HomeServe UK Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

HomeServe UK Reviews

Updated 12 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
84%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
HomeServe UK CEO Greg Reed
Greg Reed
174 Ratings
Pros
  • "HomeServe is a great place to work - the culture really is very people focused(in 72 reviews)

  • "Access to senior management is very good(in 51 reviews)

Cons
  • "No Cons at present, love working here(in 31 reviews)

  • "Based on the outskirts of Walsall(in 28 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Fast paced, friendly, thrilling!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Walsall, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HomeServe UK full-time

    Pros

    Everyone is helpful. The vision of where it's going next is bang on and simple. They genuinely engage and care about its people. Expect high standards so you really do get out what you put in (and I love that)! Rewarding job and supportive manager.

    Cons

    None that I can think of right now. But anyone who doesn't want to engage or put in the hard work - then this is simply not for you (and - quite rightly - that's not the HomeServe way!)

    Advice to Management

    Be the enablers for change, engagement and communications. Overall very engaged with huge portfolios but alignment could be a little better.

    HomeServe UK2019-09-06
  2. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Agent 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at HomeServe UK part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    A great company to work for

    Cons

    No real disadvantage of working here

    HomeServe UK2020-01-12
  3. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Resource Planning Analyst in Preston, North West England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at HomeServe UK full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    People shift benefit job happy environment

    Cons

    No real issues with anything

    HomeServe UK2020-01-10
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Really honest review - Preston Claims Would be 5 stars if advice taken."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Claims Adviser in Preston, North West England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HomeServe UK for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The company are really great to work for and the teams have a real family sense. I have worked for Homeserve for 6 years and have seen it move and change and for the last 2 years I think we have finally cracked it with a great culture. What’s great; The senior managers - They work really hard to keep everyone motivated , and work really well together with all 3 of them giving a different dynamic contributing to the centre success. One of them in particular is really approachable, - there for everyone having issues both in and out of work and is always running about focused on engagement, charity and fun which everyone really appreciates. The Family Feel - The Agents and Senior team work like a family are really here for each other - I know these people have my back and it really matters. Coaches - fantastic team, led by a fantastic leader. Engagement - not perfect but we can all see the effort and the genuine care.

    Show More

    Cons

    Here is where it goes wrong! Shifts - I am really lucky that I have the older shift pattern, but a lot of people feel that the shifts are understood when they come in, but the reality is that they fluctuate massively and it’s too much to get a good work life balance. I think anyone coming in new, needs to have little commitment outside of work to make it sustainable. Transport - this has become a HUGE issue in the last 6 months. The bus service is terrible, I’m local and live within 5 miles of the centre but on the bus it can take over 2 hours each way to travel. Many people are leaving now due to this, as there are jobs, no where near as good as this job, based in the city and the docks, with better shifts and sometimes money but absolutely with better transport. I know of at least 10 people right now with an offer of a temporary post that they are going too because if shifts and transport. Frustration - I really believe that every agent, most team managers and all of the Senior Managers care about our customers deeply. However we have moved away from the much loved and now deeply entrenched Customer and People promises, in fact in Preston we have only 1 place on the wall where they exist - that was put up very recently. POC while allows us to pass to a dedicated place to see through we know this doesn’t really happen. The water back office teams promise upon promise to call customers back leaving them to call us, and we make further promises we know will be broken - this really hurts us in Claims when we are so deeply passionate about our customers. We have become so lean, that we are genuinely being prevented and strangled from doing our roles. KPI’s - there are just too many. There are 19 company / Claims KPIs and that’s without any personal objectives. This many KPIs means that we are far more likely to not achieve them, which is why there are so many PiPs in place, which isn’t really delivered in a way that is consistent across the company and on some teams and people can go hime feeling on edge and worried. Team Managers - This has massively improved over the last 2 years with some lovely people but terrible managers no longer in the business. There are still some of these left, all Appointed under a previous senior team, but are one of the main drivers for people being sick or leaving. We replaced a poor senior team with some brilliant ladies who the centre think the world of, but left the really poor managers in place. The other issue is that these not so great managers are not available for their people. It really feels like everyone of them spend the entire time taking manager escalations, complaining very loudly about having to speak to our customers, or backstabbing each other in full view of their teams. Thank goodness we have back a seconded Coach/Team manager who doesn’t do these things and really helps us. Resource Planning - they seem to make all decisions and Team Managers are defunct if making a decision. Unfortunately they are not fair or consistent and it’s the senior that has to make a sensible decision, who are already so busy.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Rethink the shifts - they are killing the teams Maybe look at a shuttle bus for grouped shifts - would stop people leaving g Empower us - give us back some freedoms to do the right think without dread of a PIP if we spend time in ACW trying to avoid the 5th 6th 7th call from ever taking place. Reduce the KPI’s and make them SMART -ie Achievable and Realistic (and while many can, it’s at the expense of the customer) Seriously change probably all of you Team Manager they are the biggest issue in Preston, we need people dedicated to their teams who lead from the front. My. OM Vicky is brilliant, but she can’t do everything, just like Karen and Angela can’t across the 100’s Of staff, and a 24/7 period. If we had better mangers they could take managerial decisions away from a unfair admin team of the resource planners. They really do upset people. Best advise is to listen to reviews like these and show us your most valuable asset that you empathise and will take action. Live and breath the people and customer values. And then trust that we will always do the best by you and by our customers. Review written with truth and integrity.

