Iceland Foods "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Iceland Foods Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated 11 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 607 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
52%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
Iceland Foods CEO Malcolm C. Walker
Malcolm C. Walker
344 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay, good flexability for all people one floor or in the field(in 53 reviews)

  • "10% discount (20% for some time near Xmas)(in 24 reviews)

Cons
  • "Work-life balance can be difficult depending on shift times given(in 37 reviews)

  • "Be prepared to work for free and long hours to keep on top of your job(in 22 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Store manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Belfast, Northern Ireland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Iceland Foods full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fast paced kept busy Hardworking colleagues

    Cons

    No work life balance Too many expectations with not enough support

    Iceland Foods2019-06-27
  2. "East going place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Assistant in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Iceland Foods part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Pay is decent - Holiday is easily approved - Allow extended periods of time off (unpaid) - Easy work

    Cons

    - Can be backlogs of inventory which create stressful situations when targets need to be met for restocking. - Meeting expectations for restocking can be difficult - Work-life balance can be difficult depending on shift times given

    Advice to Management

    - Better people management and more efficient practices, as well as setting realistic targets for deliveries.

    Iceland Foods2019-06-05
  3. "Not worth it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Duty Manager in Derby, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Iceland Foods part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    10% discount And that's literally it...

    Cons

    Expected to work for free Don't pay us duty manager allowance so we're on minimum wage but expect the same from us No work life balance

    Advice to Management

    No one listens anyway not even area managers or higher up as long as the store is open and trading they don't care

    Iceland Foods2019-06-25
  4. "Store Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Bristol, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Iceland Foods full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I progressed quickly within the organisation and was given a lot of responsibility quickly. This allowed me to learn a lot within a short period of time.

    Cons

    No work life balance, unsupportive of commitments out of work, no flexible working, made to step down post maternity leave as i didn't want to work full time. No consideration of a job share.

    Advice to Management

    This job is a good position if you want to be fully engulfed in a fast paced, high pressured culture. However, it is not a role that I would recommend for anyone who is looking for any sort of work-life balance.

    Iceland Foods2019-03-26
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Customers leaving"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Assistant in Norwich, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Iceland Foods part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Slightly more than minimum wage but it’ll just rise to the minimum wage in April.

    Cons

    Instore Home Delivery is chaos! Customers threatening not to come back. Lack of hours - expected to travel into work for a 3hr shift is maddening. Work/life balance is too pro on life & forgets I actually need to money to live. Allocate more hours.

    Advice to Management

    Have more than 1 person on checkout! No customers should have to queue down the isles. Have a dedicated checkout for baskets/under 10 items so they don’t have to wait behind a +£100 Home delivery for 10 minutes. Especially when they haven’t even signed up to your Bonus card & I need to input ALL their details at the till... hello GDPR! Customers don’t like handing out their details in front of a massive, pissed off...

    Show More
    Iceland Foods2019-03-28
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Old fashioned working environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Solutions Architect in Liverpool, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Iceland Foods full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay and great restaurant

    Cons

    No option for flexibility to allow for real work/life balance. Cannot start early or later and no working from home.

    Advice to Management

    Chances are if your employee is happy then it can only benefit your business, and if offering flexible working is one of the ways to achieve it, then surely it’s a no-brainer?

    Iceland Foods2019-02-23
  7. "Okay place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Iceland Foods part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay - Uniform - Customers - Staff - Contractors

    Cons

    Work life balance Too much work to do

    Iceland Foods2019-02-11
  8. Helpful (3)

    "They sell you it's a great company don't be fooled."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Iceland Foods full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay is good for size of store.

    Cons

    No work life balance.. non existent to be exact. Lack of training Hours model is not fit for purpose not even close. Systems are prehistoric Rewards for those faces that fit by promotion etc.. If you do your job with integrity you don't achieve kpis and get it in the neck. Training is well they expect you just to fill the shop your training in. Then the stores tell you...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Instead of taking everyone to Vegas. Spend the investment on stores hours model. So as managers we can lead our teams, coach them, Develop them so that when you are day off your not scared what you are walking into. Listen to those that have came from different companies we have ideas and ways of working that could help the company. Invest in the hours so that you are able to achieve the standards they want. I...

    Show More
    Iceland Foods2019-01-12
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Store Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Sheffield, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Iceland Foods full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It's a job........and the pays the bills.

    Cons

    Senior haven't got a clue about workforce management. 1970s culture. No work life balance.

    Advice to Management

    Review labour turnover and ask yourself again why is it so high, why are we always recruiting?

    Iceland Foods2018-12-17
  10. "Working at Iceland"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Stirling, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Iceland Foods full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good culture and working conditions

    Cons

    Noh work life balance

    Advice to Management

    Improve work life balance

    Iceland Foods2018-11-05
Found 607 reviews