Iceland Foods Frontline Staff Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Iceland Foods Frontline Staff Reviews

Updated May 24, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

1.9
85%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
Iceland Foods Chairman and CEO Malcolm C. Walker
Malcolm C. Walker
7 Ratings
  1. "Frontline Iceland"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Frontline Staff in Liverpool, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Iceland Foods part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I've worked for Iceland for over 20 years I enjoy my work and challenges great place to work and enjoy working with the pubic

    Cons

    I work doing date alerter and love getting 100% love my job love the customers great place to work best shop

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work

    Iceland Foods2017-06-29
  2. "Iceland"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Frontline Staff in Derby, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Iceland Foods for more than a year

    Pros

    Good wage. Easy low skill job.

    Cons

    Bad work environment. Heavy work load.

    Advice to Management

    Give more support to frontline staff

    Iceland Foods2019-05-25
  3. Helpful (2)

    "You get to be yourself, but may be spread thinly due to staff shortages."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Frontline Staff in Bolton, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Iceland Foods part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Staff discount, you can be yourself, you can learn all aspects of being staff, and there’s great potential to move up.

    Cons

    You can find you either have far too many hours or not enough depending on staff availability. Can be spread thinly across the shop if there’s only a few staff in.

    Advice to Management

    Hire more staff so we can give better service.

    Iceland Foods2018-08-02
  4. "Good place to start!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Frontline Staff 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Iceland Foods part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly co-workers, simple job, rewarding environment

    Cons

    Can often be some bad customers

    Iceland Foods2018-06-14
  5. "Frontline staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Frontline Staff 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Iceland Foods part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Kept busy. Nice people. Cheap prices

    Cons

    Very low hourly rate. Checked up its the lowest in all of the supermarkets 7.83

    Advice to Management

    Recently claimed they were giving a 2.6% pay rise to all staff which turned out a complete lie as minimum wage rose to there so called pay award pretty disgusting actually. Even if was slightly higher than minimum wage would be sufficient but leagues apart from what other supermarkets pay

    Iceland Foods2018-04-03
  6. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Frontline Staff in Wrexham, Wales
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Iceland Foods part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great employee benefits, 2 front line pay raises in 1 year, Christmas bonus for every employee. The company have regular meetings with staff representatives to hear their views and ideas and actually do listen and implement new ideas wherever possible.

    Cons

    Not many and not enough to mention

    Iceland Foods2017-01-30
  7. "happy employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Frontline Staff in Wigan, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Iceland Foods part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Happy friendly feel good working environment with brilliant managers/supervisors that understand people and are encouraging .overall best place to work

    Cons

    the checkouts are dated and could do with new ones .

    Iceland Foods2015-10-11
  8. "frontline team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Frontline Staff in Basildon, South East England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Iceland Foods part-time

    Pros

    There are no pros for working for iceland

    Cons

    Staffs attitude towards other staff

    Advice to Management

    Review staff

    Iceland Foods2015-11-05
  9. Helpful (3)

    "A huge rollercoaster."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Frontline Staff in London, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Iceland Foods part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Not really anything to talk about. The checkouts are easy and mostly everything is pretty straight forward. You get a 10% discount?

    Cons

    Company are cheap and make huge cuts to already ridiculous hours. Your hours can go as low as 7 and a half, and when you need to pay bills, it's just not good enough. The company will also waste thousands of pounds per store just on new tickets and backing boards and such, which is also ridiculous.

    Advice to Management

    Stop wasting money on tickets, backing boards and moving things around. Also, if you are to cut everyone's hours and think that they're gonna be working harder because you've given them less hours, you're all deluded.

    Iceland Foods2015-07-16
Found 9 reviews