HomeServe USA Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

HomeServe USA Reviews

Updated 14 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
71%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
HomeServe USA CEO Thomas J. Rusin
Thomas J. Rusin
116 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "There is a minimal lack of communication from upper management down to the rest of the floor(in 12 reviews)

  • "It is often too cold in the Call Center(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "I'm in my first year at HomeServe and loving it."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Norwalk, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HomeServe USA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The culture is fun and you can tell that they really care about people. I've worked at places where they just say it but this is real. The company is growing so there is lots of opportunity if you're driven.

    Cons

    The company is growing fast so things can feel a little hectic because so much is changing.

    HomeServe USA2020-02-14
  2. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Talent Acquisition Manager in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HomeServe USA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great culture! This company does a lot to give back to the employees. Lots of fun activities, along with summer hours and early dismissals. Its busy but its fun. Fast growing company. Great people at the Canonsburg PA office.

    Cons

    Small yearly increases. Could be more promotion opportunities.

    Continue reading
    HomeServe USA2020-01-17
  3. "Solid company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at HomeServe USA full-time

    Pros

    Overall good company culture and people. Fairly entrepreneurial atmosphere where you can take on various initiatives if you want.

    Cons

    Management can be hypocritical at times and very political. Not many people want to make decisions as it can be very “cover your a$$”.

    HomeServe USA2019-12-25

    HomeServe USA Response

    January 2, 2020Director, People Communications & Engagement

    We're incredibly proud of the people working at HomeServe and the culture they've helped us build. And we're glad you're among them. As a growing company we all have to be reasonably nimble, so people with the entrepreneurial spirits you mentioned are a solid fit. We encourage all of our employees to speak up when they experience issues they perceive to be political or out of character in our workplace. You can speak confidentially with your manager, any member of your local Voice of the Employee Committee or HR as a starting point. Clear, open communication is a hallmark at HomeServe, and we're committed to ensuring we continue fostering that notion.

    Continue reading
  4. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Insurance Agent in Chattanooga, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at HomeServe USA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great pay. Good people. Beautiful work site

    Cons

    No flexibility for hours in our department

    Continue reading
    HomeServe USA2019-12-20

    HomeServe USA Response

    January 3, 2020Director, People Communications & Engagement

    Hi! Thanks for your kind words about HomeServe, the people who work here and our Chattanooga workplace. While it looks like you're no longer with the company, we certainly appreciate your contributions during your time with us. As a growing company, we're looking to increase our staff numbers in many areas of the business. This includes our Operations Center in Chattanooga, where positions are available for both Call Center Agent and non-Agent roles.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Work Hard, Get Overlooked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inbound Customer Service Representative in Chattanooga, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at HomeServe USA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The employees make coming to work enjoyable. The agents are like family. They love, encourage, and motivate each other. The comradery displayed amongst the agents is like no other. The layout of the building is comforting and accommodates the long hours we spend there. As you enter the building each day you will feel proud.

    Cons

    This company promotes being culturally diverse but it’s only at entry level. They railroad minorities, making it difficult to promote beyond an hourly position. You can work really hard and get overlooked. They do not recognize hard work only those of their favorites or people of their social circles. Speaking your opinion, no matter how professional you do it, will lead to retaliation. They will make you think there is an open door policy but once you vocalize something not agreed upon by senior leadership, you can forget any promotions regardless of how qualified and deserving you are.

    Continue reading
    HomeServe USA2019-11-01
  6. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at HomeServe USA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    They Treat Their employees Well

    Cons

    One of the best companies I have worked for

    Continue reading
    HomeServe USA2019-10-08
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Fair stepping stone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Complaints in Chattanooga, TN

    I have been working at HomeServe USA full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Fair benefits for individual plan. Multiple shift options. Ability to transfer to different departments to gain additional skill sets. Internal promotions focused. Monthly* bonus potential for some departments

    Cons

    Pay is not competitive. More problems than solutions. Most departments are understaffed with “no budget” to add resources needed. CEO confirmed he is unaware of seating limitations in call center... unsure how. If you’re interested in working for HomeServe I encourage you to read the BBB complaints as those are the frequent calls you’ll be handling. Some examples- why is the mailer in my toddlers name? Why is the mailer in someone’s name from 8 years ago? If I’ve already enrolled, why are you sending me this again? How have you lost my check? Billing issue billing issue. Customers who pay via their utility provider never get enrolled or if they do, never get cancelled. We increase most prices each year. Almost every call is regarding a letter that we’ve mailed them apologizing for some error we’ve made. I’ve never worked for a company that allows so many issues to just... happen. With no prevention plan. We have customers who cannot enroll, who are double billed, who are cancelled in our system but still being billed on their utility and we’re required to offer additional products. HomeServe has become a revolving door for employment “we cannot keep employees” per leadership. This can be good for people who need a job short term. Due to the magnitude of issues, lesser pay and overall difficulties we face, not much of a career desire.

