Huron Consulting Group Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Huron Consulting Group Reviews

Updated Sep 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 739 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
68%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Huron Consulting Group CEO James H. (Jim) Roth
James H. (Jim) Roth
402 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "work life balance hard to maintain to meet deadlines(in 69 reviews)

  • "Long hours are sometimes necessary and upper management consistently had poor communication regarding significant changes in the organization(in 24 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Pope Woodhead got even worse after the acquisition"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - A S S Consultant in Saint Ives, East of England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Huron Consulting Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Long periods where there is no work to do, as the principal consultants are ineffective

    Cons

    Stagnation, toxic environment. Bad rep since a former director guilty of medical fraud was fired/almost given an MBE by the honours committee

    Advice to Management

    Take the hit and get rid of principals who write emails to clients stating 'WTF?' and have a proverbial monkey clashing a symbol in place of a brain

    Huron Consulting Group2019-09-13
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Interesting work but dull management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Huron Consulting Group full-time

    Pros

    People in the office were good, work-life balance was very reasonable for a consulting company, clients were generally interesting, projects were mostly interesting (see below).

    Cons

    Some types of projects got repetitive. Executive management was uninspired and dull, and at times felt like was completely missing in action. Benefits were minimal.

    Advice to Management

    Listed company needs to mind the share price, but at times it felt like that was the only thing being watched. Quite uninspiring. Invest in your people, you are a consulting company.

    Huron Consulting Group2015-02-03
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Very political, driven by profits not quality"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Managing Director in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Huron Consulting Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There is not a lot of good that I can say about Huron. The LCG is focused on low value add activities that can be billed quickly. No real strategy or performance improvement work in their practice.

    Cons

    In order to succeed at Huron you need to sell a lot of low value work that you can premium bill. This usually means litigation support that you outsource to India.

    Advice to Management

    Need stronger focus on "value added" services for clients. Better professional development opportunities. Improved mentoring.

    Huron Consulting Group2014-10-06
  4. "Great Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Financial Reporting Analyst in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Huron Consulting Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people are amazing and the atmosphere is welcoming. Everyone I have encountered has been polite and respectful.

    Cons

    I find nothing wrong with Huron

    Huron Consulting Group2019-09-11
  5. "I drank the kool-aid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in Pasadena, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Huron Consulting Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Culture Teams Willingness to invest in their associates Great orientation

    Cons

    I feel like I’m an outsider because I’m over 40 and an experienced hire.

    Advice to Management

    There isn’t a lot of age diversity in the organization.

    Huron Consulting Group2019-09-10
  6. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Huron Consulting Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Pay is good, nice infrastructure

    Cons

    As usual , bit politics

    Huron Consulting Group2019-08-29

    Huron Consulting Group Response

    September 10, 2019Employee Experience Leadership

    Thanks for you feedback.

  7. "Healthcare Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant 

    I have been working at Huron Consulting Group full-time

    Pros

    unlimited PTO, amazing people

    Cons

    Work life balance is non-existent

    Huron Consulting Group2019-08-29

    Huron Consulting Group Response

    September 10, 2019Employee Experience Leadership

    Thank you for your feedback. Work life blend is an area of focus within each of our practices.

  8. Helpful (2)

    "Good while it lasted"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Analyst in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Huron Consulting Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    They have snacks and other stuff

    Cons

    Layoffs are prevalent and frequent

    Huron Consulting Group2019-08-25

    Huron Consulting Group Response

    August 28, 2019Employee Experience Leadership

    Thank you for your feedback. Our Hillsborough and Lake Oswego offices in the Portland area are important to our current and future business strategy. We continue to grow as represented by the open positions for which we are recruiting in both offices.

  9. Helpful (1)

    "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Huron Consulting Group full-time

    Pros

    Benefits, team, collaboration, exposure

    Cons

    No work life balance, not enough staff for projects

    Huron Consulting Group2019-08-22

    Huron Consulting Group Response

    August 26, 2019Employee Experience Leadership

    Thank you for your feedback. Work/life blend is an ongoing area of focus for all of our practices as we continue to grow.

  10. Helpful (1)

    "No Work-life Balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consulting Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Huron Consulting Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - You'll rack-up a lot of air miles and hotel points. - If you don't have friends or family and want to work 24x7 you'll do great.

    Cons

    - Work-life balance is non-existent. They tout the unlimited vacation but you will never truly get to "sign-off". - Management will start an engagement before the right resources are available which leads to people working multiple projects. - Values are talked about a lot but never lived. Quality is not important.

    Advice to Management

    Hire skilled functional consultants rather than just seat fillers. Scrap unlimited vacation.

    Huron Consulting Group2019-08-21

    Huron Consulting Group Response

    August 26, 2019Employee Experience Leadership

    We are disappointed to hear your experience was not aligned with our culture and values. We would appreciate the opportunity to speak with you further about your experience, please reach out to hresources@huronconsultinggroup.com

Found 739 reviews