Iceland Foods Shop Assistant Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Find jobs for Shop Assistant

Iceland Foods Shop Assistant Reviews

Updated 10 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 11 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
95%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Iceland Foods CEO Malcolm C. Walker
Malcolm C. Walker
7 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "iceland bulwell"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shop Assistant in Bulwell, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Iceland Foods

    Pros

    I enjoyed working with the staff there , they were all friendly . It was like one big happy family

    Cons

    I don't have any cons

    Advice to Management

    keep doing what your doing

    Iceland Foods2015-11-05
  2. "Good Wage for Younger Staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shop Assistant in Chelmsford, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Iceland Foods part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    All staff get paid the same rate regardless of age, meaning at 16 you were earning the same as any 25+ year old. Massive bonus.

    Cons

    Would ask for you to work extra, just as a shift was coming to an end. Would go in from 8-1.30 and end up staying to 5.30. Would have to work at least half an hour extra to get extra pay, but if you left a few minutes early (all work done after shop closed), you would be docked 15 minutes pay

    Advice to Management

    Plan further in advance

    Iceland Foods2019-06-10
  3. "The Food Warehouse- Good Retail job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shop Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Iceland Foods part-time

    Pros

    Excellent wage for students £8.62 per hour as standard plus paid holiday Good management Security guard at all stores

    Cons

    Sometimes pressured into taking on more hours Deliveries are always late

    Advice to Management

    Sort out the stock deliveries and make the payslips easier to understand.

    Iceland Foods2018-04-26
  4. "Avoid in london, outside of london not too bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shop Floor Assistant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Iceland Foods part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Able to transfer between stores to fit university schedule

    Cons

    Terrible availability of hours to complete work demanded Free overtime expected Staff forced to break laws - such as leaving milk out of the chiller overnight as not enough space Us vs them mentality from management and seniors

    Advice to Management

    In London - Stop pressuring store managers to the point where they are forced to exploit staff. Allocate more hours to budget.

    Iceland Foods2018-05-07
  5. "Shop Floor Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shop Assistant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Iceland Foods for less than a year

    Pros

    work in team and develop alot of skills. Such as team work, independant thinking and interpersonal skills

    Cons

    short staffed, so you are constantly over worked and under paid. Senior management are not fully trained.

    Advice to Management

    To properly train senior managment. Have peridoical team review days and discussions to allow for smooth daily operations.

    Iceland Foods2016-11-03
  6. "Working Life Of An Iceland Employee."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shop Assistant in Poole, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Iceland Foods

    Pros

    friendly environment to work at, the pay is decent get paid more than most retailers for a standard position.

    Cons

    No set routaer which means you could be working different days times each week, uniform is pretty basic and boring.

    Advice to Management

    management side of the company is pretty stressful a lot of pressure resumed in them, but everyone's attitude that is up their are spot on.

    Iceland Foods2015-10-19
  7. "Great team and store"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shop Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Iceland Foods

    Pros

    Amazing team that I work with, everyone helps each other out, management staff are brilliant and down to earth. Overall great store to work in

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Advice to Management

    Keep up what you are doing as your doing a great job

    Iceland Foods2015-10-11
  8. "They are like a second family, trusting and honest."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shop Assistant in Stirling, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Iceland Foods full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Everyone gets on well with each other. The open door policy with my boss, I can easily talk about ANYTHING in full confidence. A lot of variety during m work days, a mixture of checkouts, cleaning, stacking etc so I'm always motivated . If I need training or feel uncomfortable with something, I can request it ad receive it at an agreed upon time. There's a great progressive route to develop myself if i choose my career...

    Show More

    Cons

    I know contracts and go down to 7.5 hours a week but at my branch if I ever need more hours I can always ask and receive. So although its problematic, there's no reason for the branches to give more hours unless sales are down. Which inevitability is going to happen to businesses from time to time.

    Advice to Management

    My advice to managers (especially my own), is to keep up the exceptional work. :)

    Iceland Foods2014-09-03
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Problems with my pay numerous times and bad hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shop Assistant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Iceland Foods full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Because you get a discount card, good holiday time, meeting customers and improving skills

    Cons

    Problems with pay, minimum hours, no clock in.

    Advice to Management

    The pay rate is good and you get good holiday time but there is no clock in so you could be paid short and its your word for the managers. The store also expects too much from an individual. Not enough staff on busy days.

    Iceland Foods2014-06-14
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Could be better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shop Assistant in Hull, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Iceland Foods part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    rate of pay made a couple of friends for life good staff parties

    Cons

    the more you do for the company the more they stab you in the back. no morals, they say they're going to do one thing but don't actually carry it through! if your face fits then you will get to go further with the company or nowhere at all if you don't want to!

    Advice to Management

    they only seem to want to train their favourite's in store. only wanna give extra hours to same people all the time and don't give other people a chance. should stand there ground with other members of management and not let them get there own way, they're the manager after all!

    Iceland Foods2014-05-06
Found 11 reviews