HomeServe UK "great place" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

HomeServe UK Employee Reviews about "great place"

Updated 18 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
83%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
HomeServe UK CEO Greg Reed
Greg Reed
179 Ratings
Pros
  • "HomeServe is a great place to work - the culture really is very people focused(in 72 reviews)

  • "Access to senior management is very good(in 51 reviews)

Cons
  • "No Cons at present, love working here(in 31 reviews)

  • "Based on the outskirts of Walsall(in 28 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "great place"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "A vibrant and addictive place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director of Reward and Benefits in Walsall, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HomeServe UK full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Amazing culture driven from the Executive Team, massive focus on Customer and People Ability as a senior leader to drive the agenda and get involved in all aspects of business

    Cons

    Not all managers are conveying our Culture, we must be relentless in ensuring we continue to be a great place to work

    Continue reading
    HomeServe UK2019-11-19
  2. "Be careful of homeserve if you are a gas engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Gas Repair Engineer in Northampton, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at HomeServe UK full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Mmmmm good uniform and they supply tools.. That is it.

    Cons

    The vans are dirty and covered in damage You will get no support from HR Limited to only refueling at supermarkets Sent out on patch no gas safe number no card. Van stock incomplete at start Not a great place to work if your an engineer Tool kit incomplete at start Can't say on here what I want to say. Its not the best company to work for.

    Continue reading
    HomeServe UK2020-01-18

    HomeServe UK Response

    January 27, 2020

    Hi there. There's no way I 'd consider sending anyone out on any work with anything less than the full equipment and full documentation. I'm going to treat this as a whistleblow and make sure that this is the case and though it looks from your review that you are no longer working at HomeServe I would like the opportunity to discuss this with you so please do get in touch. Your point on vans is interesting though, we spend a huge amount on making sure people have the right vehicles and we're buying high end vehicles packed with safety and comfort features, such as Autonomous Emergency Braking. Really seeing benefits in this as our accident rates and driver safety measures are massively improved. Martin

    Continue reading
  3. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head of Estates in Walsall, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HomeServe UK full-time

    Pros

    Fantastic place to work, fantastic opportunities for training and progression. I think the majority our people want to be here and are fully supportive of what we stand for.

    Cons

    I think some people are here just for the ride and money. But generally great people great place to work!

    Continue reading
    HomeServe UK2019-10-22
  4. "A great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Quality Assurance Analyst in Walsall, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HomeServe UK full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The people make it such a great place to work, In my department especially it's like a a big family. Homeserve has some great benefits such as discounts across thousands of companies and also the buy & Sell holiday entitlement which allows you to have a good life work balance.

    Cons

    Sometimes the Communication across the business isn't as good as it could be.

    Continue reading
    HomeServe UK2019-10-22
  5. "Homeserve property repairs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Nottingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at HomeServe UK full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great place to work, very committed team.

    Cons

    Poor leadership, the company went under due to poor decision making and putting too many eggs in one basket of contracts.

    Continue reading
    HomeServe UK2019-10-29
  6. "It's a family not a job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HomeServe UK full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Real sense of community and worth. We work as one to get things done and if something doesn't feel quite right we are empowered to make a change. We are listened to and supported and have a clear understanding of the vision of the company. I have worked here for over 12 years and have never been happier. It's not just a job, it's a family.

    Cons

    Nothing from me, it's a great place to work

    Continue reading
    HomeServe UK2019-09-30

    HomeServe UK Response

    October 11, 2019UK CEO

    Thanks so much for leaving a review!

    Continue reading
  7. "Great Customer service and great working culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Finance in Walsall, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at HomeServe UK full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The working culture of Homeserve is like a family. The people are great. Homeserve care about the customers. Customer satisfaction is more important than profit. Finally we have a great CFO who really cares about his team no matter what level you are working at. He makes the effort to talk to you when you are walking past and treats us all equally. Have never felt this comfortable around such a senior person before. My direct manager is also great and has supported me in my career progression. Overall Homeserve is a great place to work. I have been recognised for the work I do by winning many awards.

    Cons

    Resource Planning - To many redundancies Senior managers make decisions not realising how it will affect staff who have worked extremely hard.

    Continue reading
    HomeServe UK2019-09-27

    HomeServe UK Response

    October 2, 2019UK CFO

    Thanks for your review! I hope that together we can continue to build on our "family culture". I understand your perspective on the "cons" you mention. I can assure you that we do think very carefully about any changes we make and to try to get things right.. but that doesn't mean that we always do. On your advice to management - we invested a significant effort over the last 12 months to increase the consistency in our pay and compensation and this included benchmarking of every role against the external market and making adjustments where pay "wasn't fair". If you have any personal concerns then please grab me for a chat.

    Continue reading
  8. "Homeserve"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Walsall, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HomeServe UK part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I have been an employee with Homeserve for over 10 years and having come back after a little break from the business I can see lots of improvements in the overall culture of the company and the drive of its employees. Homeserve has a totally customer centric approach in everything that it does and prides itself on making the journey as effortless as possible for its customers. I feel we have great leadership and support from our CEO who always has a positive and passionate approach towards the company and i do believe he has really helped to change the face of Homeserve to what it is today. I feel we are lucky to be in organisation which has a inspirational leader who is always happy to give us his support and time. Homeserve is a really great place to work and offers a very family friendly environment . We all are a big family who have sincere passion and dedication towards the company and wanting it to succeed. The company offers alot of rewards and benefits and alongside handwork there is always room for career progression. I have also used the service myself and had a great experience and feel proud to work for a company that provides such excellent service to its customers and support to its employees. ## proud to work for Homeserve ##

    Cons

    Not really a downsight but to get the best out of this company you need to be engaged and give your 100% in order to achieve personal success as well as success for the company.

    HomeServe UK2019-10-02

    HomeServe UK Response

    October 11, 2019UK CEO

    Thanks for leaving your review and we're glad to have you back on board! You're right, our Customers absolutely come first and that runs through everything we do. We believe really strongly that everyone is responsible for their own success and have put lots of things in place like our Career Hub and Career Path Framework to help our People reach their full potential so hopefully you are taking advantage of everything that is available!

    Continue reading
  9. "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Walsall, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HomeServe UK full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    This company genuinely cares about our People and Customers from the top all the way down to the front line. Every organisation has commercial targets and external pressures and sometimes balances have to be made but more often than not HomeServe does their best and better to focus on their People and Customers. Initiatives like CustomerFirst, 1-2-1s with senior leaders, mentoring schemes, Mental Health Awareness, Engagement and things we take for granted such as free parking make this a great place to work.

    Cons

    The Canteen menu could do with a refresh

    Continue reading
    HomeServe UK2019-08-28
  10. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Walsall, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HomeServe UK full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Homeserve is a great place to work its very flexible around work and family life and the shift pattern works perfect so i can lead a balanced life. The people make the company so everyone who works here is really friendly and its like a big family where everyone is looking out for each other to ensure we are all here for the business from the front line staff to the very top

    Cons

    Homeserve is a good place to work however there are always some ways to improve so we can continue to make the work place effortless to ensure we can always improve as we strive to be the best we can to get to our business goals

    Continue reading
    HomeServe UK2019-08-08

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 81 reviews