Hudson's Bay Company "work environment" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Hudson's Bay Company Employee Reviews about "work environment"

Updated 20 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
43%
Recommend to a Friend
57%
Approve of CEO
Hudson's Bay Company CEO Helena Foulkes (no image)
Helena Foulkes
133 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "All we hear about is "why didn't you open a credit card last month" or when will you(in 127 reviews)

  • "Long hours standing at the store is very tiring(in 35 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work environment"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Good environment, very well managed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Mississauga, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hudson's Bay Company part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fair pay, good working environment

    Cons

    Few opportunities for growth within the company

    Hudson's Bay Company2020-01-21
  2. "Overall alright"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cosmetics Counter Manager in Victoria, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hudson's Bay Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice coworkers, easy to adapt to work environment

    Cons

    Not flexible with schedule and the temperature during winter it's too cold

    Hudson's Bay Company2019-12-20
  3. "Very fun and awesome experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Women's Sales Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hudson's Bay Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fast paced working environment

    Cons

    Sometimes hours can be atrocious

    Continue reading
    Hudson's Bay Company2019-11-19
  4. Helpful (1)

    "worst company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Fulfillment Associate in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Hudson's Bay Company part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    easy work/life balance flexible schedule 25% employee discount

    Cons

    toxic work environment no hours different managers like every other month hard to move on up

    Hudson's Bay Company2019-12-01
  5. "Poor management team."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Packaging Graphic Designer in Brampton, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hudson's Bay Company full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    General a decent work environment and perks.

    Cons

    They don't treat all employees fairly.

    Continue reading
    Hudson's Bay Company2019-11-06

    Hudson's Bay Company Response

    November 8, 2019

    Thank you for your feedback. We will share your concern with the appropriate leadership to better address issues in the future.

    Continue reading
  6. "Eventful 14+ years of dynamic experience in Warehouse & Logistics Industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Supervisor Assistant (Inbound Cargo/Area) in Scarborough, ON

    I have been working at Hudson's Bay Company part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It is a big company. The company management & Work Environment is very good. And there is a respect each stage employ. So this is the main reason, I like to work here.

    Cons

    Some time they do not assign the daily work plan properly.

    Hudson's Bay Company2019-10-07

    Hudson's Bay Company Response

    October 22, 2019

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts about the company!

    Continue reading
  7. "Nice Benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Beauty Advisor 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hudson's Bay Company part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good employee discount nice coworkers

    Cons

    I like the work environment there

    Hudson's Bay Company2019-09-20

    Hudson's Bay Company Response

    September 24, 2019

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts about the company!

    Continue reading
  8. "Great Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Marketing Coordinator 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hudson's Bay Company for less than a year

    Pros

    Work Environment, Corporate Culture, Good Work Life Balance

    Cons

    Can be disorganized, limited opportunity for growth

    Hudson's Bay Company2019-07-23

    Hudson's Bay Company Response

    August 30, 2019

    Thank you for your feedback. We will share your concern with the appropriate leadership to better address issues in the future.

    Continue reading
  9. "sales/ costumer sarvice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Beauty Advisor in Edmonton, AB

    I have been working at Hudson's Bay Company part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    good work environment effective teamwork

    Cons

    many changes in management

    Hudson's Bay Company2019-07-11

    Hudson's Bay Company Response

    July 22, 2019HR Operations Manager

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts about the company!

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Disorganized & resistant to change"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Coordinator in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Hudson's Bay Company full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Employee discounts for both HBC & Saks

    Cons

    The company's systems are extremely old and there doesn't appear to be any plans for future improvements. There is a lack of organization across most areas making it a difficult work environment for those who prefer structure.

    Hudson's Bay Company2019-07-08

    Hudson's Bay Company Response

    July 22, 2019HR Operations Manager

    We appreciate your feedback. We will share your concern with the appropriate leadership. Please reach out to your HR business partner if you’d like to discuss the issue further.

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 90 reviews