Inmarsat Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Inmarsat Reviews

Updated 3 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
61%
Recommend to a Friend
60%
Approve of CEO
Inmarsat CEO Rupert Pearce
Rupert Pearce
83 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Difficult for senior management to deliver a clear strategy(in 9 reviews)

  • "Very much nepotism and blocking of career development - it is just about luck who is your manager/supervisor(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Inmarsat"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Inmarsat full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great company with amazing products and services

    Cons

    Still have people with old ideas holding the company back

    Inmarsat2019-10-05
  2. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - V P in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Inmarsat full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people, great ethos and improving culture

    Cons

    Tends to lean more towards "telling" rather than "coaching"

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your people and don't assume only the Exec know the answers....they often don't!

    Inmarsat2019-09-19
  3. "Nice place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Software Developer 

    I worked at Inmarsat full-time

    Pros

    Nice people, friendly environment, full freedom to a developer to choose language and design

    Cons

    No structure in the IT Team, developers are on their own to maintain a software whichever way they like

    Inmarsat2019-08-31
  4. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Procurement Specialist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Inmarsat full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good Pay Generous Package Unfortunately this is the only Pros

    Cons

    Lack of Organisation Bad Management Horrible Working environment Unclear strategies Lack of Progression Lack of respect of each other

    Inmarsat2019-08-12
  5. "Inmarsat is a cool company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Global Technical Support in London, England

    I have been working at Inmarsat full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The job is very varied and a lot of interesting cases

    Cons

    Can be stressful and challenging

    Inmarsat2019-06-18
  6. "Decent company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Inmarsat full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Has genuinely good people. Decent non-salary perks.

    Cons

    Struggles with an old-fashioned mentality and below average compensation.

    Inmarsat2019-06-18
  7. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Data Engineer in Islington, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Inmarsat full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great culture and Decent bonus .

    Cons

    Average basic salary is below market rate

    Inmarsat2019-04-24
  8. "It was alright"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Inmarsat full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible working hours, engaging and fun people to work with, subsidized canteen

    Cons

    Gym is terrible small and cramped with not a lot of equipment, technology seems to not work which is bizarre for a technology company and a lot of talking but not much action.

    Advice to Management

    Just because you feel entitled doesn't make you it. People will follow good leaders but you scheme and speak a lot of words but when it comes down to it you run away.

    Inmarsat2019-05-03
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Terrible place of work now unfortunately."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Systems Engineer in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Inmarsat full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Lovely people and it felt like a family.

    Cons

    All the management that can make big decisions are based in the US and they don't understand the British culture or the office dynamics well enough to make informed decisions. When I first started there was a great and fun environment, there were lots of socials, and for the most part we were left to make decisions because they trusted our judgement. By the time I left there was a terrible atmosphere in the office.... The job role had changed from system engineer to almost like a poppet for the management, it was an offensive change for everyone in GrpIT. Management in the UK started stepping on the toes of everyone, not giving them trust and micro managing. People across the company (not just in the UK) were concerned that they wouldn't have their jobs next week due to outsourcing etc. and people that had dedicated 10+ years to the company were undervalued and left for jobs that we much more deserving of their loyalty and commitment. This particular BU is now a joke and stay away from it. It’s actually getting worst by the day.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get your act together and pay a little attention to those at the bottom end of the ladder. You are not paying attention to those who dedicated their lives for this company.

    Inmarsat2019-05-23
  10. "salary range"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England

    I have been working at Inmarsat full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Very stable and a lot of opportunities if you are motivated

    Cons

    Sometimes things take too long to be decided.

    Advice to Management

    Develop, motivate and encourage your staff.

    Inmarsat2019-04-06
Found 130 reviews