Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Reviews

Updated 21 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 798 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
57%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Houghton Mifflin Harcourt CEO John “Jack” J. Lynch, Jr.
John “Jack” J. Lynch, Jr.
115 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Great Company if you like change"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Houghton Mifflin Harcourt full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    They have a lot of great products and are well liked by the market.

    Cons

    There are managers who play favorites and overlook behavior that is blatantly against policy for high producers.

    Advice to Management

    Be consistent with HR issues

    Houghton Mifflin Harcourt2019-03-19
  2. Helpful (5)

    "People are undervalued and underpaid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Manager in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Houghton Mifflin Harcourt full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    work from home flexibility

    Cons

    constant change in management

    Houghton Mifflin Harcourt2019-03-28
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place, Great Team, Great Mission!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Houghton Mifflin Harcourt full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    We have very strong leadership in place and they are doing a fantastic job at implementing the changes we need to drive us into the future. There are improvements being made across the organization that is enabling individual contributors and executives, improving talent management and professional development, and encouraging cross-function collaboration. There is excellent work/life balance, a great feeling of employee...

    Show More

    Cons

    Honestly, I can't think of a single con. My experience here has been nothing short of fantastic, with a great team that has been a pleasure to work with.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing. We may experience some growing pains as we push through 2019 and 2020, but you have all the support you need. I look forward to growing with the company and doing my part to improve educational outcomes for students around the world!

    Houghton Mifflin Harcourt2019-03-13
  4. Helpful (6)

    "Disapppointing management team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Houghton Mifflin Harcourt full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    industry that has potential to help teachers

    Cons

    All decisions are top down. Only conneceted employees are valued. HR does not support the average employee. Employees do not respect manangement and vice versa..

    Advice to Management

    There needs to be a big shakeip in upper levels of company and install leaders that "care" about their staff and know how to commuincate.

    Houghton Mifflin Harcourt2019-04-08
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Unfortunate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Houghton Mifflin Harcourt full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Supportive of working moms, work/life balance.

    Cons

    Little training or guidance.

    Houghton Mifflin Harcourt2019-03-18
  6. Helpful (3)

    "HMH"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Houghton Mifflin Harcourt full-time

    Pros

    Dedicated professionals who care about students

    Cons

    Grueling hours and low pay

    Houghton Mifflin Harcourt2019-03-14
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Headed in the Right Direction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Houghton Mifflin Harcourt full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Leadership vision is beginning to become reality

    Cons

    Culture is a little slower to transform but it’s coming.

    Advice to Management

    Continue good efforts with employee engagement.

    Houghton Mifflin Harcourt2019-02-25
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Education Consultant 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Houghton Mifflin Harcourt part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    As an educational consultant you have a flexible schedule and work with great people.

    Cons

    There are not always jobs available.

    Houghton Mifflin Harcourt2019-01-30
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Enjoyable experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Regional Education Consultant 

    I worked at Houghton Mifflin Harcourt part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I enjoyed working with teachers and school districts as an instructional coach via webinars and as on-site professional development. I felt that HMH prepared me well for my work.

    Cons

    I would have stayed by the work was too inconsistent with busy and not busy periods, which I knew going in. There was quite a bit of travel, which I also knew about when hired. These weren't really negatives about the company, just a negative for me personally.

    Houghton Mifflin Harcourt2019-01-31
  10. Helpful (10)

    "The old great publishing houses are gone."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Account Executive in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Houghton Mifflin Harcourt for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good products and company legacy.

    Cons

    Too much pressure to focus on salesforce.com, reporting , forecasting rather than serving the customer. Pleasing top management, (and stockholders) is the main focus. The company no longer has loyalty to it's staff. People come and go regardless of tenure or skill. Make your number or your gone.

    Houghton Mifflin Harcourt2019-01-22
Found 798 reviews