HomeAdvisor Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

HomeAdvisor Reviews

Updated 21 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 662 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
51%
Recommend to a Friend
59%
Approve of CEO
HomeAdvisor CEO Brandon Ridenour
Brandon Ridenour
67 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "we're talking <50K a year working a call center, this might be the place for you(in 24 reviews)

  • "I let you know when I experienced a "Con" to working at Home Advisor(in 18 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "A little rough but has potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Online Sells Representative in Lenexa, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HomeAdvisor full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fun working environment. Lots of commission potential.

    Cons

    Calling people that don’t want to talk to you.

    HomeAdvisor2019-06-19
  2. "Love this place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Makreting Advisor in Golden, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HomeAdvisor full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Uncapped Commission -Fun Atmosphere -The People are Great -Room to grow within the company -Contests -Leadership

    Cons

    -Stressful -Easy to get burnt out, the job is great but also a grind

    HomeAdvisor2019-06-19
  3. "Great place to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations in Golden, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at HomeAdvisor full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Culture, caring atmosphere and autonomy.

    Cons

    With the velocity of growth we have experienced recently, our internal communication strategy could use some upgrading so that all parties are kept in the loop as effectively and efficiently as possible.

    Advice to Management

    Keep working hard for your people.

    HomeAdvisor2019-06-13
  4. "It is what they say it is"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Golden, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at HomeAdvisor full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Really great culture, supportive management, continued sales education, positive environment, generally good co-workers, good for young professional building a sales career, they are upfront about what the job actually is.

    Cons

    Unrealistic expectations for performance. You're cold calling all day long. Required to meet some metrics that you are compensated for (that meeting them can hurt the metrics you are compensated for).

    Advice to Management

    Some of the top performers are doing unethical things to obtain their numbers, look into that. Have a quality assessment department that actually means something (nothing happens if you fail or score low on QA). Don't allow pouching of closed or previous accounts.

    HomeAdvisor2019-06-13
  5. Helpful (1)

    "The good, bad and ugly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Consultant in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at HomeAdvisor full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Really fun atmosphere, you meet a lot of people and music/refreshments keep you awake

    Cons

    Very intense sales, a lot of cold calling, a lot of plans for people that don’t meet their quota

    Advice to Management

    Do not let contractors pay for leads they dont close

    HomeAdvisor2019-06-06
  6. "Churn and Burn by the BUS Full"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at HomeAdvisor full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Really cool people work there

    Cons

    You will be asked to spend 4 Hours a day cold calling Angry Roofers/Plumbers and illegal immigrants to sell very expensive leads in a sketchy manor. Not 1 person you EVER call, will be glad you are calling, in fact they will be irate. So bad that we literally stopped identifying as Home Advisor until the middle of the pitch. If the moon and the stars align, and your 80hr work week allow u to hit bonus....you have to wait...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop acting like we are legit and just be honest with what we are doing.

    HomeAdvisor2019-06-21
  7. "Great Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at HomeAdvisor full-time

      Pros

      Great incentives and high energy atmosphere

      Cons

      high turnover for sales employees

      HomeAdvisor2019-06-05
    • Helpful (2)

      "Happy in general but unsure of long term viability"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Inside Sales Representative in Golden, CO
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at HomeAdvisor full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Fun culture, direct managers care for their sales reps in my experience.

      Cons

      Base pay is hard to understand based on cost of living in the area. We will only attract to talent if top talent can pay rent!

      Advice to Management

      Take care of those who are bought in or you give them little incentive to continue the grind. Asking for more at less pay would be something most people are unwilling to do for long.

      HomeAdvisor2019-05-30
    • "Fast-paced, not for faint of heart"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Media Sales Associate in New York, NY
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at HomeAdvisor full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      good environment nice incentives and people

      Cons

      cut throat nature of sales- people are nasty when being cold-called

      HomeAdvisor2019-06-18
    • Helpful (2)

      "telemarketing"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Sales Executive 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at HomeAdvisor full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      young, fun, free food, and energetic people

      Cons

      The job is essentially telemarketing, as you are forced to push a poor product on blue collar workers over the phone. leave your ethics at the door

      HomeAdvisor2019-06-10
    Found 662 reviews