Hot Topic Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Hot Topic Reviews

Updated 17 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
54%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
Hot Topic CEO Steve Vranes
Steve Vranes
130 Ratings
Pros
  • "Pretty lax dress code, Great atmosphere, Understanding management, very nice employee discount(in 127 reviews)

  • "You also get a great employee discount to spend on things you love(in 83 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Okay job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Practitioner in Poole, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Hot Topic full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The children The staff Family feel nursery

    Cons

    Awful pay No benefits made to work bank holidays with no extra pay Don’t get paid enough for how much expected to do

    Advice to Management

    Focus on staff

    Hot Topic2019-06-08
  2. "A steady, comfortable retailer (Store Manager)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Albuquerque, NM
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hot Topic full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Have had some supportive DMs who really look to promote within -Solid benefits including sick time and vacation -40% discount -Mostly realistic expectations, but if they were not met I never feared for my job. They really took environmental factors into consideration.

    Cons

    -Realistically looking at the job load, the SM position should be salaries and higher pay. Expecting the work load to be done in 40 hours and no option for overtime with no other full time managers is unrealistic. -Nowhere near competitive pay...which causes horrible turnover with support managers. Most stores do not have any full time employees aside from the SM. -Barely any support regarding external LP... -Barebones payroll which meant you were alone for most of the day (which also ties in to the LP issues)

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Every store needs at least one extra full timer regardless of volume and at least enough payroll to not be alone the whole day.

    Hot Topic2019-11-18
  3. "Life in HT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Key Holder 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hot Topic part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Discount is the biggest pro! Coworkers are pretty much always lovely and turn into family.

    Cons

    Hours, good for a part time job but that’s pretty much it.

    Hot Topic2019-11-08
  4. "A teen fest!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate in Mississauga, ON

    I worked at Hot Topic part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pretty Chill Manager is not so bad

    Cons

    If you're older than 18 and you're still a sales associate at Hot Topic, this is NOT THE PLACE to work

    Hot Topic2019-11-11
  5. "Management is awful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Seasonal Sales Associate in Newport News, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hot Topic part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lots of fun Comfortable enviroment Nice co-workers

    Cons

    Unclear Instruction You will literally lose your job if your manager happens to come in one day in a bad mood Unsafe working conditions Unstable management HORRIBLE pay Confusing rules and regulations

    Advice to Management

    Get it together. Try to work with other people better.

    Hot Topic2019-11-11
  6. "Great introduction to retrain."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Springfield, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hot Topic full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Cheap and great medical benefits that still cover domestic partnerships. Awesome atmosphere. Customers, I’ve read a lot of stories about others experiences, I was with the company for 8 years, I definitely had my fair share of “out there” experiences, but generally speaking, they’re great. Great discount.

    Cons

    Embarrassingly low pay for the amount of expectation put on staff. Very out of touch upper management.

    Advice to Management

    Spend more time in stores. It’s easy to sit at home or on a phone and look at “results,” but I assure you no number or KPIs show the amount of work actually being put in stores. You can’t treat all stores that are underperforming as if it’s because of the staff. Sit down with your staff and make yourself known. When you have people and managers BEGGING for opportunity, do something.

    Hot Topic2019-11-09
  7. "Seasonal associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Montebello, CA

    I have been working at Hot Topic part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Everyone really cool and nice!

    Cons

    Honestly I don’t have anything bad to say

    Advice to Management

    Nothing y’all are great

    Hot Topic2019-10-26
  8. Helpful (1)

    "difficult but good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hot Topic

    Pros

    laid back good discount nice co workers

    Cons

    my crippling social anxiety fast pace

    Hot Topic2019-11-04
  9. "Great experience, more than enough work to go around"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Los Angeles, CA

    I have been working at Hot Topic full-time

    Pros

    Opportunity for growth, Nice people, Perks

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Hot Topic2019-10-21
  10. "Major Push for Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Watertown, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hot Topic part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Making monthly plan and comp get you a bonus.

    Cons

    Major push for credit card applications and sales. While minimum wage went up sales associates and key holders got raises; However ASMs and SMs did not. It got to a point where as an ASM I was making $0.10 above my subordinates. Became to be not worth it and the company was not willing to change it. Asking for time off or having any emergencies and needing time off is like pulling the teeth from you DM.

    Hot Topic2019-11-04
Found 1009 reviews