Hudson's Bay Company Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Hudson's Bay Company Reviews

Updated Oct 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1192 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
46%
Recommend to a Friend
59%
Approve of CEO
Hudson's Bay Company CEO Helena Foulkes (no image)
Helena Foulkes
102 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "They push you for credit card applications(in 122 reviews)

  • "can get extremely busy, long hours(in 33 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I worked at Hudson's Bay Company

    Pros

    Employee benefits store discounts etc

    Cons

    Lack of communication with management team

    Advice to Management

    Implement educational programs

    Hudson's Bay Company2016-05-23
  2. "Fashion Marketing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Hudson's Bay Company

    Pros

    Lots of work to do

    Cons

    Low sales - Low profits - low improvements in company

    Hudson's Bay Company2019-01-15
  3. "Good Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Hudson's Bay Company full-time

    Pros

    Good working environment and the colleagues

    Cons

    Top management keeps changing very often

    Hudson's Bay Company2019-10-16
  4. "Good Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Specialist in Brampton, ON
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hudson's Bay Company full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - PTO which is unlimited time off - Good coworkers and culture

    Cons

    - Under market value for pay

    Hudson's Bay Company2019-10-10
  5. "Eventful 14+ years of dynamic experience in Warehouse & Logistics Industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Supervisor Assistant (Inbound Cargo/Area) in Scarborough, ON

    I have been working at Hudson's Bay Company part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It is a big company. The company management & Work Environment is very good. And there is a respect each stage employ. So this is the main reason, I like to work here.

    Cons

    Some time they do not assign the daily work plan properly.

    Hudson's Bay Company2019-10-07
  6. "Nice to work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Ottawa, ON

    I worked at Hudson's Bay Company part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    flexible schedule good hours during holidays good management alright discount

    Cons

    they are too pushy with credit cards barely keep anyone after holiday season and they give virtually no hours really under staff even during holidays which makes it harder for everyone working terrible iti system, beyond outdated

    Hudson's Bay Company2019-10-01

    Hudson's Bay Company Response

    October 3, 2019

    Thank you for your feedback. We will share your concern with the appropriate leadership to better address issues in the future.

  7. "Tastes bad and leaves a sour taste in the end"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Outbound Research Assistant in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Hudson's Bay Company part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    good pay rate but not worth it because only for a small amount of time

    Cons

    they do not appreciate your work they will just call you when the season is busy and will kick you out once the work needed is done.

    Hudson's Bay Company2019-10-16
  8. "Iconic Canadian Retailer with strong heritage"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Creative Director in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hudson's Bay Company full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Last standing multi brand department stores.

    Cons

    Need to adapt to the quick changing retail environment.

    Hudson's Bay Company2019-10-01

    Hudson's Bay Company Response

    October 3, 2019

    Thank you for reaching out. We appreciate all associate feedback and will be sure to share with the appropriate leaders.

  9. "Not bad, good job is you wanna be a police officer or security professional."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Asset Protection Specialist in Toronto, ON

    I have been working at Hudson's Bay Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours, good team, relaxed environment.

    Cons

    management can be tough depending on who your manager is. Not much room to grow within company.

    Hudson's Bay Company2019-10-15
  10. "Good Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hudson's Bay Company part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I've heard that is not the same at all locations, but at least n the one I work, the environment is really good. Management is kind and approachable, co-workers are also kind and helpful.

    Cons

    It would be much better to get more training, especially now that Hudson Bay is changing a lot of things. More training for the front-line, especially in why the customer is the center of the strategy for the company.

    Advice to Management

    To be more informed of what the new strategy for the company is, and clearly communicate that to the rest of the team

    Hudson's Bay Company2019-09-29

    Hudson's Bay Company Response

    September 30, 2019

    We appreciate your feedback. We will share your concern with the appropriate leadership. Please reach out to your HR business partner if you’d like to discuss the issue further.

Found 1192 reviews