    Continue reading
    HomeServe USA2019-10-17

    HomeServe USA Response

    October 18, 2019Director, People Communications & Engagement

    Thanks for taking the time to leave us your review. From your pros, cons and advice to our leadership, you've clearly given this a bit of thought. We're the first to admit that growth is never easy. From acquiring companies to bringing on new customers, we're in a significant period of growth. And honestly, that excites us - A LOT! And with that growth is coming quite a bit of internal change. Evolving existing technologies, introducing new systems and processes, changing people and positions - it all comes with the territory. Some people aren't comfortable with that, but most are. The pros you mention are just some of the things we're proud of. From offering a competitive benefits plan to growing people internally to keeping everyone informed and engaged, we're continuing to build a workplace that has something for everyone. We hope you appreciate those as much as your colleagues here do. And all of the other things you didn't mention. You highlighted a number of areas where we're falling short in your eyes. Some are fair, some aren't. We've never been the type of company to ignore problems, pass blame or be opaque in the way we address and communicate them. We don't get things right 100% of the time, but we keep trying. We remain committed to fixing what is broken and making improvements where we can, when we can - for our customers and everyone working at HomeServe. Thanks again for your feedback. As always, all of our leaders in Chattanooga and beyond promote an open door policy, so you can stop by to share any concerns, comments and suggestions about the company. You’re encouraged to use that and the many other avenues we offer for feedback.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (9)

    "Do not work here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Former Employee in Chattanooga, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at HomeServe USA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The medical and dental benefits aren't horrible. Leaving at the end of your shift

    Cons

    Supervisors/Managers come in late, leave early, take no less than 7 smoke breaks, make statements of "I got promoted so I don't have to be here at 8". Zero leadership, only Bosses that claim to work the midnight oil, but consistently "work from home" every Friday because their boss is out of office. Don't bother letting upper management know of concerns within the business because your direct manager will enforce a "gag order" and if you do say anything during an all hands meeting, be prepared for retaliation from your direct whip cracker. Speaking of which, don't be surprised when new processes come out that are not thought through and don't work. That's the HomeServe way. Also, don't expect communication about those processes. Managers and directors don't have time to make sure 1) anything works properly 2) people are properly trained. If you are brought into a focus group and you speak out about your dissatisfaction, be prepared to be branded a trouble maker. They do not appreciate or want people with brains. They want drones to do what they say with no questions asked. The pay sucks. You start at 12 then get an increase after 90 days to a whopping 12.50. Go to Unum where they start you at 15 with no weekends or holidays. Go anywhere but HomeServe.

    Continue reading
    HomeServe USA2019-09-22
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Billing Analyst in Chattanooga, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HomeServe USA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It's hard to find a company that works to recognize the effort of its employees and listens to them. Homeserve does just that. I have been with Homeserve for almost two years and not only does the company offer great benefits, but also recognizes my effort to improve myself and perform well. Additionally, the company emphasizes a survey that employees voluntarily take to voice their opinions and truly works to implement improvements and make it a better work atmosphere. I enjoy working at Homeserve.

    Cons

    It is often too cold in the Call Center.

    HomeServe USA2019-08-08

    HomeServe USA Response

    August 13, 2019Director, People Communications & Engagement

    Thanks for leaving us your thoughtful review! At HomeServe, the voices of our employees are very important to us, and we see surveys as opportunities to hear from everyone. The results allow us to amplify our strengths and dig in where we see chances to learn and grow together. Thanks for being part of what makes HomeServe great!

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - QA Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HomeServe USA full-time

    Pros

    HomeServe has been nothing but good to me since I started working with the company. HS offers great benefits, very competitive pay and a unique/engaging work environment. The company truly cares about the employees on a business and personal level. HS also does a great job of providing the employees with a voice to express their questions, concerns and compliments unlike other companies that I have worked for.

    Cons

    I have not experienced anything negative in my time at HomeServe.

    HomeServe USA2019-06-12

    HomeServe USA Response

    June 14, 2019Director, People Communications & Engagement

    Thanks for the kind words! We couldn't do what we do without people like you on our team.

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 182 reviews