Home Instead Senior Care "low pay" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Home Instead Senior Care Employee Reviews about "low pay"

Updated 30 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
65%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Home Instead Senior Care CEO Jeff Huber (no image)
Jeff Huber
346 Ratings
Pros
  • "I love making a difference in the lives of our CAREGivers(in 107 reviews)

  • "Flexible hours with opportunity to show compassion for senior clients while taking some stress off of family members(in 89 reviews)

Cons
  • "The office staff need to get tougher on some of the lazier caregivers out there(in 153 reviews)

  • "The low pay and high cost of companies insurance(in 119 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "low pay"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Service great for clients but hard to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Care Giver in Ormskirk, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Home Instead Senior Care full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Can be flexible. Rewarding job. Lovely co-workers and office staff. Good training. Opportunity to develop.

    Cons

    Very demanding of your time and energy. Low pay considering the level of responsibility you have. Travel time not paid. Zero hour contract, not a reliable income. Strangely staggered hours through the day. Often from 7am to 7pm. Some people had very little work where as I had way too much. Last minute schedules sent for calls the next day. Holidays seem to be rarely approved. Getting phone calls on most days off asking to work - getting the guilt trip if you said no. Sad to have to say all these negatives as I do love the company and its morals overall.

    Continue reading
    Home Instead Senior Care2018-02-09
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Awful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Caregiver in Frodsham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Home Instead Senior Care part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some of the clients are lovely

    Cons

    Hard wok and low pay, dont believe them when they say it is £8-£9, its more like £5-£6 once you take into account all the driving around which is not paid for. and all the cancellations, I once spent nearly 2 hours sat in my car on my own on a dark winter night because 2 clients cancelled. Training was insufficient and unpaid and in the medication training we were given contradictory advice.Some of the team were great but some of the management were not. Timetables were haphazard and kept changing. some weeks you get no work at all and some weeks they want you to work days youve already said you can't work.

    Continue reading
    Home Instead Senior Care2017-12-16
  3. "Enjoyed working with my clients."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Personal Caregiver in Bowling Green, KY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Home Instead Senior Care full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You develop a relationships with your clients.

    Cons

    The low pay and high cost of companies insurance.

    Continue reading
    Home Instead Senior Care2020-01-30
  4. "Not enough to live on"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Caregiver in Grayslake, IL

    I have been working at Home Instead Senior Care part-time

    Pros

    Great clients. Great office personnel

    Cons

    Very low pay. Fulltime work does not pay enough to live on. No real time to work a second job. No benefits

    Continue reading
    Home Instead Senior Care2020-01-25
  5. "Flexible work environment, poor office management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Corporate Manager, Construction in Auburn, AL
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Home Instead Senior Care part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very easy to build your own schedule based on your other jobs or schooling

    Cons

    Office management always had drama It seemed personal when you can't take last minute shifts Hours are not consistent Low pay for difficult work

    Home Instead Senior Care2020-01-09
  6. "Excellent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Caregiver in Dayton, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Home Instead Senior Care full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Taking care of people Pleasant staf

    Cons

    Low pay and no insurance

    Home Instead Senior Care2019-11-25
  7. "good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Service Coordinator 

    I have been working at Home Instead Senior Care full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Family environment . Client centered

    Cons

    management expectations. Long hours low pay

    Home Instead Senior Care2019-11-21
  8. "caregiver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Myrtle Beach, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Home Instead Senior Care part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Helping seniors so they are able to stay at home

    Cons

    pay is low, office downplays or doesn't always provide caregivers with information regarding new client

    Continue reading
    Home Instead Senior Care2019-10-29

    Home Instead Senior Care Response

    October 29, 2019Web Support

    We're sorry to hear your employment with this Home Instead franchise office was not as positive as we would like. If you would like to provide more information about your experience with this office, please feel free to contact Toni Schmitt, our Brand Advocate and Ombudsman, at 888-330-8210.

    Continue reading
  9. "Seek another Home Health Agency for Employment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Home Health Caregiver in Forest Hills, Allegheny, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Home Instead Senior Care part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Skilled fellow team members on my assigned / shared cases (at times) ONLY pro.

    Cons

    I was not given my promised sign on bonus after 90 day review period ---HR said it was not going to be given to me due to my not completing a Alzheimer's training required before my review. On both days it was scheduled I was assigned to my client-asked for alternative day with client or day off to attend was told needed to cover my shift by my assigned care coordinator so I did so. When I asked for an on line or alternative method to complete prior to my review I never received response from office nor from my assigned Care Coordinator after multiple inquires.. When I was reviewed at 90 days was penalized and denied my sign on bonus (only reason with 22 years of CNA/Geriatric in home health care experience I took the position on a part-time basis along with my other home health agency at the time. )Throughout the 3 months plus I was treated only professionally by my assigned client and family. An acceptance of a employee at time of hire to a low pay rate per hr. does not equal management having the right not to treat said employee as a professional caregiver who is representing their company and doing hands on care to elderly clients in a caring, skilled and professional manner.

    Continue reading
    Home Instead Senior Care2019-10-14

    Home Instead Senior Care Response

    October 21, 2019Web Support

    We're sorry to hear your employment with this Home Instead franchise office was not as positive as we would like. If you would like to provide more information about your experience with this office, please feel free to contact Toni Schmitt, our Brand Advocate and Ombudsman, at 888-330-8210.

    Continue reading
  10. "Independent Care"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Freelancer - Caregiver in Boerne, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Home Instead Senior Care for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours, rewarding job; ability to choose clients; perfect for college students

    Cons

    low pay; inconsistent hours; irregular clients

    Continue reading
    Home Instead Senior Care2019-09-06

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 119 reviews