Hydro One "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Hydro One Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated 8 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.1
76%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Hydro One President & CEO Carmine Marcello
Carmine Marcello
109 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good environment, good people to work with and good pay(in 38 reviews)

  • "Great work-life balance and work culture(in 31 reviews)

Cons
  • "Hard to get back into full time, can be a little slow for co-ops at certain times(in 21 reviews)

  • "Continuous secretive meetings about gossip, how to slight employees and sneak things below the unions radar(in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great Employer For a Stable Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Hydro One full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work-life balance and work culture

    Cons

    Mundane tasks, can get boring at times

    Hydro One2020-02-08
  2. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Analyst in Ontario, CA

    I worked at Hydro One full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They care about their employees, work-life balance

    Cons

    Benefits are not so attractive

    Hydro One2020-02-08
  3. "Was offered, did not accept"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Information Security Analyst 

    I have been working at Hydro One full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, pension, share matching and work life balance

    Cons

    Salary was 60k offered base. Unwilling to budge that much

    Hydro One2019-10-03
  4. "Great place to work and grow in your career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Coordinator in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hydro One for more than a year

    Pros

    Great pay and good-work life balance

    Cons

    Suit-and-tie corporate culture, very large and spread out staff.

    Continue reading
    Hydro One2019-07-29
  5. "Project Accounting Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hydro One

    Pros

    Amazing work life balance, I did a 16 month co-op. Loved my team, overall great time. They gave me lots of autonomy, and treated me like a full time employee, not just a co-op. They also had a great co-op social program.

    Cons

    Hard to get back into full time, can be a little slow for co-ops at certain times

    Hydro One2019-01-22
  6. "Corporate Tax Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Anonymous Contractor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Hydro One

    Pros

    - Amazing team to work with. They work together towards team and self growth - Bosses and Super Bosses are no less than mentors - Perfect work life balance

    Cons

    Nothing that I know of

    Hydro One2019-01-21
  7. Helpful (2)

    "decent place to work for-lots of politics and corporate hogwash"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Hydro One full-time

    Pros

    decent workplace and work life balance. not that stressful. can take vacation almost any time.

    Cons

    after a while you get stuck in the corporate ladder depending what racial background or what entourage you belong. no training whatsoever. stagnating. don't feel valued at all.

    Continue reading
    Hydro One2018-10-11
  8. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - University Co-op in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hydro One for more than a year

    Pros

    Great pay, work life balance, friendly team members, convenient location close to the Eaton Centre

    Cons

    Not everyone but the overall corporate culture is quite slow

    Hydro One2018-03-18
  9. "A great place to work if you are not too ambitious."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Network Management Engineer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hydro One full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Work life balance, great benefits, pension and health plan.

    Cons

    No promotion in place. The salary is a bit low compared to other companies.

    Hydro One2018-02-25
  10. "it's a stable job."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hydro One full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, good work life balance, good compensation, stable

    Cons

    Slow-paced, does not encourage growth and development

    Continue reading
    Hydro One2018-02-13
Found 31 reviews