ICON Aircraft Reviews

Updated 6 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.3
23%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
ICON Aircraft President/COO Thomas Wieners (no image)
Thomas Wieners
2 Ratings
Pros
  • "There was tons of opportunities for me to help ICON overcome some tough challenges and growing pains that every company goes through(in 11 reviews)

  • "Very good and friendly work environment(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "Ridiculous expectations of work force with no recognition from top management of who is doing the real work(in 3 reviews)

  • "Cost to build is 2x the sales price, good luck ever digging out of that hole(in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "STAY AWAY AT ALL COST! YOUR SAFETY AND LOVED ONES SAFETY IS AT RISK!"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Vacaville, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ICON Aircraft full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There are no pros at Icon aircraft.They are poorly built, cheaply made, rust buckets.

    Cons

    Icon aircraft are very cheaply made. The interior is cheap chinese plastic, parts are hard to get, their customer service people seem to always be stoned. They dont care about customer safety. You have to sign a waiver that you wont sue them if you get hurt or die in their aircraft when you purchase one.These aircraft's are made to attract the rich & dumb community. I rather get a C182 on floats for the almost $400K they make you pay for these floating turds.

    Continue reading
    ICON Aircraft2020-05-06
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Just No"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at ICON Aircraft full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good people to work with

    Cons

    Chaos was in all departments

    ICON Aircraft2020-02-25
  3. Helpful (6)

    "Horrible! Stay away at all costs"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Director in Chicago, IL
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ICON Aircraft full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Sounded like a great job as I love to fly and sell

    Cons

    Management from the very top down is completely worthless. Absolutely no communication and Directors and above are simply collecting a paycheck and doing absolutely nothing

    Continue reading
    ICON Aircraft2020-02-05
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Assembles parts to be installed into aircraft"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Community Outreach and Volunteer Coordinator in Vacaville, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ICON Aircraft full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Coworker are good people for the most part

    Cons

    Supervisor does not care about his employees in the least.

    Continue reading
    ICON Aircraft2020-02-03
  5. Helpful (5)

    "Amateur Company"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Vacaville, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at ICON Aircraft full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent aircraft design, manufacturing area clean

    Cons

    The bro culture here is pathetic (as are the people that allow this to continue) Configuration management is a joke and poorly designed. No supplier management, no processes to speak of, no training, failed top management from other failed companies, and a COO who lives in La La Land just to name a few. The majority of the 5-star reviews on here are made up by management and the business dev. people using different email addresses trying to keep their rating above a 2. Many people there have seen this being done.

    Continue reading
    ICON Aircraft2019-12-27
  6. Helpful (8)

    "Great Company with potential to shine"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supplier Quality Engineer VCB in Vacaville, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ICON Aircraft full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I was one of two Supplier Quality Engineers, my role was the Vacaville plant SQE, the other, tijuana SQE. There was tons of opportunities for me to help ICON overcome some tough challenges and growing pains that every company goes through. Lots of smart people. If you like flying you will be in heaven

    Cons

    The management at the time did not have the wisdom or the knowledge of typical quality systems mgmt. Was faced with the ultimatum of either follow the "icon way" or stick to my ethics/follow ASTM regs and.do the right thing. I chose the way any good Quality Eng woukd do and was fired.

    Continue reading
    ICON Aircraft2019-08-13
  7. Helpful (6)

    "Fake company"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ICON Aircraft full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Laid back at times, good benifits and decent pay.

    Cons

    Where do I start? If you're a greece monky or engineer, this won't be a bad job. If you're not, run away. It's a military fraternity who does not respect men who wernt in the military. The upper management is a joke! Your role will change many times while keeping the same title. Imagine this, selling a plane designed for young people to retired people with a 7 year waiting list? They literally have a waiting list that's VERY big yet only producing very few planes per month. The numbers don't add up. Those poor investors investing in a company that literally cannot turn a profit and never will. The investors will eventually pull out and the company will go under. There was literally no training program. I learned nothing and was confused about my role the whole time while it changed over and over again. I'll say it again, if you're an engineer or greece monky mechanic, this is a great place to work. Others seek employment else where.

    Continue reading
    ICON Aircraft2019-10-01
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Good but sad"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technician 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ICON Aircraft full-time

    Pros

    Culture and good benefits to be had.

    Cons

    multiple layoffs, no communication from management, nepotism, and favoritism

    Continue reading
    ICON Aircraft2019-08-22
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Great innovation, no quality culture."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Admin 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ICON Aircraft full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great aircraft. Very good concept.

    Cons

    Low focus on quality.

    Continue reading
    ICON Aircraft2019-08-31
  10. Helpful (9)

    "Executive management struggles to ensure long term success"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Regional Sales Director 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at ICON Aircraft full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fantastic Aircraft, Excellent manufacturing facilities, Pride in the product. Overall the people want to provide a quality product and they have!

    Cons

    Over burdened with details that do not drive success. The company brought to market a great aircraft. But the cost to build it is more than sales price. The asking price is $200,000 more than the competition. For every aircraft sold it cost more to build it! The team in place was perfect to get the plane build and certified by the FAA. But the team in place now is not experienced in how to go from prototypes and early first builds to mass production. Spend time mired in Salesforce gathering data that is not useful to selling aircraft. This is an expensive toy! Benifits were poor and employee cost were very high. Salary was on the lower end for sales

    Continue reading
    ICON Aircraft2019-08-15
Found 54 reviews