Home Instead Senior Care Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Home Instead Senior Care Reviews

Updated Oct 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Home Instead Senior Care CEO Jeff Huber (no image)
Jeff Huber
321 Ratings
Pros
  • "I love making a difference in the lives of our CAREGivers(in 103 reviews)

  • "Flexible hours with opportunity to show compassion for senior clients while taking some stress off of family members(in 84 reviews)

Cons
  • "The office staff need to get tougher on some of the lazier caregivers out there(in 145 reviews)

  • "low pay; inconsistent hours; irregular clients(in 114 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Home Instead Senior Care part-time

    Pros

    Lovely company, great opportunity to make a positive difference to people’s lives

    Cons

    Can be emotionally tough working with vulnerable people

    Home Instead Senior Care2019-10-15
  2. "Rewarding Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Caregiver in Ormskirk, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Home Instead Senior Care full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The clients are lovely, I have learnt so many new skills which has given me more knowledge and confidence. Office staff are supportive.

    Cons

    The office staff need to get tougher on some of the lazier caregivers out there. They let the side down.

    Advice to Management

    You are doing a good job, thank you. I know sickness throws scheduled up the wall but better logistics at times would be brilliant.

    Home Instead Senior Care2019-10-11
  3. "Vile"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Caregiver in Ormskirk, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Home Instead Senior Care part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent work colleagues and amazing clients

    Cons

    Office staff are completely vile!!!

    Home Instead Senior Care2019-10-08
  4. "Awful company - worst employment experience of my life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Support in Warrington, North West England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Home Instead Senior Care full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    None, maybe 5pm when it was time to go home.

    Cons

    No training from day 1, spoken to like an idiot, no support from team leader, service they provide to their external customers is awful, treated like a piece of dirt on the floor, team leader has stand up arguments with staff in his team.

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of your current IT team at head office and replace them with people who actually know what they are doing.

    Home Instead Senior Care2019-10-08

    Home Instead Senior Care Response

    October 10, 2019Web Support

    We're sorry to hear your employment with this Home Instead franchise office was not as positive as we would like. If you would like to provide more information about your experience with this office, please feel free to contact Toni Schmitt, our Brand Advocate and Ombudsman, at 888-330-8210.

  5. "didn't get milage rates"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Healthcare Assistant in Warwick, West Midlands, England

    I worked at Home Instead Senior Care part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    meeting people in there own environment, and every day was different.

    Cons

    the downsides were that I was using my diesel, even though they say they pay for mileage, I was always loosing out, they don't pay for mileage after 10 miles from your home. always out of pocket, wasn't worth working the hours for penies

    Home Instead Senior Care2019-07-25
  6. "Avoid this company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Home Instead Senior Care full-time

    Pros

    Good carers, nice customers

    Cons

    Really bad management, no training, no communication, no support

    Home Instead Senior Care2019-08-19
  7. "Absolutely love my role as a carer. But also need so sun"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mobile Carer in Oldham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Home Instead Senior Care part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent staff all round and an understanding that we are all hum.

    Cons

    Split calls, time between each call not long enough to get to each call in 15 minutes.

    Advice to Management

    More time to travel between calls

    Home Instead Senior Care2019-07-12
  8. Helpful (1)

    "The Nantwich Office is Insolvent as of 1st August 2019 and has been closed!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Carer in Crewe, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Home Instead Senior Care part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some very nice Clients and Carers.

    Cons

    Badly run office with unprofessional and unqualified staff! The office is no longer in Nantwich and has been moved to Warrington. Clients haven’t been informed of the situation and I would be worried if I had relatives using their services.

    Advice to Management

    Start from scratch with better qualified professional office staff.

    Home Instead Senior Care2019-08-07
  9. "Joined Home Instead 7 years ago and it was the best decision I've made. Fantastic organisation with great values."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Hagley, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Home Instead Senior Care full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Making a difference to people's lives.

    Cons

    Some people don't give care work the recognition it deserves.

    Home Instead Senior Care2019-07-02

    Home Instead Senior Care Response

    July 5, 2019Web Support

    Thank you for your review of this franchise office. We enjoy hearing from our colleagues around the world. We agree that those who do care work deserve the utmost respect and recognition for all the good they do for those in their care.

  10. "Branson would not approve"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Carer in East Dereham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Home Instead Senior Care part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    some great clients to work for

    Cons

    unpredictable working hours with no concern for client wellbeing and staff consistency

    Advice to Management

    watch the fine print stop over expanding care about your work force

    Home Instead Senior Care2019-08-04
Found 1407 reviews