Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Editor Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Editor Reviews

Updated 4 Sep 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 21 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
16%
Recommend to a Friend
Houghton Mifflin Harcourt CEO John “Jack” J. Lynch, Jr.
John “Jack” J. Lynch, Jr.
0 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Lots of potential, unmet"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Editor in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Houghton Mifflin Harcourt full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I had the ability to work on great books and with great authors, and my immediate manager was wonderful.

    Cons

    Company didn't seem to care about employee growth or retaining employees. There was little to no room to move up, and employees got stuck for years without promotions. Salaries were low compared to other houses.

    Houghton Mifflin Harcourt2018-09-04
  2. "A valuable long-term career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Editor in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Houghton Mifflin Harcourt full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    It's important work--designing instructional materials for students all over the US. It is also an academic environment and you have the opportunity to work with many creative and very bright colleagues.

    Cons

    Dealing with corporate constraints, especially budget. Large companies simply don't have the kind of money they once had so finding financial rewards can be tough, especially for folks new to the business.

    Advice to Management

    Salary increases would go a long way to improving employee engagement and work satisfaction.

    Houghton Mifflin Harcourt2014-03-27
  3. "Good Start To My Career, But..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Editor in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Houghton Mifflin Harcourt full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I started at Harcourt before they merged with Houghton Mifflin. I'd just graduated with a B.A. in English worked my way from assistant to assistant editor to associate editor. Harcourt was a great place to start my professional career, to learn how to properly edit textbooks (or any book, for that matter), as well as the ins-and-outs of project management.

    Cons

    In the slow times, there is literally nothing to do. For some, this might be great, getting paid to do nothing. For me, however, it was torture and pushed me to begin looking for another job. The merger with Houghton Mifflin wasn't bad, at all, but the slowing of the textbook industry that led to the merger was. We went through a couple rounds of layoffs prior to and after the merger, which made it very disheartening...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    As with many companies, the lack of focus on career development hurts the long-term prospects of both the company and employee retention. The ones that do stay around either learn the hurdles and jobs themselves or they stay at a level that doesn't challenge them, leaving them bitter, perhaps, or, at the least, daydreaming of the clock hitting five.

    Houghton Mifflin Harcourt2013-08-01
  4. Helpful (7)

    "Terrible place to work. Upper management hates books. Lower management exploits workers."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Editor in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Houghton Mifflin Harcourt full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Editors, designers, interns, and other people who do real work (rather than the out of touch managers) were fun colleagues. Casual work clothes. I took all my personal days in addition to vacation days (HMH is so awful that I feel I deserved it.)

    Cons

    Management browbeats employees. Rampant favoritism. Unreasonable schedule. Really poor project management, so that projects are overdue even before they are assigned. They waste money on events for themselves and don't pay workers industry standard. Pitiful raises. Time-consuming performance review application full of buzzwords.

    Advice to Management

    Houghton's product quality is really suffering. Stop buying Canadian software firms and work with what you have. A third bankruptcy looks right around the corner with the poor product Houghton puts out.

    Houghton Mifflin Harcourt2013-06-27
  5. "Bittersweet sentiments and compliment."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Editor in Evanston, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Houghton Mifflin Harcourt full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Promoted 3 times within 5 years of my 11. My team was the best, making my experience at HM much better. Before merging with Hartcourt, the company dynamic was not the best, but the people were awesome, I loved my job, and felt a sense of "worth". The work I did, no matter how big or small, was an educational contribution to our nation's school districts.

    Cons

    After HM acquired Harcourt, things changed dramatically. Issues that matter, such as quality improvement for employees and our work, was overlooked and downplayed for the sake of making a profit. This is just my opinion, it doesn't reflect what others think and I'm hopeful HMH's culture and value has gotten better.

    Houghton Mifflin Harcourt2012-10-23
  6. Helpful (10)

    "I was so glad to be laid off!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Editor in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

    Pros

    Casual dress code. Very talented editors and designers left over from the time when Houghton was actually a publishing company. Ten personal days in addition to at least two weeks vacation each year and ten paid holidays.

    Cons

    Editorial and production schedules are too tight and force workers to work unpaid overtime without so much as a thank you. The measly raises do not even cover the rise in the cost of living. My department suffered from constant hemorrhaging of talent for these reasons. The corporation has two time tracking systems, let's call them MeTime and PASS. If one happens to eat lunch, first one uses MeTime to enter one's lunch...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Did you here the story of the farmer who almost trained his donkey to work with no food? Every day he fed it less and less, and just when he thought he had finally trained the donkey to work with no food at all, it up and died on him! The company has been jerry-rigged as a machine for transferring federal education dollars to investors' coffers. It will not survive in this capacity as federal budgets tighten and should...

    Show More
    Houghton Mifflin Harcourt2011-12-05
  7. "At least I have a job..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Editor in Orlando, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

    Pros

    Love the people. Love the opportunity to be creative. Like that we still have health care option (though they aren't very good).

    Cons

    Wish our HR would do more... something... anything. Hate getting weekly announcements of new senior VPs (I think it's a one-to-one ratio between core staff and VPs now). The bottom line is all that is important, not a quality product. Don't always feel like I'm thought of as an adult or a working professional. Most of us work overtime or on tasks that are not part of our official jobs.

    Advice to Management

    Resign and allow individuals with publishing experience to take over.

    Houghton Mifflin Harcourt2011-08-17
  8. Helpful (7)

    "HMH ruined my life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Editor in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

    Pros

    Since they have been laying off all my lovely coworkers, there are few. Casual dress code? But since the salaries are so low, they could hardly require workers to dress well.

    Cons

    Schedules are set by project managers who have never done the job of those they manage, and don't even understand the job, so they cannot comprehend why everyone is so rushed and is so overworked. To get the schedules done, one has to work weekends and evenings and the management never acknowledges this. Very poor vertical and lateral communication. Everyone has their little fiefdom that they guard jealously. Insane...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Management should realise that morale is low because employees are overworked and underpaid and the schedules forced on them are unreasonable. High employee turnover, problems with press runs, excessive and expensive changes to copy and covers at late dates are ultimately the result of poor management, not worker carelessness.

    Houghton Mifflin Harcourt2011-06-14
  9. Helpful (2)

    "What a waste of talent and established product lines"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervising Editor in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

    Pros

    Ability to work remotely on occasion (despite division policy against it) Evanston and Boston locations are easily accessed via public transportation (easy commute) relaxed office environment, no enforced dress code great colleagues (personable, skilled, knowledgeable, etc.)

    Cons

    Austin location is on city outskirts (difficult commute) Senior leadership does not manage or communicate down very well There is no clear vision or direction for K-12 division low pay, no raises corporate environment, heavy use of buzzwords bureaucratic

    Houghton Mifflin Harcourt2011-01-17
  10. "Poor organization, good work/life balance, no job security"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Editor in Orlando, FL
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

    Pros

    Generally nice co-workers, and management does allow for flexible hours when there are family matters to attend to. Making educational books is rewarding, and the school publishing culture is strong.

    Cons

    Very poor organization. It's practically impossible to get correct and current information between departments no matter what the deadline on the project is, and the deadlines are generally absurd. No job security at all - layoffs were serious and constant, and they laid off the most knowledgeable and professional people to rehire those with less experience at lower pay (I wasn't one of them - I left to pursue another...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Place more value on experience and streamline the information pipeline. Hire more people to do the job and limit meeting so that people actually have time to do the jobs during deadline crunches.

    Houghton Mifflin Harcourt2011-01-05
Found 21 reviews