Home Office Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Home Office Reviews

Updated 19 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
69%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Home Office Permanent Secretary Mark Sedwill
Mark Sedwill
69 Ratings
  1. "Jobs with purpose"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Deputy Director 

    I worked at Home Office full-time

    Pros

    Great people, intelligent and passionate.

    Cons

    Hard to always maintain long term focus on outcomes.

    Home Office2019-09-24
  2. "Flexible employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Officer in Saint Albans, England
    Recommends
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Home Office part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Very accommodating around my childcare requirements

    Cons

    As they are such a large department, sometimes the one size fits all system doesn't always work if your unit has specific requirement

    Home Office2019-09-23
  3. "Home Office Assistant Economist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Assistant Economist 

    I have been working at Home Office full-time

    Pros

    Friendly staff, good work/life balance

    Cons

    Public sector work results in a lower salary

    Home Office2019-10-03
  4. "Lovely place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Programmer Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Home Office full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very flexible working and able to adapt to your needs Good progression around HO Able to provide professional education

    Cons

    Progression is stunted in some directorates

    Home Office2019-09-12
  5. "Interesting work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Policy Advisor 

    I have been working at Home Office full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Really interesting work, surrounded by ambition and intelligence, career opportunities

    Cons

    Needs to be closer to a station

    Home Office2019-09-12
  6. "Good working environment and flexible working policy (passport office)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Durham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Home Office part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    friendly teams flexible working policy pays well for part time work.

    Cons

    working policy constantly changing, sometimes feels management don't have a clue. Stressful during busy season.

    Home Office2019-09-04
  7. "No potential to hit top of salary band"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Immigration Officer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Home Office full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexi time, Pension, Holidays, Sick Pay, Job security

    Cons

    Enter on bottom of salary band and due to pay freeze no chance of ever hitting top of band. Poor IT, poor management

    Home Office2019-09-10
  8. "Pros and cons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Entry Clearance Officer 

    I have been working at Home Office full-time

    Pros

    Flexible, understanding when you have a family, opportunity to progress

    Cons

    Very poorly managed. Seems like the most illogical decisions are made just for the powers that be within the departments to show they’re in charge. Lots of changes to different with very little training. Extremely stats driven, very little regard for quality.

    Continue reading
    Home Office2019-09-03
  9. "Comfortable job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mechanical Engineer in Saint Albans, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Home Office full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexi Time, Access to all government departments, good starting salary

    Cons

    Culture, bonuses, work can get repetitive

    Home Office2019-09-01
  10. Helpful (2)

    "challenging and interesting"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - User Researcher 

    I have been working at Home Office full-time

    Pros

    - fabulous colleagues - lot's of training and learning opportunities

    Cons

    normal cons with civil service: slow progression etc.

    Home Office2019-08-14

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 192 reviews