ICP Nurseries Reviews

Updated 10 May 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 160 of over 162 reviews

4.8
94%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
ICP Nurseries CEO Tracey Storey
Tracey Storey
75 Ratings
Pros
  • "Amazing training opportunities to access for all(in 26 reviews)

  • "I have worked at our nursery for 7 months(in 17 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "There are no cons for working at ICP(in 21 reviews)

  • "I can not think of any cons working for ICP(in 17 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Fantastic Company

      10 May 2021 - Nursery Manager in Ardleigh, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Full of support from all managers Lots of extra benefits including Thursday treats which the staff love Very positive workforce

      Cons

      None that I have currently

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Do not work here!

      7 Apr 2021 - Anonymous Employee in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pay is above minimum wage

      Cons

      This company is the worst I have ever worked for. They brought the nursery telling us how amazing they were and all the staff benefits we would receive. We never got them. This company does not care about its staff or their well being. They put on an amazing show telling people how great they are with mental health but the moment you start suffering it's an inconvenience to them and in their words "unacceptable". The amount of paperwork you have to do it's beyond ridiculous and has no benefits. They don't know how to hire staff as some have been hired with false qualifications which doesn't fit in with safer recruitment and they let their nurseries work understaffed and over ratio. They harass and bully staff, or should I say get the managers to harass and bully staff for them to make the company look like the good guys, if you do raise any concerns they aren't listened to and are made to feel insignificant. Constant threat of disciplinary and don't follow any guidelines, they make it up as they go along. This is just a brief explanation of what happens. So head my warning. DO NOT WORK FOR THIS COMPANY!

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      ICP Nurseries Response

      Marketing Communications Manager

      We are extremely shocked and upset to read this review as the contents bear no resemblance to the ethos of any of our Nurseries. We offer an incredible package of staff benefits which all employees have access to, and staff wellbeing is our absolute priority alongside providing fantastic care and education for each and every one of our children. Each of our Nurseries has a Wellbeing Champion and Senior Staff have access to Mental Health First Aid training to help them support the staff team. We would never tolerate bullying or harassment and all of our staff have access to a confidential ‘listening line’ where they are able to raise any concerns of this nature completely anonymously. We also have a robust Whistleblowing Policy and we have not received any reports of this nature through either of these channels or through our Management Teams. We have robust auditing processes in place to monitor any concerns and whilst we are extremely upset by this review, we are also disappointed that you did not raise this during your time working with us and are instead using this facility to raise concerns anonymously without any opportunity of us knowing if they are true or vexatious or indeed even which nursery it is you are referring to. We adhere strictly to all regulatory guidance including Safer Recruitment and the welfare of our staff and children is at the forefront of everything we do. The regular feedback we receive from staff via anonymous surveys overwhelmingly demonstrates that our staff feel valued, cared for and well rewarded. However, we take all concerns raised seriously, and we would very much like to discuss your review with you. Please feel free to contact us either directly or via the confidential listening line if you would like to provide more detailed information which we can act upon.

    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Old barn day nursery

      14 Apr 2021 - Nursery Practitioner in Banstead, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I have been working at old barn day nursery for nearly 7 years now working as a student to fully qualified practitioner, gaining many experiences and opportunities throughout the years, old barn is like an amazing nursery, looking after each other like a big family, making memories and lasting impressions, from my experiance in working in ICP Nurseries and getting to travel to other nurseries as well I have been able to meet extraordinary people who do amazing at their jobs and gain further experience that I can bring back to my nursery.

      Cons

      Nothing that I can think off

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Employee review

      11 Apr 2021 - Deputy Manager in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      ICP is a great company to work for. The nurseries are beautiful and well resourced. Salaries are above average and there are many employee benefits, bonus systems and room for promotion. They have a strong support system from senior teams and many training opportunities such as Forest School. Our CEO shows compassion and support and ensures staff are happy and well looked after.

      Cons

      There are no Cons for working for ICP.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Fantastic company to work for!

      9 Apr 2021 - Anoynymous in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I feel very privileged to work with such a supportive and fantastic company . At all levels the communication and care is felt throughout and presented through the brilliant mental health support that is in place. Our CEO shows compassion and a high level of support which makes a huge difference .

      Cons

      None I can think of .

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Highly recommend

      13 Apr 2021 - Deputy Manager in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They look after they employees

      Cons

      I like everything about the company

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Terrible work environment, with uncaring senior staff.

      7 Apr 2021 - Nursery Practitioner in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There are very few other than relatively good pay.

