Illumina Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Illumina Reviews

Updated 6 Apr 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
76%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Illumina President & CEO Francis deSouza
Francis deSouza
410 Ratings
Pros
  • "It is an exciting, fast paced company where things are always evolving(in 83 reviews)

  • "Management that emphasizes work/life balance(in 71 reviews)

Cons
  • "Some groups have less work/life balance than others(in 67 reviews)

  • "Fast-paced environment and constant changes in project and management(in 61 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Scientist II in Cambridge, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Illumina full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great culture Great people Wonderful building in Cambridge

    Cons

    I like everything about it

    Illumina2019-10-19
  2. "Awesome company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff Scientist in Cambridge, England
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Illumina full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Leader in its field, innovative and fun.

    Cons

    There are no cons to speak of.

    Illumina2020-04-06
  3. "Amazing people!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior DevOps Engineer in Cambridge, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Illumina full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I have been working at Illumina for almost three years, and I can definitively assert that it is an astonishing company. The most valuable thing at Illumina is the people. Everybody shares the same value, the same vision, and there is a level of understanding and politeness hardly to find anywhere else. Kudos to Illumina for this unbelievable atmosphere.

    Cons

    Salaries are slightly lower than the corresponding market level. Senior Management had no clear clue about how to influence the stock market positively, and I think they lost a bit the way.

    Illumina2020-03-29
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Average"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous in Cambridge, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Illumina full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits are good here, still some good people.

    Cons

    Lack of genuine leadership.

    Continue reading
    Illumina2020-02-17
  5. "Is a great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Commercial Support in Cambridge, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Illumina full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great place to work. Nice environment

    Cons

    The salary should be more competitive

    Illumina2020-01-20
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Great place to work but lacking in structure and implementation strategy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior DevOps Engineer in Cambridge, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Illumina full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I worked in the UK office and was able to benefit from the opening of the new UK office in 2019. This was a great office with lots of facilities. Whilst being outside of Cambridge it was easy to get to. Staff were all friendly and supportive with a great atmosphere. Lots of great benefits, flexible time off and working was great having school age children and requiring the flexibility around them.

    Cons

    From a team level interactions were great and everyone helped each other out. The team would have regularly lunches out or have lunch together. Ultimately this had a negative connotation where there was an expectation amongst members of the team that everyone would join in and if you didn't there was an perception that you were not being a team player. The biggest con for me was a lack of structure and planning around work activities. There were several senior engineers who would breeze through implementing solutions or changes leaving a trail of destruction in their wake. Manually deployed cloud instances or configuration, cascading image templates or custom scripts. Ignoring automation and tooling that was in place and bypassing any documentation. Leaving the rest of the team to pick up the pieces and try and get things into a maintainable state. Work was performed on an ad-hoc basis with individuals deciding what they were going to do on a daily basis with no drive or importance on tasks. Get bored move onto something else. Line managers were no driving improvements and even when an agile approach was decided by new management things continued in the same vein. An attempt on my part as a lead to draw up a plan or action and a backlog of prioritised work to drive improvements and offer statistics on lead and delivery times was frowned upon as not 'moving quickly and embracing change'. The final kicker was an unforeseen decision my new senior management to cut head count. Being made redundant with the work of 4 moved to 2 people. Feedback given was that I spent too much time planning and had no skills in a product that I was not placed to look after. Found somewhere better to notice that they re-advertised for my position 1 week after I started my new job.

    Continue reading
    Illumina2020-01-24
  7. "Pace, energy, can be immensely rewarding, sometimes very frustrating."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Talent Attraction Specialist in Cambridge, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Illumina full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some of the brightest people I have ever worked with.

    Cons

    Sometimes hard to keep up with the pace of change. Lack of feedback was a common gripe (but where have you worked where that isn’t a gripe?)

    Continue reading
    Illumina2019-12-17
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Need to change management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Generation Specialist in Cambridge, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Illumina full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A lot of benefits and perks. ILMN in SD looks better than ILMN Cambridge UK. Met Francis and was a great moment as he is very cool.

    Cons

    So much time wasted because of useless drama, it's a shame because ILMN had so much potential. Managers are terrible and the HR is useless. Career progression only if you play the game of politics and gossips.

    Continue reading
    Illumina2020-01-18
  9. Helpful (1)

    "good company to work for, fast paced and always changing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lab Supervisor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Illumina full-time

    Pros

    pay and benefits people working flexibility depending on team always changing

    Cons

    career progression is slow always changing clarity from senior management

    Illumina2019-11-24
  10. "Very open minded and flexible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Contract Administrator 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Illumina full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very friendly company with brilliant people, highly recommended! They are also very flexible: as long as the job is done, you can pretty much organize your schedule as you wish.

    Cons

    After one year and a half, I can't really think of any cons.

    Illumina2019-11-24
Found 854 reviews