Iceland Foods Reviews

Updated 12 May 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
52%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
Iceland Foods Chairman and CEO Malcolm C. Walker
Malcolm C. Walker
527 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay for the amount of work(in 89 reviews)

  • "10% staff discount with some double discount weeks(in 32 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Work life balance isn’t the best(in 49 reviews)

  • "bad management long hours when over hour dont get paid(in 30 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great job

      9 May 2021 - Retail Assistant in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Was great to work there

      Cons

      No cons, brill job tbh

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Felt like a family unit

      10 May 2021 - Team Member in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Challenging,Flexible,Different task each Day,Hard work,

      Cons

      Sometimes understaffed when the store gets busy

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Nice, friendly company- like a family

      18 Apr 2021 - Sales Assistant in Birmingham, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - flexible shifts, I work on weekends or after school - friendly staff -amazing, nice boss -good pay for my age- minimum pay for any basic sales assistant is now £9 an hour regardless of age (I started when I was 16) -we get vouchers at xmas/for new products/events at Iceland or Food Warehouse stores

      Cons

      -wish we had slightly longer breaks -have to work for a certain amount of time to get a 10% discount but I'm not too fussed

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Good as a temporary job

      3 May 2021 - Online Picker 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -pay is good but they always take breaks off your pay when you don't actually get breaks -easy job

      Cons

      -would call me up at 5 and ask me to come in, when I did, didn't even pay me, always asked day before -put me on 5 days in row starting at 4am, as an 18 year old student on a 7.5 hour contract -bad with paying properly -wouldn't let me have my break until 30 mins before I finished

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Good job

      8 May 2021 - Iceland Retail Assistant in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very chilled Good training Nice people

      Cons

      Can get stressful Workload can be intense sometimes

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Don’t bother

      19 Mar 2021 - Cleaner 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Basically when you go in on a morning and it messy and you clean up and look again to see what a difference you have made

      Cons

      They lie to you in interview I got told I wouldn’t have to work every weekend and that is all I did was work weekends constantly! They said that I would get a discount card I never did! And the pay of £100 a week isn’t acceptable for the work that gets put onto you! They didn’t seem to care about me I was never involved in any conversations, I was completely cut off by everyone including the manager it made it feel like I wasn’t wanted there and that I didn’t fit in or belong there! I was suffering at the time with medication withdrawal symptoms and it seemed they didn’t even blink or bat an eye lid!! Not even seeming to care when I had no choice to go on sick! They would arrange meetings at unsociable times on a morning! Knowing full that people would have difficulty getting there!

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Good work

      6 May 2021 - Sales Associate/Cashier 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good hours, friendly and hard working team

      Cons

      Sometimes not enough hours or work

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Disorganised, Dysfunctional and Disrespectful

      24 Feb 2021 - Online Picker (Nights) in Newport, Newport, Wales, Wales
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The work itself is fairly easy and straightforward.

      Cons

      The management was absolutely awful, incredibly disorganised and had absolutely no regards for COVID restrictions. Throughout my time at Iceland (I left after 10 weeks), I was the only night shift worker who wore a mask and maintained distance. There were absolutely no rules given to staff regarding COVID, and a member of staff even stated openly that she had COVID symptoms but didn't care. Also, on my first shift I wasn't given a tour of the place, I wasn't introduced to the team and there was absolutely no information given involving COVID rules. The other major problem with the job is the disorganisation of the shift managers. Quite often, what was supposed to be a four hour shift turned into a ten hour shift, because management hadn't put enough people on to cope with the demands of online orders. At the time I was working to put myself through University and so, on certain days I couldn't stay longer than the four or five hours that I was rota'd in for. I was told off for leaving 'early' by several members of staff, even though that was the time that my shift ended.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Decent part time job

      4 May 2021 - Iceland Retail Assistant in Tonbridge, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nice people Fast paced environment Positive management

      Cons

      Long hours Average facilities Okay

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Duty manager

      29 Apr 2021 - Duty Manager in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good environment to start work Great benefits Great structure

      Cons

      Customers can be rude Not enough time to carry out work 0 hour to 13 hour part time contract

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,112 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Iceland Foods Job Seekers

    Retail Assistant
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Food Warehouse Store Manager
    Learn About the Job
    Non Trade Duty Manager/Front Line Staff
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Iceland Foods? Share Your Experiences

    Iceland Foods logo
    or