Iceland Foods "long hours" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Iceland Foods Employee Reviews about "long hours"

Updated 17 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 609 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
52%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
Iceland Foods CEO Malcolm C. Walker
Malcolm C. Walker
344 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay, good flexability for all people one floor or in the field(in 53 reviews)

  • "10% discount (20% for some time near Xmas)(in 24 reviews)

Cons
  • "Work-life balance can be difficult depending on shift times given(in 37 reviews)

  • "Be prepared to work for free and long hours to keep on top of your job(in 22 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "long hours"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Reality At Iceland"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Duty Manager in Colchester, England
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Iceland Foods part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Full time contract great CEO

    Cons

    Very short staffed with expectations to deliver champagne standards on frosty jacks cider budget Security a major concern on late nights due lack of any staff due to cutting costs over the years Be prepared to work for free and long hours to keep on top of your job . Ask what labour turnover for managers /Delivery drivers /staff was across the company in 2018 Speak to your...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop listening to your area managers/ regional managers talk to your field troops /store teams/managers for a honest and real feedback on stores low moral . Act upon feedback to restore the legend back at Iceland

    Iceland Foods2019-01-26
  2. "Store manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Iceland Foods full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good salary good yearly conference

    Cons

    Long hours high work load small wage budget

    Iceland Foods2018-12-04
  3. Helpful (6)

    "Very poor all round"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Swansea, Wales
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Iceland Foods full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Pay is average - Holiday allowance is fairly generous, but good luck finding the time to take holidays!

    Cons

    - Too many procedures - Not enough autonomy for management or staff - Grievances get ignored or aren't taken seriously - Shockingly poor work/life balance - if you have a family outside of Iceland, forget it! Your 'family' is the company and your work colleagues as far as the company are concerned! - Excessively long hours with no extra pay - sometimes working 05:00 - 20:30...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    If you want to streamline the business and turn yourself in to a 'discounter', then do it in the correct manner. Simply cutting back on staff isn't the answer - you first need to look for efficiencies that can be made in your policies, procedures and supply chain. Respect the work/life balance of staff - some of us to have family at home, not all of us are single and dedicated soley to the job!

    Iceland Foods2018-08-14
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Average pay but low for the work you do"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant in Gateshead, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Iceland Foods part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Staff, Always Hours, Discounts, these are all great reasons for working at Iceland. All of these reasons will make the job feel worth it.

    Cons

    Weird Shifts, Long hours, Unstable Timetables. These things happen to often and are hard to change or negotiate once put into place

    Iceland Foods2018-02-28
  5. "okay !"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Driver in Herne Bay, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Iceland Foods full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    +weekly pay +driver rate +always paid correctly 20+ days holiday

    Cons

    +long hours +can be unorganized at times

    Iceland Foods2017-11-21
  6. "Senior supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Supervisor in Hartlepool, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Iceland Foods full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good place to work

    Cons

    Some long hours lots change overs in the year

    Advice to Management

    Management team is ok

    Iceland Foods2017-11-08

    Iceland Foods Response

    November 20, 2017Recruitment Manager

    Thank you for your review. If there's anything more you'd like to tell us then please contact glassdoor@Iceland.co.uk

  7. Helpful (4)

    "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Iceland Foods full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Salary, 10% discount, savings scheme, colleagues, customers

    Cons

    Long hours, work/life balance, unrealistic expectations, physically demanding, lack of progression

    Advice to Management

    The direction the company is currently going is concerning. Some dubious business decisions being made with little communication given to staff. Expectations getting higher and unrealistic. Concerned about the companys future long term

    Iceland Foods2017-11-02

    Iceland Foods Response

    November 21, 2017Recruitment Manager

    Thank you for adding a review. We'd like to hear more. You can contact us directly at glassdoor@Iceland.co.uk

  8. "sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Iceland Foods

    Pros

    good for a weekend job

    Cons

    low pay long hours bad management

    Iceland Foods2017-10-29

    Iceland Foods Response

    November 20, 2017Recruitment Manager

    Thanks for the review. It's brief so we'd like to know more. It's the only way we can look to improve our employee experience. Please email us at glassdoor@Iceland.co.uk We average a score of 3.6/5 so we'd like to understand more regarding the 'cons' you've highlighted.

  9. Helpful (6)

    "Diabolical company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Senior Supervisor in Ferndown, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Iceland Foods full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Staff discount, not a lot else

    Cons

    Expected to work through breaks, expected to work over your hours for nothing, too much is expected of the few staff that work in stores now, cut backs on hours make it impossible to get the work done, impacts on customer availability, no work life balance due to long hours, no appreciation given , work hours changed with no consultation and at very short notice, expected to...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Treat your employees like they matter,

    Iceland Foods2017-11-12

    Iceland Foods Response

    November 20, 2017Recruitment Manager

    It doesn't sound like you've had a positive experience and we're disappointed to hear that. We'd really like to hear more so please contact us at glassdoor@Iceland.co.uk

  10. Helpful (1)

    "Fun but dangerous"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier and Sales Assistant in Brentwood, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Iceland Foods for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Manager was finally let go but took way to long considering. organised, lots of opportunities to progress

    Cons

    Long hours, felt like management was trying to trick me Manager was rude, harassed employees and very inappropriate uniform

    Advice to Management

    higher management should value employees opinion more and connect more with them not just store managers

    Iceland Foods2017-09-07
Found 609 reviews