Hub Group Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Hub Group Reviews

Updated 28 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.9
44%
Recommend to a Friend
47%
Approve of CEO
Hub Group Chairman and CEO David P. Yeager
David P. Yeager
151 Ratings
Pros
  • "Face Paced Work Environment (you can see a direct impact of what you're doing)(in 28 reviews)

  • "Good work life / balance--don't have to stay late or work on weekends to catch-up very often(in 14 reviews)

Cons
  • "Not enough interaction with upper management(in 17 reviews)

  • "The training program is gone, the pay is lower than average trucking companies and the morale is gone(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "HUB Group (Dedicated Account) CDL Class A Truck Driver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Class A CDL Delivery Driver in Monroe, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hub Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The pay with the dedicated accounts are good.

    Cons

    Slip seat trucks when you are in a day cab. But some account allow you to keep same truck.

    Hub Group2020-03-23
  2. Helpful (5)

    "Steady Paycheck but no culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Atlanta, GA

    I worked at Hub Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I liked that the company had good health insurance options, 401K match, and steady yearly bonus based off company metrics.

    Cons

    No room for growth in this company besides becoming a Senior Account Manager

    Continue reading
    Hub Group2020-03-11
  3. "na"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Driver 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Hub Group full-time

    Pros

    No I dont have one

    Cons

    no good at training suck 3 1/2 days in a class 3 day with trainer

    Continue reading
    Hub Group2020-03-28
  4. Helpful (7)

    "Process over people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Hub Group full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    They are doing a good job taking care of the drivers.

    Cons

    In a year with announced record earnings the company decided to short the staff on raises. Most people received 2.5% when the nation saw 3.11% growth in take home . On top of that middle managers across the company were given increases significantly below the 2.5% with no explanation for the approval being lower than budgeted amount. In addition they have an obsession with layoffs being the solution to most operational fluctuations. The pattern is about every 6-8 weeks they lay off more people. Every time they do there is no communication beyond the immediately affected individuals. This has created an atmosphere of "is today the day they let me go." among many of the team members.

    Continue reading
    Hub Group2020-03-13
  5. Helpful (14)

    "Awful, full of lies!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Oak Brook, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Hub Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice building, free bagels and donuts on Fridays. Good health benefits

    Cons

    Toxic. Around bonus time you see people get fired and you see undeserving people get paid while hard workers have to FIGHT for a 2 percent raise. You have VP's who literally don't know squat about the business, this is why this company has had a horrible 4th quarter.

    Continue reading
    Hub Group2020-02-25
  6. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Oak Brook, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hub Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great company to work for with a ton of opportunity. Generally really nice people.

    Cons

    Lots of change right now in people, systems and process. Can be hectic. Long term will be growing fast.

    Hub Group2020-02-28
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Prepare to work hard"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Load Planner in Oak Brook, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hub Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Days go fast always busy

    Cons

    Feel overworked manager was of no help when needed. Felt guilty to take a lunch like it was almost frowned upon

    Continue reading
    Hub Group2020-02-21
  8. Helpful (20)

    "You gain a lot of experience because you're doing the jobs of 5 people."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Oak Brook, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hub Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The only pro is that you do gain a lot of experience in your field. You'll be a fresh graduate working 5 different positions. From entry level to senior level and in most departments also most job responsibilities of your manager. You gain a lot of exposure and knowledge this way but don't plan on working anything less than 60 hours a week with a 40 hour a week paycheck. Which is not sustainable long term.

    Cons

    The management really only cares about their pockets. What can they do and how many people can they screw over to make the company a few million and have tens of thousands in their pocket. They put down their employees for not being able to keep up with the work load, refuse to give decent raises for people putting in the time and effort to keep a department afloat, and then don't understand why company morale is at 0. Then they'll turn around and fire 90 people saying its a position elimination and everyone else in said department needs to absorb their work. Then question why everyone is saying their overworked, underpaid and underappreciated and why their turn over rate is 40 people a week. Not including the people they let go! Bottom line, unless you like working 60+ hours a week, doing the job of 5 different positions, getting paid well under market and and no overtime don't bother working here. They don't allow hourly employees to work overtime because they don't want to pay for it but salaried employees are coerced into working 60-70 hours a week or their jobs are at stake. They'll make hundreds of promises on how things will change and what the plan is for the company but the only people who actually benefit from any changes are the higher ups.

    Continue reading
    Hub Group2020-02-10
  9. Helpful (6)

    "Terrible Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Hub Group

    Pros

    It looks like they have a nice building. The people seemed nice, which is what makes this whole experience even more disturbing and disappointing.

    Cons

    I was offered the position on a Friday. By the following Thursday they were leveraging the Coronavirus attack as an excuse that they are now on a “hiring freeze.” While that’s understandable...within five days after that, I received an email that they are “hiring another candidate.” At first I took it personal. However, after reading these other reviews, I see that this is typical within this organization. Nevertheless, I have never seen a company manipulate a national crisis to rescind a hire, and move forward with another candidate. The complete lack of professionalism is actually impressive.

    Continue reading
    Hub Group2020-03-20
  10. Helpful (7)

    "Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Account Manager in Oak Brook, IL
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Hub Group

    Pros

    Have good ideas, but the family is holding this company back especially by only hiring all their friends

    Cons

    They are control freaks and micro managers! For the love of god, Coronavirus is real let the personnel work from home! No trust in their people

    Continue reading
    Hub Group2020-03-18

    Hub Group Response

    March 19, 2020

    The safety of our employees is our utmost concern. Every office employee, across the company has the training, tools and connectivity to be fully operational from home. All Hub office employees can work remote. Any suggestion otherwise is untrue.

    Continue reading
Found 302 reviews