.

    Cons

    Sometimes things might get a bit hectic and it is hard to keep everything working cohesively, but eventually we pull through.

    Home Depot Canada2019-10-13
  10. "Not the best not the worst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Home Depot Canada full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great atmosphere, friendly people, decent community involvment and good focus on fun in the workplace. AMAZING health benefits, especially fulltime

    Cons

    Overworked, underpaid. High turnover. Managers get away with way too much and aren't forced to actually work. Customers are rude and managers often didn't have staffs back.

    Continue reading
    Home Depot Canada2019-10-27
Found 838 reviews