Imperial College London Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Imperial College London Reviews

Updated 21 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
91%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Imperial College London President Prof. Alice Gast
Prof. Alice Gast
190 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Possibly lack of career progression opportunties(in 30 reviews)

  • "Long hours and the central London location is expensive(in 26 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Student Fundraiser 

    I worked at Imperial College London part-time

    Pros

    Very relaxed, friendly working environment

    Cons

    None off the top of my head

    Imperial College London2020-02-16
  2. "Positive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Graduate Teaching Assistant 

    I worked at Imperial College London part-time

    Pros

    Great resources, lots of networking

    Cons

    Staff are quite busy and not reply emails sometimes

    Imperial College London2020-02-08
  3. "A great place to learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - PhD Researcher 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Imperial College London full-time

    Pros

    Excellent facilities, good travelling and networking opportunities, opportunities to get involved in exciting projects.

    Cons

    It can be quite isolating but this is perhaps the PhD experience, an expensive place to live on a PhD stipend

    Imperial College London2020-02-21
  4. "PhD"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Imperial College London full-time

    Pros

    I can attend many free workshops to sharpen my skills

    Cons

    IC has a very small campus

    Imperial College London2020-02-05
  5. "postdoc"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Associate in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Imperial College London full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    flexible, project management, friendly environment

    Cons

    long hours, the supervisor is a bit unstable

    Imperial College London2020-02-05
  6. "Leading research institute very prestige"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Imperial College London full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Located in London, very efficient work environment

    Cons

    Lack of characterization devices in material department.

    Imperial College London2020-02-06
  7. "Good place for PhD"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - PhD Student in London, England

    I have been working at Imperial College London full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It's a famous college and the proffessors in my field were top

    Cons

    Bureaucracy and disorganisation, but that's the same for every college. Overcrowded during lunch.

    Imperial College London2020-02-03
  8. "Excellent time studying at ICL"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - MSC Student 
    Recommends

    I worked at Imperial College London full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Incredible institution with high quality teaching and support

    Cons

    Located in an expensive area

    Imperial College London2020-01-30
  9. "Great university to work at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Configuration Management Engineer 

    I have been working at Imperial College London full-time

    Pros

    Good line manager Good professional development workshops

    Cons

    Career progression can be difficult

    Imperial College London2020-01-29
  10. "A great place to develop your academic profile, collaborate and network with brilliant scientists"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - PhD Graduate Student in London, England
    Recommends

    I have been working at Imperial College London full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lab and office facilities are great. It has great scientists and interesting projects. It is generally well organised and welcome to changes and initiatives. It embraces diversity and promotes collaborations and interdisciplinary projects.

    Cons

    Specific campuses feel more isolated and could have been improved with better catering and social events. More funding to PhDs or postdocs would be of great help for conference attendance and short extension of work.

    Imperial College London2020-01-28

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 1023 reviews