Howdens Joinery Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Howdens Joinery Reviews

Updated Sep 25, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 140 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
73%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Howdens Joinery CEO Andrew Livingston (no image)
Andrew Livingston
31 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good bonus scheme, training available,(in 12 reviews)

  • "The people at Howdens are fantastic(in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours, struggle settling in(in 10 reviews)

  • "Honestly I don't think there are any cons working for Howdens(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (4)

    "I love this company!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Ipswich, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Howdens Joinery full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Culture bonus opportunity incentives autonomy

    Cons

    Honestly I don't think there are any cons working for Howdens!!

    Advice to Management

    Don't change anything!!!

    Howdens Joinery2018-12-09
  2. "Fantastic company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Kitchen Design & Sales in Northampton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Howdens Joinery full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Teamwork ethic and support Pay Allowed to be creative in your designs

    Cons

    Long hours October Sales Career progression

    Howdens Joinery2019-08-29
  3. "Fantastic company who value staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Sales Designer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Howdens Joinery full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Generous pay and bonus with fantastic team bonding opportunities. Great opportunity for training and furthering knowledge. Great team atmosphere.

    Cons

    I disliked the compulsory Saturday morning you had to work every week. I also think the systems the company use can be updated for productivity.

    Howdens Joinery2019-09-25
  4. "It’s ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Development in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Howdens Joinery part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good money Good incentives

    Cons

    Find a suitable manager

    Howdens Joinery2019-09-22
  5. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Warehouse Worker in Truro, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Howdens Joinery full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good company, plenty of movement

    Cons

    Stressful atmosphere, considerably long hours

    Howdens Joinery2019-09-10
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Trade Counter Salesman 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Howdens Joinery full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great Salary and monthly bonuses

    Cons

    Unrealistic targets and erratic management

    Advice to Management

    Managers need ongoing training

    Howdens Joinery2019-09-19
  7. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Design & Sales in Stockton-on-Tees, England

    I have been working at Howdens Joinery full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good basic, 8 til 5, look after staff

    Cons

    44 hours a week Saturday 8 til 12, they own you in October and through stock take for little in return.

    Howdens Joinery2019-09-02
  8. "Utterly unique"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Designer in Northampton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Howdens Joinery full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work life balance and creative direction. We can make literally anything.

    Cons

    I genuinely cannot find one.

    Howdens Joinery2019-08-30
  9. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Howdens Joinery full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The job the wage and incentives

    Cons

    Meetings plus 44hours a week

    Advice to Management

    Na

    Howdens Joinery2019-08-20
  10. "No progression or wage rise in over 5 years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Warehouse Worker in York, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Howdens Joinery full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    it can sometimes be an enjoyable and leaniant place to work but its rare.

    Cons

    There's alot of stress, the depots are always understaffed and underpaid. No overtime, expected to work late to get jobs done and get time back but you very very rarely actually get your time back. I've worked at howdens for over 5 years constantly get passed over for promotion for outside hires that have no idea how to do the job they get hired for. Asked for wage rises and get turned down because howdens just... can't afford to give anyone a wage rise right now. It's constant excuses and you're expected to work through lunch hours unpaid, turn up to work early and stay late. All unpaid. It can be a good place to work if you're surrounded by the right staff but thats a very rare case.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Treat your staff better and actually reward hard work rather than giving excuses as to why you can't reward hardwork.

    Howdens Joinery2019-08-14
Found 140 reviews