Iceland Foods Manager Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Iceland Foods Manager Reviews

Updated 14 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 145 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
44%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Iceland Foods CEO Malcolm C. Walker
Malcolm C. Walker
101 Ratings
  1. "great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Duty Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Iceland Foods part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    better pay than when on duty manager role

    Cons

    workload, stress, treated as a supervisor with less pay

    Iceland Foods2019-07-02
  2. "Looking for management roles"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager On Duty in Wakefield, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Iceland Foods for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The people I worked with and customers And company was good to work for

    Cons

    Can be hard when deliveries cone late and you have a target to reach

    Advice to Management

    Have to be hardworking and motivated and enthusiastic and brilliant with customer services

    Iceland Foods2019-07-14
  3. "it’s ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Deeside, Wales
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Iceland Foods full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amazing canteen, not much in the way of benefits otherwise. I think if you want to for many people, you can leave at 5pm on the dot most days (70% of staff do) although most managers don’t. Pay is competitive.

    Cons

    Not much opportunity to progress. Lots of redundancies. Very old school, no flexible working and smart dress every day.

    Advice to Management

    Modernise.

    Iceland Foods2019-06-22
  4. "Store manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Belfast, Northern Ireland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Iceland Foods full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fast paced kept busy Hardworking colleagues

    Cons

    No work life balance Too many expectations with not enough support

    Iceland Foods2019-06-27
  5. "Good opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Deputy Manager in Leicester, England

    I worked at Iceland Foods full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good opportunity to progress.

    Cons

    Home delivery can go very wrong and always need attention which puts you behind in day to day tasks.

    Advice to Management

    Stringent process for home delivery

    Iceland Foods2019-06-09
  6. "Availability"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Iceland Foods full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The best company to work for

    Cons

    Working more the contracted hours

    Iceland Foods2019-06-05
  7. "Iceland"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Duty Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Iceland Foods part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Work colleagues are good people

    Cons

    Not enough hours, poor pay

    Advice to Management

    Management does not look after staff like they used to

    Iceland Foods2019-06-15
  8. "Alright"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Duty Manager 

    I worked at Iceland Foods part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    A lot of holiday and staff were nice

    Cons

    Area manager didn’t care much about the shop as it was the lowest taking store on area

    Iceland Foods2019-05-26
  9. "Not worth it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Duty Manager in Derby, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Iceland Foods part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    10% discount And that's literally it...

    Cons

    Expected to work for free Don't pay us duty manager allowance so we're on minimum wage but expect the same from us No work life balance

    Advice to Management

    No one listens anyway not even area managers or higher up as long as the store is open and trading they don't care

    Iceland Foods2019-06-25
  10. "Good national employer, poor local area management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Manager 

      I worked at Iceland Foods full-time

      Pros

      Good company, good ethics and investment in staff

      Cons

      bad area management in North East Scotland

      Iceland Foods2019-05-20
    Found 145 reviews