House of Fraser Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

House of Fraser Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 591 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
47%
Recommend to a Friend
47%
Approve of CEO
Alex Williamson
77 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Poor management, no staff discount unless opt to use store credit card(in 28 reviews)

  • "There is a lack of air conditioning on the shop floor making it very difficult to work in(in 26 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Rollercoaster ride"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Service Specialist in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at House of Fraser part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Less stress compare to other places Independent work

    Cons

    Hours Bad staffroom Lack of incentives

    Advice to Management

    I understand that not one person can do everything

    House of Fraser2018-12-19
  2. "Decent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at House of Fraser part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Easy job Friendly Decent pay

    Cons

    Overtime not allowed Sometimes unprofessional Not a lot of things to do

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your staff

    House of Fraser2019-05-25
  3. "Good and interesting place to work but stores can be stuck in the past"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Deputy Sales Manager in Middlesbrough, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at House of Fraser full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Excellent team members. Brilliant brands. Good training. Paid absence for 3 occasions. Flexible working.

    Cons

    Dated building and equipment. Dated management styles. Lack of staff rotation. Unreachable targets

    House of Fraser2019-05-24
  4. "Provided me with excellent opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Service Manager in Edinburgh, Scotland

    I have been working at House of Fraser full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Department store environment offers many opportunities to develop skills and ability to work a variety of experienced people

    Cons

    Current situation with the company not long being taken over

    House of Fraser2019-05-21
  5. "Service Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Associate in High Wycombe, England

    I have been working at House of Fraser full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Great working atmosphere among sales advisors and senior sales in the store, everyone is very friendly and welcoming

    Cons

    The experience depends very much on who your managers are and their personal strengths.

    Advice to Management

    My advice to management is pretty much all in the cons. My final message to management would be to have serious look over the management, the way staff are managed (there's a reason they all leave for concessions), talk to your staff about their needs and what changes they would like to see and actually attempt to make those changes

    House of Fraser2019-05-14
  6. "Great brand and great team."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at House of Fraser full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Great opportunities for progression great people and fantastic brands.

    Cons

    I had a great experience no complaints.

    Advice to Management

    None

    House of Fraser2019-05-01
  7. "Sales assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at House of Fraser part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Peers within the workplace

    Cons

    No opportunities for creeer development

    House of Fraser2019-05-01
  8. "a welcoming, nice friendly place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at House of Fraser part-time

    Pros

    friendly co workers & decent managers

    Cons

    not enough opportunities to move up

    House of Fraser2019-04-25
  9. "Central support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at House of Fraser full-time

    Pros

    Great sense of pride, fun whilst working, local site teams where mostly awesome.

    Cons

    Too focused on cards and not enough focus on customers

    Advice to Management

    What matters is people so focus on giving a great experience

    House of Fraser2019-04-21
  10. "HoF"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Replenishment 

      I have been working at House of Fraser full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Good management team, very understanding

      Cons

      Boring, often standing around doing nothing

      House of Fraser2019-04-18
    Found 591 reviews