Huron Consulting Group Reviews

Updated 24 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
68%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Huron Consulting Group President, CEO and Director James H. (Jim) Roth
James H. (Jim) Roth
423 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Depending on Project Leader the work life balance can be bad(in 75 reviews)

  • "I was literally told by upper management to accept that we will never have good product management(in 26 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good work environment"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Outdoor Vending Hostess 

    I have been working at Huron Consulting Group full-time

    Pros

    The best is the amazing and sociable work environment

    Cons

    Large company with a lot of bureaucracy

    Huron Consulting Group2020-01-08

    Huron Consulting Group Response

    January 13, 2020Employee Experience Leadership

    Thank you for your feedback.

  2. "Fine"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Huron Consulting Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fine. Same problems as every consultancy.

    Cons

    Fine. Too much work, too many targets, not enough reward.

    Huron Consulting Group2020-02-06

    Huron Consulting Group Response

    March 11, 2020Employee Experience Leadership

    Thank you for your feedback.

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Pope Woodhead got even worse after the acquisition"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - A S S Consultant in Saint Ives, East of England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Huron Consulting Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Long periods where there is no work to do, as the principal consultants are ineffective

    Cons

    Stagnation, toxic environment. Bad rep since a former director guilty of medical fraud was fired/almost given an MBE by the honours committee

    Continue reading
    Huron Consulting Group2019-09-13

    Huron Consulting Group Response

    October 4, 2019Employee Experience Leadership

    Thank you for your feedback. We would appreciate the opportunity to talk further about your experiences as they are not aligned with our culture. Please contact us at hresources@huronconsultinggroup.com or you can report any concerns you have to Huron’s 24-hour Helpline at 1-800-690-8135.

  4. Helpful (1)

    "Interesting work but dull management"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Huron Consulting Group full-time

    Pros

    People in the office were good, work-life balance was very reasonable for a consulting company, clients were generally interesting, projects were mostly interesting (see below).

    Cons

    Some types of projects got repetitive. Executive management was uninspired and dull, and at times felt like was completely missing in action. Benefits were minimal.

    Continue reading
    Huron Consulting Group2015-02-03
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Very political, driven by profits not quality"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Managing Director in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Huron Consulting Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There is not a lot of good that I can say about Huron. The LCG is focused on low value add activities that can be billed quickly. No real strategy or performance improvement work in their practice.

    Cons

    In order to succeed at Huron you need to sell a lot of low value work that you can premium bill. This usually means litigation support that you outsource to India.

    Continue reading
    Huron Consulting Group2014-10-06
  6. "Great!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Huron Consulting Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    • you keep all travel benefits • great starting salary • culture promotes growth • tons of training opportunities

    Cons

    • the travel can get exhausting • don’t have much say on which projects you get on

    Huron Consulting Group2020-05-24
  7. "Good Company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Operations 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Huron Consulting Group full-time

    Pros

    Great work life environment and good company overall

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Huron Consulting Group2020-05-22
  8. "Review"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Senior Technical Consultant in Hillsboro, OR

    I have been working at Huron Consulting Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Culture, communication, people, opportunity, benefits

    Cons

    Very Old technology, silos exist

    Huron Consulting Group2020-05-14
  9. "Great Community"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Consultant in Chicago, IL

    I have been working at Huron Consulting Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Strong sense of community and great values as a company

    Cons

    Can be long hours, like any other consulting firm

    Huron Consulting Group2020-05-12

    Huron Consulting Group Response

    May 12, 2020Employee Experience Leadership

    Thank you for your feedback. Our people are undoubtedly what makes Huron such a special place to work.

  10. "Excellent Environment, Meaningful Work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Healthcare Analyst in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Huron Consulting Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Driven & Smart People, Engaging Work, Usually Reasonable Hours, Great Benefits

    Cons

    Healthcare industry is difficult to understand at first, Travel can be difficult, Company feels big & small due to project-based structure

    Continue reading
    Huron Consulting Group2020-05-10

    Huron Consulting Group Response

    May 12, 2020Employee Experience Leadership

    Thank you for your feedback. People are the heart of our company. Work/Life blend is an ongoing are of focus for all of our practices.

Found 784 reviews