IMVU Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

IMVU Reviews

Updated 19 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.1
41%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
IMVU CEO Daren Tsui (no image)
Daren Tsui
7 Ratings
  1. "Leadership, Culture, and Compensation is the company's greatest strength"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director of Marketing in Redwood City, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IMVU full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I've never worked at a place where my contribution has been more valued. Autonomy has been a highly valuable way to learn and grow in my position, yet leadership is always there to support me and answer questions without making me feel like I should always know the right answer. The executive team is highly approachable and supportive, but more importantly honest and operates with transparency and integrity. I am compensated more than fairly which is appreciated, but truly the company culture, its people, and its global mission to spread the power of friendship is what keeps me here.

    Cons

    My commute is a struggle, however I have a flexible work from home schedule that helps. Additionally, the work and the role is demanding, but I love the challenge and I'd expect nothing less from a successful company in Silicon Valley. That said, my work-life balance is recognized.

    Continue reading
    IMVU2020-03-20
  2. "Good place to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Director in Redwood City, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IMVU

    Pros

    Family like culture, innovative CEO and smart colleagues. Location flexibility, a lot of people work from home on some days.

    Cons

    Platform is outdated but IMVU is planning to launch a new, exciting platform this year. Free meals they provide are unhealthy and not good.

    Continue reading
    IMVU2020-02-17
  3. "A culture that practices what it preaches"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Redwood City, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IMVU full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Positive attitude, humble leadership, growth opportunities, friendly environment, good in-office perks, flexible work-life balance opportunities, excellent management.

    Cons

    Tight budgets mean some departments are under-staffed.

    IMVU2020-01-16
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Good People W/ Lost Leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graphic Designer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at IMVU full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I put a lot of love, care, and hard work into this company for the almost three years I worked with there. IMVU has a talented and kind pool of employees eager to collaborate, support each other, and do well. At its best, the company can be a great place to grow with talented and devoted individuals. This is largely due to the caring loyal employees who fight hard to try and maintain the company’s original transparent work environment and support system. The remaining work culture with these good people can motivate and make you feel part of something bigger than yourself as you work towards IMVU’s interesting and lofty goals.

    Cons

    Currently IMVU’s profitability is built at the cost of the employee pool. If you work for this company you can expect frequent burn out due to constant crunching, to work during vacation/off hours, constant politics from SVPs or VPs, and low pay compared to other companies demanding less work. For new employees, it is easy to miss these issues but overtime it becomes unbearable. IMVU declined drastically after the hiring of the current CEO and in particular, of his new executive staff. The CEO seems to have good intentions but is under experienced and uniformed about the type of services IMVU develops. He is separated from rest of the company and communicates mostly with a small group of execs and managers who tend not to be interested in their employee’s perspectives or day to day work. Questionable executive hires/decisions were made, despite outspoken employee objections and major ethical red flags made under his watch. Constructive criticism is often met with disregard and in extreme cases, layoffs of individuals. There is no accountability for bad behavior, including those who use their department resources for personal gain rather than the company goals. A lot of IMVU’s talent has been slowly driven away by leadership’s neglect of details, organization, clear direction, support, and transparent communication. The remaining staff have had to increase work loads without proper support for new demands. This is especially true for the departments focused on product planning including engineering, marketing, and design. Some SVPs intentionally drive divide between employees in favor of their own personal goals at the cost of the organization. The HR executive has been made aware of the unsustainable practices and ethical issues but no action has been taken. Full teams of loyal workers have chose to leave the company due to feeling undervalued and ignored causing IMVU’s best talent, to leave for more humane treatment, transparent intent, and better pay. This unfortunately has caused more work for the remaining staff who have to pick up the pieces. It is due to these experiences, I sadly can’t recommend employment at IMVU despite hoping for the best for the company’s future and the employees well being.

    Continue reading
    IMVU2019-07-18
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Very happy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IMVU full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    People are super friendly. Some employees are very talented. New and promising products. Work-life balance and flexibility is among the best in bay area. Satellite offices in different locations across bay area. Large users base and high traffic products across platforms.

    Cons

    Could provide lunch 5 times per week instead of 3 times. Pay more attention to direction and decision making before putting a lot of work into it.

    IMVU2019-05-10
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Probably any role but marketing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - UA Manager in Redwood City, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at IMVU full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    IMVU went through some CEO changes and finally has a better idea on what their goal is. The culture is fun and the events are great! Helps moral.

    Cons

    - Marketing is probably the least structured and management is the worse. - Marketing is also probably the least liked in the company, so expect other teams to think very little of what marketing has to say. - Be prepared to work weekends and late hours, you're pretty much on call and it's not for an emergency. - The company hires employees to fill the roles but often time they don't mesh well with the team and you're walking on eggshells or teams are not cooperating well with each other. - High turnover in teams, my whole team (3+) quit before their 1 year - huge wage discrepancy

    Continue reading
    IMVU2019-04-27
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Worked for about 2 years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at IMVU full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Hard to find good reason to work other the people are good by heart.

    Cons

    Bad culture and terrible management. They are so indecisive. too much politics.

    Continue reading
    IMVU2019-05-03
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Please run while you can"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Development Engineer in Redwood City, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at IMVU full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Healthcare coverage was the best I have seen in a long time Great benefits, and opportunities to work from home

    Cons

    Management is a disaster, everything is about money.... how can we extort users for more money? They did an overhaul of their community management, and profited off of top creators by partnering with them. In the end, they banned her for no reason. No sense of direction in terms of product vision. The product itself is outdated. They are too focused on stopping users from buying credits from other sources, that they don't focus on their product vision.

    Continue reading
    IMVU2019-03-22
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Great team, bad product"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at IMVU full-time

    Pros

    Team is smart and hard working

    Cons

    Product is full of porn

    IMVU2018-12-12
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Promising team and nice culture!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Redwood City, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IMVU full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Super friendly team including leadership - welcoming environment - lot of things to learn - knowledgeable people who are keen to help - pre ipo - free food and drinks - work from home - unlimited PTO

    Cons

    - few process are still not streamlined but I see hardworking people already on to it !!

    Continue reading
    IMVU2018-09-27
Found 39 reviews
</>Embed