    Show More
    HomeServe UK2019-12-19
  5. "Very customer centric"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Safety Manager in Walsall, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HomeServe UK full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Real push to deliver effortless service to customers Determination to always improve Flat organisation with ready access to all leaders

    Cons

    Systems can be a little clunky but lots of investment being made

    Advice to Management

    Keep focused on delivering effortless service to customers

    HomeServe UK2019-12-06
  6. "Feel part of a family"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Quality Checker in Walsall, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HomeServe UK full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Networking - There are a lot of great people here who genuinely have time for you and your progression. I have never had an issue booking time in with Senior Managers, Heads of Departments and even the CEO, who is more than happy to put time in for those that want it. Development - Offer apprenticeship/leadership programs Exciting - Still after 20 years, we are still coming up with new ideas to take the business forward Quarterly Catch ups with seniors - can see how the business is getting on Charity work - I am proud we do so much for so many different charities Free Car Park

    Show More

    Cons

    Canteen/food prices have gone too high recently The Walsall building (Ryder) needs a full refurbish. Being on the phone is very stressful and queues can get out of control sometimes

    Advice to Management

    (Operations) - Although a lot has been done to create a better work life balance, coming from a role on the phones, I still do not think its as good as it could be. Trust you staff more and don't let the minority ruin it for the majority. Try to treat us as individuals and rather a number Make management more consistent - I feel your career depends a lot on your relationship with your line manager

    HomeServe UK2019-12-19
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Was great but becoming very negative FAST!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Gas Engineer in Guildford, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at HomeServe UK full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    No one is forcing you to stay!

    Cons

    Spent a fortune on a new POOR system that does not optimise but engineers did not even get a pay rise despite workloads and work areas increasing!!, No trust, Very poor work life balance, Them and us culture, Poor pay structure, Poor senior management. No progression prospects.

    Advice to Management

    If its not broke, don't fix it. If you going to have engineers doing the same job with a £4000-£5000pa difference in wage in the same area you will always have discontent!! This is not fair and never will be.

    HomeServe UK2019-12-14
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Depends on which bit you work in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations in Nottingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at HomeServe UK full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Depending on your role there can be a lot of flexibility. Salary is reasonable for the roles and locations Good folks in some areas really trying to make it work

    Cons

    Double standards everywhere, managers are not held to the same accountability as agents, Huge face fits culture with people “promoted” into roles not advertised Massive issues with understaffing and a push to cut costs. This will lead to unhappy customers and a sense of wonderment as to how that happened. Change handled really badly, the new system in operations is a glaring example of this.

    Advice to Management

    I don’t think I have any, people who rate the company badly are told that senior management don’t know what they’re talking about, maybe open your eyes, people aren’t giving similar poor reviews around the business without there being some element of truth to it. And maybe don’t send out a request to add updates when there’s been a slew of poor reviews, it perpetuates the myth that you want to hide them!

    HomeServe UK2019-12-08
  9. "Still a great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at HomeServe UK full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great hard working people always looking to make a difference

    Cons

    Limited funding now for Learning & Development

    Advice to Management

    Keep on course!

    HomeServe UK2019-12-04
  10. "A vibrant and addictive place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director of Reward and Benefits in Walsall, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HomeServe UK full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Amazing culture driven from the Executive Team, massive focus on Customer and People Ability as a senior leader to drive the agenda and get involved in all aspects of business

    Cons

    Not all managers are conveying our Culture, we must be relentless in ensuring we continue to be a great place to work

    Advice to Management

    Keep the focus on People and Customers! Cascade the vision through all levels of management to ensure a consistent message!

    HomeServe UK2019-11-19
Found 762 reviews