      Cons

      The nursery I worked at was bought out by ICP as an outstanding setting, I can safetly say it is not that anymore. Staff are constantly working over ratio, and are threatened with disciplinary action if they speak up. Management and senior staff are rude, dismissive and unfeeling. Many members of staff ended up being signed off due to stress, only to be called selfish and made to feel awful upon return. Expectations of staff are frankly ridiculous. Not only are members of staff constantly left to work over ratio, they are then expected to complete copious amounts of paperwork which are way beyond what ofsted require. Children are often left to their own devices, with very few age appropriate resources available for each room. Often the same toys are out all day long. If parents knew how little time their children spend outside or doing planned activities they would be horrified. Every single extra curricular activity which was previously available before the nursery was published were cancelled, but the fees remained the same. Staff turnover is very very high, as staff feel unappreciated, overworked and worthless. Management are rude and hurtful, but if staff try to raise this, upper management side with lower management and said member of staff is made to feel like a liar. Covid regulations were not followed, and the nursery remained open even after a positive case was reported. Overall I feel terrible for any staff still working for this awful company, and even worse for parents who are unknowingly sending their children somewhere this shocking. ICP are great at talking the talk and selling themselves, but it's all a lie.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      ICP Nurseries Response

      Marketing Communications Manager

      We are appalled to read this review as it is simply not an accurate reflection of any of our Nurseries. Staff are not asked to work out of ratio, and we have a confidential ‘listening line’ which all staff have access to and where they would be able to raise any concerns of this nature completely anonymously. We also have a robust Whistleblowing Policy which we would expect our staff to follow in the event they had concerns of this nature. As a company we have a huge focus on staff wellbeing with Mental Health First Aid training being offered to all Managers and Senior staff so that they can support their staff teams. All paperwork which staff are asked to complete is to support children’s learning and development, or health and safety, and this is kept to a minimum. Any extra-curricular activities provided by external agencies at our Nurseries are regularly reviewed to ensure they meet the curriculum requirements. Where this is not the case, or the use of an external provider means that very few children will benefit from the activity because it takes place on a set day each week, staff are provided with training to deliver bespoke Above and Beyond Educational Experiences which meet the needs of all of our children. Our Nurseries are fully resourced with a range of inviting and engaging resources but the use and rotation of these resources, together with the planning of activities and outside time is of course the responsibility of each practitioner working with their Key Children with support provided from their Nursery Manager. We have an extremely robust COVID-19 Risk Assessment in place and in the event of a confirmed case, we have followed all Public Health and Department for Education guidance, which has never included an instruction to close the Nursery. We have robust auditing processes in place to monitor any concerns and whilst we are extremely upset by this review, we are also disappointed that you did not raise this during your time working with us and are instead using this facility to raise concerns anonymously without any opportunity of us knowing if they are true or vexatious or indeed even which nursery it is you are referring to. We take all concerns seriously and would very much welcome the opportunity to discuss this review with you, together with your motivation for writing it. If you wish to remain anonymous, even as an ex-employee, you can of course still access the confidential listening line and any concerns shared will be dealt with robustly in line with our internal policies and procedures.

    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      A rewarding career with excellent training opportunities.

      23 Jul 2020 - Deputy Manager in Ardleigh, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Since joining ICP nurseries i have found my career in Early Years has progressed and gone from strength to strength. There is so many great training opportunities to support individual CPD and for myself, i have benefited from great leadership and management training. The childcare team at ICP has always been supportive and understands what it truly means to provide effective, safe and quality childcare. Since joining ICP, i have felt that the company is very up to date with their health and safety awareness and safeguarding training, and i myself have felt more comfortable with my knowledge development and experience of these. With Covid-19 issues, i was very impressed with their professionalism and understanding towards coping with this pandemic, and i felt reassured that they would do all they could to ensure their employees were safe. ICP have also always had a strong understanding of mental health and have provided a confidential support network to provide necessary support to their employees. This role has been very rewarding and it is great to work for a company that offers health benefits, performance bonuses and regular mentoring. I feel like i am more part of the team since working for ICP nurseries.

      Cons

      There have been no downsides to working for ICP nurseries since i joined.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Not a recommended company

      28 Feb 2021 - Early Childhood Teacher in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good contracted benefits for staff

      Cons

      The ICP nursery I worked at is poorly ran with a lack or resources for the children. My friends and I were bullied by people with more authority than me, this has led us to all leave this company. We also raised our concerns with head office but they done nothing about it. This has caused a negative affect to a lot of staffs mental well-being.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      ICP Nurseries Response

      Marketing Communications Manager

      We were extremely upset and alarmed to read this review as the contents of it are at complete odds with our ethos as a Company. We take these allegations extremely seriously and do not tolerate bullying of any kind. Any concerns raised with our Central Office team are dealt with in line with our policies and procedures and we also operate a dedicated listening helpline which employees can contact confidentially to raise any concerns. As this review is anonymous, we cannot identify which Nursery the review relates to, nor can we reach out to you individually to discuss this further, which we would very much like to. Each of our Nurseries is fully resourced and significant investment has been made in this area to ensure children are provided with a stimulating and nurturing environment in which to flourish. We have also made significant investment in supporting our staff’s mental wellbeing and providing a nurturing environment to work in, as this is the culture we foster throughout our company. We would urge you to contact us directly so we can address your concerns. We care very much about the feelings of our employees, and this includes ex-employees who are no longer with us, whatever the reasons may be for us parting ways.

    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great company

      1 Dec 2020 - Administrator in Dalston, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I am very grateful for being given an opportunity to work at ICP Nurseries. I very much enjoy my job and I love being around children. I greatly value this experience on both, professional and personal level. The company looks after their employees. The management is wonderful.

      Cons

      There are no cons of working at ICP Nurseries

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 160 Reviews

    Popular Careers with ICP Nurseries Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at ICP Nurseries? Share Your Experiences

    ICP Nurseries logo
    or