IHS Markit Analyst Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

IHS Markit Analyst Reviews

Updated 17 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
65%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
IHS Markit CEO Lance Uggla
Lance Uggla
69 Ratings
  1. "Excellent CEO and great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Analyst in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IHS Markit full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Inspirational CEO who values all colleagues equally.

    Cons

    Compensation increases need to be better.

    IHS Markit2019-12-18
  2. "Good place but upper management needs improvement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst in London, England
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at IHS Markit part-time

    Pros

    Great place to learn from other colleagues, has a great reputation

    Cons

    Upper management can be incredibly stubborn, only care about the money, have several sexist managers at the top.

    IHS Markit2020-01-15
  3. "Career outlook highly role dependant."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Research Analyst in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at IHS Markit full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good work-life balance Established company brand Some really capable colleagues Other roles may be more interesting

    Cons

    No development pathway Work easy and not mentally taxing Intellectual horsepower not valued Lack of project management experience at first level and second level leader positions Most higher management better at politics than anything else 2 consecutive years of 0% pay increase

    Advice to Management

    Empower your employees to drive their career or else higher less skilled workers who are more interested in a conformable job than stretching themselves.

    IHS Markit2019-12-31
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Many opportunities to grow abound"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Principal Analyst in Aberdeen, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at IHS Markit full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Generous benefits Shares - depending on .org level

    Cons

    You have to direct and push your own development.

    Advice to Management

    Managers should identify toxic team members, then either rehabilitate them or remove them.

    IHS Markit2019-11-11
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Friendly woking culture and flexible working location"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Analyst II 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IHS Markit full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You have the freedom to work at your own pace.

    Cons

    Local management is lacking. Company needs to improve on having an integrated methodology to train employees as well as a clear culture and value definition.

    IHS Markit2019-09-20
  6. "Very good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Contractor - Analyst 

    I have been working at IHS Markit

    Pros

    Big company, good reputation, opportunities for growth

    Cons

    None that are of any importance

    IHS Markit2019-09-07
  7. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Analyst II in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IHS Markit full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nice work environment, social activities. Inspiring CEO.

    Cons

    Wish bonus payments were a bit higher and related more to individual performance. Sometimes when a part of the company does poorly, your bonus is cut despite your team doing very well.

    IHS Markit2019-08-17
  8. Helpful (1)

    "member of the Maritime and trade team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst 
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at IHS Markit full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    very good culture, nice place to work in general

    Cons

    low salaries and no career opportunities within the company

    IHS Markit2019-07-02
  9. "A good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Analyst in London, England
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at IHS Markit full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lovely offices, good work/life balance. Plenty of social events.

    Cons

    Flexible working frowned upon in some departments.

    IHS Markit2019-03-06
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Senior Technical Research Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Technical Research Analyst II in Tetbury, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at IHS Markit full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very relaxed, good benefits, nice working hours

    Cons

    They didn't pay me correctly for 9 months and failed to back pay. So I left. HR is a joke at IHS. Almost zero career prospects unless you have 3 PhDs with 20 years experience and are going for jobs advertised as 3-5 years experience required. Then you have a small outside chance

    Advice to Management

    Pay your staff correctly. I wasn't the only one affected

    IHS Markit2019-02-12
Found 293 reviews