Indiana University Health Reviews

Updated 6 Jul 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
68%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Indiana University Health President and CEO Dennis Murphy
Dennis Murphy
245 Ratings
Pros
  • "Very supportive management, consider employees' ideas, open door policy, good work life balance(in 28 reviews)

  • "Flexible schedule great benefits(in 28 reviews)

Cons
  • "Poor communication from upper management(in 28 reviews)

  • "while patient care staff are worked to the bone, admins get to enjoy flexible schedules and company paid for baseball games(in 19 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Overall Place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IS Engineer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Indiana University Health full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    You get to work with some great people

    Cons

    frequent reorgs and interdepartmental politics

    Continue reading
  2. "Great Experience on a Small Team"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Database Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Indiana University Health full-time

    Pros

    Small team was great to work with Good pay

    Cons

    On a college campus which makes the commute and parking difficult

    Indiana University Health Response

    July 6, 2020Human Resoures

    Thanks for leaving your feedback. We’re happy to know you had a good experience here and appreciate you!

  3. "A good place to work."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Analyst in Muncie, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Indiana University Health full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    There is a good amount of room to grow here.

    Cons

    Communication can be slow, and rigid corporate structure can inhibit change.

    Indiana University Health Response

    June 30, 2020Human Resoures

    We are thankful for your review! We are thrilled you enjoy your experience working here and value your contribution in making IU Health a great place to work.

  4. "Neutral"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Emergency Department Registered Nurse in Carmel, IN

    I worked at Indiana University Health full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Loved the nurses I worked with and the pace of the emergency department at IU North.

    Cons

    IU Health doesn't value their nurses well. There's high turnover but they didn't seem about safe staffing ratios.

  5. "LPN med surg"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Licensed Practical Nurse 

    I worked at Indiana University Health part-time

    Pros

    Easy to take time off Mostly nice co-worker Great teaching hospital

    Cons

    Hard to change position type and hours High patient to nurse ratio

    Indiana University Health Response

    June 30, 2020Human Resoures

    Thanks for leaving your feedback! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience working at IU Health. We value your input and work to make changes to improve continuously.

  6. "Good place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Patient Registration 

    I have been working at Indiana University Health full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fair pay, good culture, work life balance

    Cons

    You can have a hard time getting your manager to define a career path for you.

    Indiana University Health Response

    June 15, 2020Human Resoures

    Thanks for leaving your feedback. We’re happy to know you had a good experience here and appreciate you!

  7. "easy job"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Food Service Worker in Indianapolis, IN

    I have been working at Indiana University Health full-time

    Pros

    good pay and good benefits

    Cons

    often short staffed with bad management

    Indiana University Health Response

    June 15, 2020Human Resoures

    Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We’re very glad to hear that you are having a good experience with IU Health. IU Health provides leader education and training to any team member that manages others. We want to make sure they’re set up to succeed so their direct reports can succeed as well. If you’d like to give us more information about the situation, please reach out to our Human Resources team at hrform@iuhealth.org and they’ll make sure your feedback gets to the right place.

  8. "No room for growth"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Indiana University Health full-time

    Pros

    Love my co-workers, great learning experience

    Cons

    Management is sketchy, no room for opportunities

    Indiana University Health Response

    June 30, 2020Human Resoures

    Thank you for taking time to leave us a review. We support our team members both in and out of the office and strive to give our team members unique personal and professional growth experiences like advanced clinical training, leadership development, and tuition reimbursement. We want our team members to know they can grow their career with IU Health. We’re sorry you didn’t have this experience at IU Health and would love an opportunity to listen to any other feedback you may have at hrform@iuhealth.org so we can continue to improve.

  9. "Treated Like Family"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Environmental Services in Hartford City, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Indiana University Health full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    When my brother passed away, my bosses and coworkers at IU Health Blackford Hospital sent my family a thoughtful card and windchime that still hangs on my parents porch, years later. My mom said it was the most thoughtful gift they received.

    Cons

    None! Its really a great place to work!

    Indiana University Health Response

    June 15, 2020Human Resoures

    Thanks for leaving your feedback. We’re happy to know you're having a good experience here and appreciate you! We are like family at IU Health!

  10. "Nursing at IU Health"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - RN Staff Nurse 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Indiana University Health full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Provided learning experience as a new nurse.

    Cons

    Poor management, favoritism, gossip from upper management, low pay, short staffing.

    Indiana University Health Response

    June 30, 2020Human Resoures

    Thank you for your review. We’re sorry you did not have a wholly positive experience working at IU Health. We appreciate your feedback. We value the opportunity to make improvements.

Found 791 reviews