IG Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

IG Reviews

Updated Oct 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 297 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
67%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
IG CEO June Felix
June Felix
26 Ratings
Pros
  • "Free fruits and nice wall paper in the toilets(in 33 reviews)

  • "Wonderful company, good benefits, inspirational employer(in 19 reviews)

Cons
  • "Attempts to improve usually fail due to lack of support from senior management and procrastination from all involved(in 30 reviews)

  • "No career progression, or just for select few(in 21 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "A great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Head of SEO in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at IG full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    IG is a fantastic place to work and develop as a marketeer. The sector is fast paced and as the markets move every second, there are always opportunities to develop content and engaging campaigns. IG is also a company that enables you to progress. Although, unfortunately, I was only at the company for a short space of time - I was presented with a number of career development opportunities. The future is... bright for IG Group and I wish my ex-colleagues all the best on the exciting journey ahead.

    Show More

    Cons

    None - it has been fantastic.

    IG2019-09-18
  2. "Great place to work at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IOS Developer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at IG full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great working from home opportunities (1-2days/week) Chilled atmosphere Amazing teams and colleagues Lot of social events (monthly office drinks, board game nights, etc) Improving tech stack

    Cons

    Company is business driven, not tech driven

    Advice to Management

    Let the tech and business/product sides of the company be equal parties, allow more time for tech renovation and let the tech dictate the deadlines rather than the business.

    IG2019-09-14
  3. "good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at IG full-time

    Pros

    good atmosphere and good training. Good benefits, too.

    Cons

    was not a career I personally wanted to pursue.

    Advice to Management

    none

    IG2019-09-11
  4. "Good company, but bad times for industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Executive in City of London, England
    Recommends

    I have been working at IG full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Good money, for those who are willing to work hard - Promotions available for those that show promise - 'modern'/relaxed/fin-tech culture coupled with the excitement of a large trading floor - Biggest and most respected trading firm - if you're gonna work in retail trading, with is by far the best firm!

    Cons

    - Commission/sales-schemes are reviewed yearly (at the very least!), so forever changing 'rules' - Industry going through some tough times in terms of new regulations (IG best positioned to deal with these changes, however - compared to other players in the market)

    IG2019-08-15
  5. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Web Developer in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at IG full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people, benefits, environment, hub drinks.

    Cons

    Salary, career advancement, focus not clear

    IG2019-08-13
  6. "So proud to be part of IG"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineering Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IG full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Imagine after all the training and development from school and uni, your next adventure is a workplace that's a university for self development. This is IG. Whether you want to learn about tech, finance or leadership, IG offers opportunities to learn it all in your day-to-day job. While IG has become a large and professional corporate business, we still feel as if we're in a medium sized srartup, changing the world.

    Cons

    Financial regulations and auditing processes can introduce barriers to our acceleration

    Advice to Management

    How can we invent and innovate more?

    IG2019-07-26
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Terrible experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Trader in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at IG full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Free Fruit, tea, coffee, etc - Nice people and a relaxed atmosphere

    Cons

    Where to start is the biggest question in my mind... Here goes: - Misleading job title; you do NOT do any sales and no trading. A more appropriate job title would be "customer service representative". - Lack of progression, though, from what I hear this is something they're attempting to change though not entirely sure how effective it will be with everyone wanting to move from the department. - Lack of... direction with the business with only one arm making any money and the rest being used for some insignificant cross-sell. - Political culture - Terrible management. - "Head of" title being given to everyone under the sun. All in all, an awful experience. This role is a 2-year role MAX if you're a fresh grad and desperate for a job. Don't go into this company if you are looking for a career.

    Show More
    IG2019-08-17
  8. "A lot of restructure and leadership changes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Architect 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IG full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Clear business strategy Fair employers

    Cons

    Not enough autonomy Slow on the adoption curve

    Advice to Management

    Listen to recommendation from the wow group. Empoer them and back them.

    IG2019-07-25
  9. "Good perks, difficult to move up"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IG full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    * Socials * Benefits package * Flexible working * Inclusive

    Cons

    * Promotions/ pay rises difficult to achieve * Company seem to prefer hiring new people than promoting from within - harms morale * Non creatives making creative decisions * Working day too long

    IG2019-06-18
  10. "Account"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at IG full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Dynamic , innovative, responsive, profitable, customers friendly

    Cons

    Competitive, risk taker, multinational, liquid, forward thinking

    Advice to Management

    Focus

    IG2019-05-22
Found 297 reviews
</>Embed