ICS Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

ICS Reviews

Updated 14 December 2018
19 reviews

Filter

Filter


3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
ICS CEO Richard Macmillan
Richard Macmillan
13 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Finance in London, England
    Current Employee - Finance in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ICS full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Good induction and lots of social opportunities
    Investment in new systems making work easier

    Cons

    None that i have found yet

    Advice to Management

    Keep investing in your people and giving them great tools

    ICS Response

    10 Jan 2019 – Head of Resourcing and Talent Planning

    Hello, thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback. It's really great to hear that you have benefited from our induction program, we work hard to ensure that we give our employees a great... More


  2. "Recruitment Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at ICS full-time

    Pros

    Nice people that work there

    Cons

    management were absolute rubbish I've heard they have left now though.

  3. "RSCN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Comp & Benefits
    Current Employee - RSCN in London, England
    Current Employee - RSCN in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at ICS part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Training update opportunities. Very supportive employer. Good networking opportunities. Competitive pay rates.

    Cons

    Due to the nature of the job, regular work is not guaranteed as it is when working in a hospital. However this will not be a seen as a con for everyone.


  4. Helpful (1)

    "Numbers not names"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Case Manager in Bournemouth, England
    Former Employee - Case Manager in Bournemouth, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ICS full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Training is second to none
    Management used to be amazing, fair and supportive but restructuring has demolished that in the company today.

    Cons

    Favouritism, bullying and poor leadership seems to be the norm. Confidentiality means little and opinions, information and incidents are passed around like a daily paper.
    Poor reviews are dodged by using sister company or umbrella company profile.

    Advice to Management

    You may want to re look at your management and notice those who go the extra mile.


  5. "Great & Supportive Company to Work For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ICS full-time

    Pros

    - Top drawer management - particularly supportive of working parents
    - Lots of opportunity for career advancement - work hard and you're rewarded, even in testing times they strive hard to keep people motivated and engaged
    - Long serving team members - never worked anywhere that has such a large number of long serving staff - junior and senior
    - Brilliant benefits - great basic holiday package, private healthcare, good selection of pick & mix benefits - very generous in comparison to competitors for what you receive when you join the company
    - Has a good social conscience, especially around charities and supporting causes close to local offices, has generated a real sense of community in the office I work in

    Cons

    - Not as much of a personal touch as there used to be due to the size of the workforce - no longer know every face in the office by name anymore

    Advice to Management

    Carry on walking the floors & chatting to us all - it really does generate a great spirit that even though there's more of us nowadays, time is still taken to catch up with those of us you know, and get to know the newer faces.

    ICS Response

    21 Nov 2017 – Group HR Director

    Thank you so much for your review. We work really hard to create a culture where everyone can achieve their career goals and ambitions and where success is shared so it's great to hear that you... More


  6. Helpful (1)

    "No progression"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Coordinator in London, England
    Former Employee - Coordinator in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ICS full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Lots of company benefits, although most are useless or don't balance out the lack of salary. Most of the voucher schemes were dumb; low discounts on outlets you wouldn't shop in and a monthly lottery.

    Cons

    Management have favourites who seem to progress over and above the minions that work hard, and the place is full of brown nosers. No flexibility, no progression, terrible salaries that are far below national average. Lack of communication from management. Lots of redundancies and very much a 'hush hush' environment where they bury their heads in the sand if they don't want to deal with an awkward topic. Lots of experience of petty complainers and constantly being 'taken to one side' by managers for the most ridiculous things, but not being listened to yourself when you have a genuine complaint. So petty to the point of frustration. Didn't get a pay rise in my entire employment term. Sometimes the bonuses were suspended. Apparently this happened a few times.

    Advice to Management

    Don't treat staff like numbers, we are human beings with lives outside the office and important responsibilities like debt, bills and families. Work isn't everything, but when people are in the office and making a big effort for you, you should make an effort for them. It's not all about lining your own pockets, driving your expensive cars, taking your 4 annual holidays and playing golf on Tuesdays. The 'little' people are struggling to make ends eat no matter how hard they try and are constantly being overlooked in favour of the high earners.

    ICS Response

    21 Nov 2017 – Group HR Director

    Thank you for your review. I am sorry the experience you had whilst working at ICS wasn’t as positive as we’d like to achieve. We work hard to ensure that we offer progression and development... More


  7. "Lacks leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruiter in London, England
    Former Employee - Recruiter in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at ICS full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    In a good market- healthcare, and has resources that go with size

    Cons

    It's hard to understand how some of the group board have reached such lofty heights. No strategy, just seem to react.

    Advice to Management

    have a look at your leaders and don't just keep cronies in senior group positions

    ICS Response

    8 Nov 2017 – Managing Director

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

    Obviously we are disappointed that your experience, whilst you were here with us, wasn't as positive as we would hope to achieve.

    As a... More

  8. "Great company with amazing training!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant in London, England
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ICS full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Brilliant training through talent development
    Managers always have your back
    no politics
    simple progression plan
    no thresholds and they have bonus' at all levels - so people aren't restricted in their earnings

    Cons

    I cant think of any

    Advice to Management

    keep it up!

    ICS Response

    21 Jul 2017 – Group HR Director

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review - it's great to read so many positive comments!


  9. Helpful (1)

    "Money driven culture and favouritism"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Back Office Role in Kings Cross, England
    Current Employee - Back Office Role in Kings Cross, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at ICS full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Not any that come to mind.

    Cons

    Bad culture, driven by money. High degree of favouritism in all business areas, opportunities are not the same for everyone. It is very much about what car u drive & how many holidays u go on a year. High levels of turnover in all areas, low salaries and no progression. H&S is also disregarded.

    Advice to Management

    Low morale in back office functions & sales. Senior managers are referred to very negatively.

    ICS Response

    21 Jul 2017 – Group HR Director

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. It's disappointing that your experience with us has not been as positive as we would hope to achieve.

    Obviously some of your comments are... More


  10. "Lacks direction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ICS full-time

    Pros

    If you are related to, or a friend of somebody senior, this is a great place to work.

    Cons

    - Very political.
    - No business strategy - decisions are made based on 'gut feel'.
    - Senior Management chase revenue without considering profit.
    - Too many senior employees have been at ICS for 10 years plus and have no practical experience outside the company.

    Advice to Management

    Formulate a strategy, stop making decisions based on instinct.

    ICS Response

    22 Mar 2017 – Head of HR

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review - it’s disappointing to read that you would not recommend ICS as a great place to work.

    As a business we are passionate about creating long term... More